We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best”
Review of Fancourt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fancourt
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in George
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2014

This is the best of everything - better than The Leela in Goa, better Taj Exotica in Sri Lanka and the best we have ever had the pleasure of staying in. The staff are first class the food is magnificent and the rooms are superb. If you play golf, you will never find three golf courses of the like anywhere in the world, the Links you are treated like Royalty the course is a joy and tough with a challenge for all levels and views that would shame anywhere. The Outenegua and the Montague are of a standard only surpassed by The Links. Any review does not give this place justice you just have to go there and savor the experience. My best place so far - go enoy

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Randancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa T, Client Relations Officer at Fancourt, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review of Fancourt!

It is always a pleasure to receive such wonderful acclaim from our guests. I have taken great joy in sharing your comments with my colleagues and we couldn’t be more thrilled with your experience of Fancourt.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Warmest Fancourt wishes,

Lisa Townend
Client Relations Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (484)
There are newer reviews for Fancourt
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

264 - 270 of 484 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014

A 5 star golf property. We arrived in the evening and left in the morning so didn't use much of the services of the hotel. The rooms were very good and food was excellent. Staff was professional and very friendly. The property hosts a lot of sporting events and is a nice property for family picnics and day outs. The hotel offers a lot of activities in house.

Room Tip: Take The Manor House!!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abhi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa T, Client Relations Officer at Fancourt, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Thank you for your delightful review of Fancourt!

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time at Fancourt. What a pity that you couldn’t stay with us longer than one night, hopefully next time you can!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warmest regards,

Lisa Townend
Client Relations Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We rented a private Lodge House overlooking the 18th fairway of The Montague Course for 3 weeks.
Without doubt this golfing paradise is exceptional.
Club Hose facilities, Spa, Pool, Pro Shop, People and surroundings perhaps the best in South Africa.
Golf buggies only in and around the estate make the experience more acceptable.
Quite, friendly and rewarding.

Room Tip: Speak with The Clubhouse Reception Staff. They are most helpful. Rooms and Lodges with golf course...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franklin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa T, Client Relations Officer at Fancourt, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience of Fancourt.

It is always a delight to receive positive reviews of Fancourt, and to see our guests enjoying all that Fancourt has to offer. As you say this is an “exceptional” resort with 3 Gary Player designed golf courses and numerous activities to keep non-golfers entertained.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warmest regards,

Lisa Townend
Client Relations Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

Great great resort with nice huges rooms and great restaurants and the No. 1 & 7 golf courses in SA.

Our room didnt have the beat view but that was our own fault as we booked late. But most houses or rooms had a view over one of the golf courses.

Nice bar with a view of 18th green. Lots of local beautiful wines at cheap money for us foreigners.

We paid 2200 rand for a round of golf on Montague, one night in a twin room, a voucher for 250 rand which is extremely cheap for foreigners with todays exchange rates.

We were lucky to get a teetime at The Links too and the was fantastic, but very difficult but a great great course.

If you get to SA you must go to George.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank JessJensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa T, Client Relations Officer at Fancourt, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Thank you for your complimentary review of Fancourt!

We are incredibly fortunate to be situated in the heart of the Garden Route and to have the facilities that we have available to us. I am sure with the exchange rate being truly in your favour, South African prices would be “extremely cheap”.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warmest regards,

Lisa Townend
Client Relations Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Great facilities, beautiful place. Suite lounge needs upgrading-nowhere near 5 star. Minibar staff need training and stunk of cigarettes- not cool! Plumbing a disaster-every time someone else flushed a toilet during the night , we woke up!

Room Tip: The manor house is apparently better.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theodore Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa T, Client Relations Officer at Fancourt, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback of Fancourt.

We are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations and that we weren’t aware of these concerns during your time with us. We value feedback from our guests and will be working towards improving on the points mentioned. Our maintenance team is looking into the plumbing issue raised and we have focused our training programme on service and public etiquette for all employees.

We look forward to the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Sincerely

Lisa Townend
Client Relations Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Fancourt has just got it right - from the minute you arrive at the lobby to the moment you leave, they provide a 5 star leisure and golfing experience. Not to be missed. We have been to Fancourt many times and will continue to visit for as long as they maintain this high standard. Go and experience it for yourself if you want to be indulged! and be sure to have breakfast in the Morning Glory - best breakfast ever.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohanMoolman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa T, Client Relations Officer at Fancourt, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Thank you for your heart warming review of Fancourt!

It is an absolute pleasure to receive such wonderful feedback, especially from a regular guest to Fancourt. It is with great pride that I have shared your comments with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Fancourt soon!

Warmest regards,

Lisa Townend
Client Relations Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

My husband and I stayed three nights on our visit to South Africa, primarily so he could play golf. The grounds are beautiful with spectacular planting. The golf was great. The staff were welcoming, charming and professional. I had an excellent blow dry at the hairdresser and enjoyed using the gym. The pool is scruffy though and the water tepid. We ate in all the restaurants including at the Manor and it was all very good. I have two negative comments which I would suggest need addressing before it is truly a top class resort that we would return to 1. The staff in the spa need to be better trained. On the last day I had a terrible manicure - I had to get it repainted twice and and my cuticles are still damaged months later 2. In the new South Africa especially at a time the world was celebrating the life of Nelson Mandela, I found it horrifying how the caddies were treated, how little they are paid and how they were not respected.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Niamh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa T, Client Relations Officer at Fancourt, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience of Fancourt.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed the golf courses, grounds, service, restaurants and hairdresser. We are however disappointed that we did not meet your expectations with the Spa and with our caddies. As a Leading Hotel of the World we welcome all feedback, be it positive or negative as it provides us with the opportunity to develop and improve. Both areas have been addressed with the relevant managers for further review and consideration.

It is our hope to have the opportunity to better serve you again in the future.

Warmest regards,

Lisa Townend
Client Relations Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George
6.6 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
0.0 mi away
The Manor House at Fancourt
2.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott King George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
3.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
21.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fancourt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fancourt

Address: 1994 Montagu Street | Blanco, George 6529, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in George
Price Range: £142 - £308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fancourt 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned on 613 hectares in the magnificent Garden Route, outside George, Fancourt is South Africa’s premier lifestyle estate with mountains, forests and the warm Indian Ocean in close proximity. 135 luxury rooms, fantastic family facilities, three Gary Player designed golf courses, a Spa, a Kids Club and various restaurants guarantee enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Fancourt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fancourt Hotel George
Fancourt Hotel Country Estate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing