We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golf Resort”
Review of Fancourt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fancourt
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in George
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Fancourt is a major golf resort with all of the trimmings. There is excellent concierge service on the property and at the golf starting area. Staff there could not be more helpful. The rooms are very good, and separated a short walk away from the hotel. The three golf courses are excellent. The hotel has an open feel that shares the outdoors throughout the property. With three golf courses, it is a busy place. If you are going for golf, you will be pleased. But if not, there is not as much to do in the immediate proximity, and the city of George is not a destination that you would select independently. The food was generally good, particularly breakfast. To become a five star property, the staff in the bars and restaurants will need to kick it up a notch. While all staff are very pleasant, they did not seem to have the training for the needs of the clientele that this hotel attracts. All-in-all, though, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: If you play golf, use a caddy. You will learn a lot about South Africa from one of the men who have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ckv500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa T, Client Relations Officer at Fancourt, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review of Fancourt.

At Fancourt we pride ourselves on our service excellence and we are disappointed to hear that we didn’t meet your expectations. We are committed to continually improving our service levels through training, and we will be focusing on the areas of concern you mention.

Thank you for your honest feedback and for providing us with an opportunity to improve and develop.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Fancourt!

Warmest regards,

Lisa Townend
Client Relations Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (505)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

287 - 293 of 505 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

Simply superb golfing and leisure facilities and the food, drink and service on the terrace was excellent. Our stay was only limited by the somewhat restricted evening dining - both range and overall quality......a shame as it would have scored much better overall with a little bit more effort here.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnyHSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa T, Client Relations Officer at Fancourt, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you for your review of Fancourt.

Thank you too for sharing your experience of our “limited” evening dining, I have shared your comments with our Food and Beverage Management Team for further review and consideration.

It is our hope that we have the opportunity to better serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Lisa Townend
Client Relations Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We stayed 10 days at Fancourt and managed to play all three courses, the most favoured one by us all was the Links course, but book early to avoid disappointment there are a limited number off Tee times for this course. The accommodation spreads out in the grounds, transport is provided to get you to and from your rooms or a healthy stroll also does you good. The restaurants offer varied menus, staff are friendly and efficient. They will even organise a Braai for groups, we really enjoyed our one. The only complaint we had was the irony of having a note left on your bed every night asking you to conserve water then one had to run the shower for several minutes to have warm water. I complained about this but the note was still left every evening on my bed, oh well.

Room Tip: Ask for one with Mountain or garden views and preferably not near the swimming pool if you like peac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa T, Client Relations Officer at Fancourt, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback of Fancourt on TripAdvisor.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us. It seems as if you utilised quite a few of our facilities on the resort, including a private South African braai.

I have addressed your complaint regarding the hot water with our Maintenance Team. At Fancourt we are, as you mention, environmentally conscious and we are in agreement with your cause for your concern. There are a couple of rooms in the older part of the hotel that have a fair distance between the geyser and the bathroom. We are scheduled to correct this in the coming year.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Fancourt.

Warmest regards,

Lisa Townend
Client Relations Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Pure golfing break....Four guys.

Played 'The Links' twice, superb, up there with the best ive ever played, condition fantastic, maybe my only critism is price compared to othere course's in the area. But,they have a great experience to offer and maybe want to keep it exclusive.

The lodge we stayed in was top notch.

The service was top notch.

The breakfast was good. No egg station, i like my eggs cooked fresh, for a 5 star experience this is not good.

The food at ' whites' was good, but would not rush back there at my next visit here.

Over all, certain experiences not really upto 5 star

My ratings are based on 5 star prices, this is very expensive by ZA standards.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa T, Client Relations Officer at Fancourt, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience of Fancourt.

The Links is an exceptional course and we are thrilled that you enjoyed our “one of a kind” service. We do keep it more exclusive than our other courses to ensure we can deliver that special experience.

I have addressed the egg station with the Food and Beverage Manager. We do offer a full variety of eggs to order, from our Waitron staff. Our sincerest apologies that this information was not communicated to you on your arrival to our hotel breakfast. I have addressed this, with the team, as an area of training.

Thank you again for your feedback and for sharing your experience. We will work on the areas highlighted and look forward to better serving you on your next visit to Fancourt.

Sincerely,

Lisa Townend
Client Relations Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Stayed 7 nights at Fancourt, one of the 300 numbered townhouses. Room was nice, we enjoyed the space but the bathroom could really use a refurb, especially the shower heads as they were just one hard stream, not really a proper shower head. Enjoyed the patio opening to the gardens as well. Room for us gets 4 out of 5.

The grounds are immaculate, with wonderful plants everywhere and everything is very clean. The golf courses are top notch, and we enjoyed playing all 3 courses, with the Links once. The Links is a must on any golfer's list. In total we played 9 rounds of golf and the caddy masters and caddies are all wonderful. The pro shop is also good but some of the staff could be a bit friendlier towards guests. Over all the grounds and golf get 5 out of 5.

The restaurants were a huge disappointment, especially the fine dining restaurant Harry White's. the food at Harry White's was completely tasteless, even relatively basic things like a 'lobster' risotto had no taste whatsoever. Also, I am fairly sure that the lobster was in fact no lobster as I could see the tail part of a shrimp in the meat. My husband's beef tartar as a starter was also completely tasteless (no spices, salt or pepper). We also ordered 2 other courses but don't really recall what as again, nothing memorable. The service, however, was extremely friendly and efficient. It really is a shame that a place like fancourt doesn't have a proper fine dining place. The other restaurant, La Cantina, was also nothing spectacular. Breakfast was also just OK, but they could have had more fruit and berry options.The club house has decent salads and excellent burgers, but that's not hard to get right, it is easy stuff. The club house service is very inconsistent. On certain days when there aren't many guests, it is good and fast and on other days, like today when I am sitting outside writing this review as we are about to leave and there are more guests, we waited 15 minutes just to order our drinks! And that is after I had to ask if we could order drinks. I can only imagine what the service is like during high reason such as Christmas and New Years. Restaurants and the service overall 2 out of 5. There are some dining options in George but we would expect a 5 star resort to put more effort into their restaurants, as during our stay in South Africa, we ate at some amazing places.

The other facilities at the hotel are nice. We used the Roman baths and although the locker rooms could really do with a little refurb, overall the facility was good. We also had treatments at the spa, which were good and the staff friendly. We didn't use the gym but it looked like a nice facility and we didn't use the other pools (outdoor and indoor swimming pool). The staff was courteous almost on all occasions and the front desk and bell boy staff were especially nice and accommodating. 4 out of 5.

We did enjoy our time at fancourt as it is a great destination for golf enthusiasts like ourselves. There isn't much around the area otherwise (didn't really see the beauty of Knysna either, although we didn't venture into the hiking paths), and I think on our next trip we wouldn't stay a full 7 nights at Fancourt, but rather a few nights and then move onto another place. Let's hope the restaurants are in order for our next stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank windvalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa T, Client Relations Officer at Fancourt, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Thank you for your comprehensive review of Fancourt and for raising some areas of improvement.

As a Leading Hotel of the World, we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations, and feedback (be it positive or negative), enables us to do so.

The next time you are at Fancourt I would love to spend some time with you sharing information on the local area including popular sites and activities to enjoy in George and the surrounding areas.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and for bringing some areas of concern to our attention.

It is our hope that we have the opportunity to better serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Lisa Townend
Client Relations Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

It was our honeymoon and as part of it, we had booked the Fancourt for two nights as we are passionate golfers. The hotel itself, its facilities, golf courts and gym is excellent, but still we are very disappointed by the food!!! The first night we wanted to take room services and since we had no menu in the room, we ordered the menu and it took 30 minutes and 5 calls until someone brought it over. After ordering it took another 40 minutes until the food arrived - it was cold! The next day we tried La Cantina and we ordered a steak and pasta. The pasta was so hot that you could not eat it (no hint in the menu though) and the beef had an unusual look and taste but still we did not complain but ate it. This was the mistake, as in the following night, we got squirt and sickness!!! We are very disappointed because of that and also because our hint to the honeymoon was also completely ignored....this shall not happen in a 5 star hotel....

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bella1106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa T, Client Relations Officer at Fancourt, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank you for your review of Fancourt and your honest feedback.

Our sincerest apology that we didn’t act on your hint that it was your honeymoon. At Fancourt we love celebrating special occasions, with our guests, and we always go above and beyond to make it a memorable and enjoyable occasion.

With regard to the “squirt and sickness” this was unfortunately not reported to us during your stay. At Fancourt we take matters like this very seriously and would greatly appreciate any further information. I can be contacted on +27 44 804 0178 or email address lisat@fancourt.co.za.

It is our hope that we have the opportunity to better serve you again in the future.

Warmest regards,

Lisa Townend
Client Relations Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

What a perfectly run establishment enough personnel to let every wish be taken care of. the kitchen is delicious, varied and fresh. rooms are spacious and every service. 2 golf courses on the Areal.

Just make sure you book AT RECEPTION for a dinner table. Short supply!

Room Tip: any of the 500 numbers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loraine f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa T, Client Relations Officer at Fancourt, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Thank you for sharing your charming experience of Fancourt.

I would highly recommend booking your Spa, hair, golf and dinner reservations as early as possible as the resort is very popular, and making reservations at the last minute often leads to disappointment.

We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Warmest regards,

Lisa Townend
Client Relations Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George
6.6 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
0 mi away
The Manor House
The Manor House
#3 of 9 in George
89 reviews
10 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott King George
3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
21.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fancourt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fancourt

Address: Montagu Street, George 6529, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in George
Price Range: £172 - £343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fancourt 5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned on 613 hectares in the Garden Route, Fancourt is South Africa’s premier lifestyle estate with mountains, forests and the warm Indian Ocean in close proximity. 133 luxury rooms and suites including The Manor House, The Spa, restaurants, three Gary Player designed golf courses and a Leisure Centre including a Kidz Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fancourt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fancourt Hotel George
Fancourt Hotel Country Estate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing