We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TOPCLASS”
Review of Fancourt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fancourt
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in George
Certificate of Excellence
kshitiz
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“TOPCLASS”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Loved this property.The setting of the property is cool. Its a old property yet so very Modern. As soon as i entered the room i dint felt its a hotel room. i felt like Home. The service is topclass.
Its mainly For golfers but its suitable for all. The views from the balcony was lovely. lovely amenities

Cons:Cant think of any.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kshitiz007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa T, Client Relations Officer at Fancourt, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience of Fancourt.

We are incredibly proud of our facilities and our offering and we couldn’t be more thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us. Some of our facilities for non golfers, and for golfers resting from the courses, include four tennis courts, leisure trails of 2.5, 5 or 10km, indoor and outdoor swimming pools, The Spa, fishing, mountain biking, gym, Kidz Club and teen lounge, to keep the whole family entertained.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Fancourt soon.

Warmest regards,

Lisa Townend
Client Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    110
    24
    16
    8
See reviews for
98
192
11
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
George, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is trully a great Hotel to use for business conferances , the venues are wel equipt for your presentation needs, the staff are friendly and professional and if you are a keen golfer this is the place to be for a few holes after your presentation.

Room Tip: If you are a golfer you have to play a few holes on this hotel's worldclass coarse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danie895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa T, Client Relations Officer at Fancourt, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your “business” experience of Fancourt.

Our banqueting and conferencing facilities are, as you mention, well equipped and can cater for smaller more intimate groups up to larger conferences and groups. The setting couldn’t be more ideal for relaxation and team building, after the more serious parts of “business” are completed.

We look forward to hosting you for business and/or leisure again soon.

Warmest regards,

Lisa Townend
Client Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellville, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at Fancourt from 4-9 May 2014 and had a great time making use of the golf course(of there are 3) , the Spa and indoor pool. For the golfers the best course in my opinion is Montagu and if you want it a bit shorter and easier Outiniqua may suit your fancy.
The Spa is good and offer a variety of treatments.
We mainly ate at the La Cantina restaurant and enjoyed good food and wine tihe a cosy atmosphere. The weather was generally kind which made for good golf
We have been here before and it is always refreshing for us to go back.

Room Tip: The rooms are in groups of 4 generally and some of them have a nice view of the mountain and you sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thys W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa T, Client Relations Officer at Fancourt, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you for your sharing your experience of Fancourt!

It is always heart-warming to read that our valued guests have enjoyed a fair amount of the facilities we have on offer, as there is so much to do at Fancourt to compliment your golf.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Fancourt soon.

Warmest Fancourt wishes,

Lisa Townend
Client Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We enjoyed a 2-night stay at Fancourt and played golf on both days. Our suite was wonderful and very comfortable with great attention to detail. The golf courses were spectacular and it was a pleasure to play there. Service was second to none. Can't fault it. We'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Golfgirl287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa T, Client Relations Officer at Fancourt, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you for your review of Fancourt.

It is always a delight and a pleasure to receive such complimentary feedback. We look forward to having you back at Fancourt and hopefully you can stay with us longer next time and play all three courses.

Warmest regards,

Lisa Townend
Client Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
104 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My kids booked my wife and I for our birthdays at Fancourt. Service at the hotel was exceptional and will definitely return. This little golf paradise caters for golfers at all levels. Picturesque surroundings makes the resort a little piece of heaven. Staff at the hotel, the spa and the golf course provided us with fantastic service. Accomodation in the Manor was excellent. Fancourt boasts one of the best golf practice facilities that I have seen. Golf courses are finely manicured. If you are a golf fanatic like myself, this is the place. The weather in February was perfect. This golf resort comes with a very high recommendation. Looking forward to my return visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Golfnut5472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa T, Client Relations Officer at Fancourt, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience of Fancourt!

It was a pleasure to host you and your wife for your birthdays and we hope that we will have the opportunity to host you again in 2015. Fancourt is as you mention a golfer’s paradise with our three championship golf courses.

Since your last stay with us, the Golf Digest rankings have been released and The Links is in number one position, Montagu is in 6th position and Outeniqua is in 17th position in South Africa.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warmest regards,

Lisa Townend
Client Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Luckily we are only here for two nights but am compelled to write this review after only one. Door lock did not work; first room full of mosquito's; second has an ant problem; b'fast marmalade had mould. No apologies in any of this. Never again!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa T, Client Relations Officer at Fancourt, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
We are so disappointed to hear about your stay at Fancourt.

We would like to extend our sincerest apologies for your experience while with us. I can assure you that it is not a typical occurrence, as we pride ourselves on our service excellence.

We take matters like these very seriously and our Hotel Manager: Accommodation Services, Melissa Payne, will contact you shortly to further discuss your stay.

Sincerely,

Lisa Townend
Client Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My wife and I had a fantastic weekend at this hotel, where everything in the main hotel is of a top class nature, from the rooms, swimming pool, reception, restaurant (s), staff and what looks to be a very well maintained golf course (we are not golfers!).

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the practice range, instead of the ones behind us which don't have much of a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CapeTownCobraman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa T, Client Relations Officer at Fancourt, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for your sharing your delightful review of Fancourt.

It is always a pleasure to receive such wonderful feedback from a valued guest. It is with great pride that I have shared your comments with my colleagues and we couldn’t be more elated with your experience of Fancourt.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Warmest Fancourt wishes,

Lisa Townend
Client Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George
6.6 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
0.0 mi away
The Manor House at Fancourt
2.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott King George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
10.0 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
3.2 mi away
Oakhurst Hotel
Oakhurst Hotel
#8 of 9 in George
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fancourt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fancourt

Property: Fancourt
Address: 1994 Montagu Street | Blanco, George 6529, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fancourt 5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned on 613 hectares in the magnificent Garden Route, outside George, Fancourt is South Africa’s premier lifestyle estate with mountains, forests and the warm Indian Ocean in close proximity. 135 luxury rooms, fantastic family facilities, three Gary Player designed golf courses, a Spa, a Kids Club and various restaurants guarantee enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fancourt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fancourt Hotel George
Fancourt Hotel Country Estate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing