We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Fancourt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fancourt
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in George
Certificate of Excellence
Sarasota, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Luckily we are only here for two nights but am compelled to write this review after only one. Door lock did not work; first room full of mosquito's; second has an ant problem; b'fast marmalade had mould. No apologies in any of this. Never again!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa T, Client Relations Officer at Fancourt, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
We are so disappointed to hear about your stay at Fancourt.

We would like to extend our sincerest apologies for your experience while with us. I can assure you that it is not a typical occurrence, as we pride ourselves on our service excellence.

We take matters like these very seriously and our Hotel Manager: Accommodation Services, Melissa Payne, will contact you shortly to further discuss your stay.

Sincerely,

Lisa Townend
Client Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    110
    24
    16
    8
See reviews for
98
192
11
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My wife and I had a fantastic weekend at this hotel, where everything in the main hotel is of a top class nature, from the rooms, swimming pool, reception, restaurant (s), staff and what looks to be a very well maintained golf course (we are not golfers!).

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the practice range, instead of the ones behind us which don't have much of a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CapeTownCobraman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa T, Client Relations Officer at Fancourt, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for your sharing your delightful review of Fancourt.

It is always a pleasure to receive such wonderful feedback from a valued guest. It is with great pride that I have shared your comments with my colleagues and we couldn’t be more elated with your experience of Fancourt.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Warmest Fancourt wishes,

Lisa Townend
Client Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

If you have a couple of days to relax, and want to be extremly well looked after, well fed, and even pampered in one of the best Spas in South Africa...then Fancourt is the place to stay. If you are a golfer, there are three superb courses here.....the" Links " is No. 1in South Africa and that's saying something!

From the reception on arrival ......lovely warm towels to refresh the face and hands and a drink offered .....to the beautiful rooms with excellent en suite bathrooms with oh so lovely underfloor heating !

Super stay, will re-visit again next year.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANother2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa T, Client Relations Officer at Fancourt, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience of Fancourt!

We couldn’t be more thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and it seems that you used a lot of our facilities on offer. Although we are a well known golf resort, we have much more than our three Gary Player designed championship golf courses to offer and it is always a treat to receive a wonderful TripAdvisor like yours.

We look forward to welcoming you back next year!

Warmest regards,

Lisa Townend
Client Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
147 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I don't play golf and to give this place 5 starts say a lot . The reception and staff are excellent and too much of a problem. The grounds are well kept. Breakfast was inclusive and excellent. The swimming is brilliant. The luxury in the apartments was excellent-- with underfloor heating in the bathrooms. The running paths are excellent and a nice way to see the estate. The Pizza restaurant on the premises is well priced and serve excellent wood fired pizzas. If you looking for luxury on the Garden Route-- stay here

Room Tip: Ask for the 5 series rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miles28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa T, Client Relations Officer at Fancourt, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your positive feedback of Fancourt!

It is always a pleasure to receive wonderful feedback and your review has really captured the true essence of this beautiful resort.

We eagerly anticipate your return!

Warmest Fancourt wishes,

Lisa Townend
Client Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Most would think this is purely a golf resort, with its leading designer courses, but it is so much more than that. Cycle paths, a gymnasium, a spa of note, great swimming pool, childrens club, selection of fabulous restaurants , all easy - going , combined with really tremendous service, and spectacular accommodation , the property provides a truly family-friendly environment for everybody to flourish in. Best service in all departments I have had in a long long time !!

Room Tip: for couples, the Manor house is a must. Otherwise the deluxe rooms are just wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gavin l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa T, Client Relations Officer at Fancourt, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your gracious feedback of Fancourt.

It is always a delight to receive positive feedback and I have really enjoyed sharing your TripAdvisor review with my colleagues. We couldn’t be more proud and thrilled that you too love Fancourt as much as we do!

We can’t wait to welcome you back.

Warmest regards,

Lisa Townend
Client Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We arrived here in the evening on a Sunday, pretty tired from our traveling along the Garden Route. We were greeted with a champagne welcome with some snacks. We rode in golf carts with our luggage being pulled behind in a trailer and checked into our rooms. Nice rooms, but not over the top. We had a "luxury" room with a balcony and view of the golf course. We went immediately to the other building--the clubhouse area for a snack since it was Sunday night and the restaurants were closed by then. We had nice cocktails and salad/soup and sandwich fare.
The next day we walked the grounds and took in the beautiful and fragrant florals! The most wonderful bush I ever met is called a "Yesterday,Today & Tomorrow" bush and it was sooo fragrant you wouldn't believe it!! It was green and about 6 feet tall with small lavender and white azalea type flowers!! Heavenly!!! We also ate breakfast in their outdoor patio area under a purgola with purple Wisteria flowers hanging down--just lovely! And the food especially a certain type of local honey (name?) was very good! We also had some dirty clothes that we sent to be laundered with a same day return--and they came back delivered to our room in a velvet-like covered box with removable lid--very elegant!! We did not play golf--but just from walking around and looking--the course looked very well groomed. The pool area was nice--although it was cool and no-one was using it. They have a nice clothing store and I even used the hair salon to have a wash and a nice braid done--very professional, accommodating and friendly! Overall-it was a very nice place to stay along the Garden Route!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thistrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa T, Client Relations Officer at Fancourt, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for sharing your delightful experience of Fancourt.

Receiving positive feedback is always a pleasure and I am sure that fellow travelers will find your review insightful and comprehensive. I have noted your attention to the different plants in our immaculate gardens, on your next visit we would like to arrange a garden walk for you with our passionate Grounds and Gardens Manager, Chris Gomersall. May I suggest a visit in September/ October as it is spring and the gardens are in glorious bloom.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warmest regards,

Lisa Townend
Guest Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
199 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

i do not think i have ever seen a place like this. A hotel/resort that is having walking trace of 10 km inside hotel. Even if you do not play golf you love this place. what a scenic resort. You just love walking. we stayed 2 days and both days went walking for more than an hour. it was like...feel like walking all the time. Very good service all over...from entry to the reception to the room by golf cart. The restaurants, spa, pool...everything...clean...perfect...well served...Restaurant serving italian...very good and authentic taste...chef was very receptive...

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are little better because you get opportunity to use outside place attached with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanjaykala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa T, Client Relations Officer at Fancourt, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you for sharing your delightful experience of Fancourt.

We are a truly exceptional resort as we are set on 613 hectares so there is an abundance of nature to explore with three leisure trails of 2.5, 5 and 10 km that guests can walk, run or cycle. A lot of our guests comment that it reminds them of life as they were growing up, with the freedom to walk around within a secure estate and the children absolutely love to explore the resort.

We hope to see you back at Fancourt soon!

Warmest regards,

Lisa Townend
Client Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George
6.6 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
0.0 mi away
The Manor House at Fancourt
2.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott King George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
10.0 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
3.2 mi away
Oakhurst Hotel
Oakhurst Hotel
#8 of 9 in George
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fancourt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fancourt

Property: Fancourt
Address: 1994 Montagu Street | Blanco, George 6529, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fancourt 5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned on 613 hectares in the magnificent Garden Route, outside George, Fancourt is South Africa’s premier lifestyle estate with mountains, forests and the warm Indian Ocean in close proximity. 135 luxury rooms, fantastic family facilities, three Gary Player designed golf courses, a Spa, a Kids Club and various restaurants guarantee enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fancourt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fancourt Hotel George
Fancourt Hotel Country Estate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing