We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good night's sleep” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Far Hills Country Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Far Hills Country Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in George
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good night's sleep”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

I travel to the area every month on business one of the most important requirements is a good bed, this was not the case,the room was a little takkie, bed was terrible bedding was not fresh. Breakfast was a little decent, general experience would I recommend and stay again I THINK NOT.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grengem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    64
    42
    34
    47
See reviews for
73
104
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albertina, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

After reading all the negative comments, I was really skeptic to visit because it was me and my wife's wedding anniversary. I decided that we will give it a try. To my surprise as well as all the negative reviews I read beforehand, this was the best stay in a very long time. The room was clean, the view was exceptional and the food was immaculate. The bartender deserves a special thanks. Keep it up and as far as we go we are telling people of our great experience at Far Hills!!!!
Errol & Mariane Els

Room Tip: Rooms on first floor has best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Els130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caledon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

The reception was not professional We were given a key and vaguely directed to our room No offer to help with luggage The room was very basic, old, shabby with curtains that were 30cm too shortThe towels in the bathroom were old and shabby The TV reception was so poor we couldn't watch anything There were no tea/coffee facilities There is no light in the bedroom except for one bedside lamp

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elsa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these George hotels

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Mixed feelings about this hotel. The first impression is one of general decay as the hotel is in dire need of maintenance but the place does grow on you. The 'deluxe' room was comfortable but smelled mouldy with the bathroom ceiling and shower tiles covered in mildew. The bed was comfortable but the linen had seen better days. We asked for an additional bed for our child and got a very well worn mattress on the floor - not what an excited 12 year old was expecting! The curtains in the room were dirty, towels were worn and basic amenities were missing (guest guide, hair drier etc.). Breakfast was basic but sufficient, staff were friendly and helpful. The pool area is in urgent need of some TLC. This hotel has the potential to be great but needs to be maintained and managed better.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

I did not pay for luxury 5 star accommodation and did not expect that. But I was very surprised by what I got. Very beautiful surrounding, friendly staff, nice rooms. I paid the same as I would have in a guest house but got 500 % more. I will this hotel over and over again Thankyou.

Room Tip: Free wifi for everyone
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaydeeslabbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

We booked the hotel through a third party website after a search on tripadvisor. The pictures looked amazing. Upon arrival of our room, the smell of mould was overwhelming! Hair on the bedsheets. Red stains on the carpet. Dirty curtains. Filthy drinking glasses in the bathroom! Not even worth paying R500 a night! We were pretty disgusted and slept on our own towels. Will definitely spread the word!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Japes84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gonubie, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

Hubby and myself had a one night stay at this delightful hotel en route to Cape Town.
What an amazing place, friendly staff, great menu, beautiful rooms, tasty complimentary breakfast and view that goes on forever.
The decor in the hotel is absolutely beautiful, with antique furniture in the public areas, giving it a very warm, welcoming feel.
The hotel deck is ideally suited for putting your feet up, taking in the view of the Outeniqua mountains while enjoying wine from the great selection available.
The menu is uncomplicated and sure to please the most critical visitor. The venison steaks are highly recommended.
Their bedrooms are large and very comfortable, catering to all my needs.
The hotel is situated on the outskirts of George, but is just a short drive away to the mall and all other amenities.
This place is very highly recommended for the quality, cost and service and it is definitely on my list of return stays.

Room Tip: Ask for a room removed from the hotel deck, you will be sure to have a very peaceful nights rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelanieDeKock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George
4.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
2.5 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
5.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott King George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
No photo provided
Town Lodge George
#6 of 9 in George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
8.1 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
4.7 mi away
Oakhurst Hotel
Oakhurst Hotel
#8 of 9 in George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Far Hills Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Far Hills Country Hotel

Property: Far Hills Country Hotel
Address: N2 | Farm 115, Kraaibosch, George 6530, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Far Hills Country Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Touch the Earth / Feel at Home. Far Hills offers a departure from the typical hotel. We believe in warmth, family and comfort in a stylish but unpretentious setting. We encourage our guests to absorb the tranquillity of the environment by lounging next to the pool, relaxing on the deck in the shade of the 100 year-old oak tree, listening to the silence of the mountain in a garden gazebo or having a drink in front of a blazing fire in winter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Far Hills Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Far Hills Country George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing