We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Far Hills Country Hotel - a gem in the making”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Far Hills Country Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in George
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Far Hills Country Hotel - a gem in the making”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We spent the weekend there. The accommodation was luxurious and the surroundings so beautiful. The food was absolutely awesome.....I can recommend the mussel starter any day. The Hotel is in the process of upgrading, but your comfort and needs are first priority to the staff. The front desk staff are absolutely amazing and very friendly. The Hotel even offers a hairsalon! The garden and swimming pool is in an immaculate condition. A very romantic place to spend some time with your Loved one, but is also very child friendly.
The surrounding towns have so much to do and you are practically in the Wilderness.
Will be going back in January 2014 and cannot wait.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharnelleBVZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    65
    44
    35
    49
See reviews for
75
107
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lerwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

The reception staff were very nice to us on arrival - we were upgraded to the wonderful morrocan themed honeymoon suite! Spectacular views from the balcony. We were only passing through but would definitely go back again and stay longer. The evening meal wasnt the best but the breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MultiTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescot
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

We were due to stay here for 2 nights as part of a 3 week organised tour of South Africa. Out of the 8 hotels we used this was the only one our trip organiser had not used before. The location is and the views are spectacular. Unfortunately whilst the staff are pleasant and helpful they appear to be untrained and as a result the service was poor. Our evening meal was inedible and the breakfast was not much better. The hotel exhibits a general air of decay and the public areas and table were sticky and unclean. Our trip organiser moved us from the hotel and we stayed for the second night in the Protea King George. What a difference.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ulsterman46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these George hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

My wife and I had stayed at Far Hills on our honeymoon 30 years ago and when we planned our 30th anniversary trip, we immediately searched for the website to book. The website allowed us to complete an online booking but when that didn't confirm, we called the hotel. The website has clear pictures of standard and deluxe rooms which we chose from. Other features were also listed including the dining facilities.
On arrival, we were shown to our room which bore no resemblance whatsoever to the website pictures and was dirty. The hotel was fully booked with a touring party and we decided to make the best of it. Dinner was a non-event. The dining room was closed as the touring party was having a barbecue.
The hotel seems to have fallen into disrepair as we discovered next morning when we walked around the grounds. The reception staff seems at sixes and sevens at times and not in keeping with the images displayed on the website.
A major disappointment for us and we certainly won't be back.

Room Tip: Try another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CliffSherre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I had the good fortune spend a week, Monday to Friday at this lovely comfortable hotel. A 5 star hotel it is not but then the owners will tell you that the most important thing is for guests to feel at home. I certainly did! My room was spacious with the most gorgeous view, the bathroom was large and the aircon worked silently and cooled the huge space well. The rambling gardens are lovely. Most of all the friendly staff made my "alone week" anything but alone! From the ladies at reception, to the bar and restaurant staff - everyone is friendly and relaxed.
If I had one small "complaint" then it is that the menu is quite limited and there are no veggies besides the salads. I am sure that can be improved upon.
All in all a lovely week, the bonus being a hair salon on site, what more could a girl want?
I enjoyed it so much that I have booked to go back with my husband in December.

Room Tip: The Deluxe rooms have the most divine view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arabella_Shiraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I have to agree with both Annelien K & Lisa C. And I even had additional bad service, rude staff, woken up at 8h30 by housekeeping to check if room was vacant. At check in, we were told there were no deluxe rooms available for the first night but promised for second night. Following morning, the rude receptionist just impolitely told us there was a mistake, and that was it. We then had to stay where we were as we had already paid. i mentioned to her that our shower only had hot water. After returning to the hotel during the late afternoon, I enquired whether the shower had been fixed. Answer "I hope so!" Well, it wasn't, and even better, no towels. Maybe the logic was that if we didn't have towels, we wouldn't want to shower! I will definitely advise everyone I know, everyone I am in contact with, every business associate and colleague, NOT TO EVER GO TO THE FAR HILLS HOTELS!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nazeem S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Loved the beauty of this hotel and it was exactly what I needed to feel comfortable away from home. Loved all the trees surrounding the property and the spacious rooms. Felt taken care of by the staff, and will be back for another stay the next time we come to Africa. Planning on bringing the kids next time because they would love the pool and close proximity to the beach.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George
4.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
8.1 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
2.5 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wilderness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott King George
4.7 mi away
Oakhurst Hotel
Oakhurst Hotel
#7 of 9 in George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
2.8 mi away
Town Lodge George
Town Lodge George
#6 of 9 in George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Far Hills Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Far Hills Country Hotel

Property: Far Hills Country Hotel
Address: N2 | Farm 115, Kraaibosch, George 6530, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Far Hills Country Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Touch the Earth / Feel at Home. Far Hills offers a departure from the typical hotel. We believe in warmth, family and comfort in a stylish but unpretentious setting. We encourage our guests to absorb the tranquillity of the environment by lounging next to the pool, relaxing on the deck in the shade of the 100 year-old oak tree, listening to the silence of the mountain in a garden gazebo or having a drink in front of a blazing fire in winter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Far Hills Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Far Hills Country George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing