We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hmmm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Far Hills Country Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in George
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Hubby just came back from Golf tour and staying at far hills. Phoned me in astonishment with how beautiful it is and how his bags got carried to room. Seemed like he was in for a nice spoil. Said he had a great room and got given extra blankets for the cold. Thumbs up for that. But all that got forgotten quick when you want to relax and cant watch tv coz it doesnt have a clear picture. AND NO DSTV. who still watches sabc 1,2 &3? I mean seriously it is so easy and affordable to set up nowadays and guests will be much happier with a good movie at night after a long day than to sit and stare at a very snowy sabc channel. Rugby had to be watched at the comfort of the bar with the barmans drunk girlfriend making the guests stay unpleasant. Sitting at the bar drunk as a bat is not a very attractive thing to see,muchless being a woman. She should not be sitting there while the boyfriend is working. And when a guest has to request that she be removed i wonder if id ever want to come over for a weekend. It gives the whole place a bit of a dark cloud when you hear that the partners of staff get hammered and make it uncomfortable for guests. Im all for youngsters having a good time but theres a fine line between fun and making a fool of yourself. Above all that i might still decide to come for a holiday there as i did hear the astonishment and absolute suprize in my husbands voice when he arrived. Keep up the good work and fix the errors. You have the potential to be fully booked all year round. Make it work. Its more possible than some might think

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank Lee-Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
There are newer reviews for Far Hills Country Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

The motto of Far Hills is so true! Surrounded by the beauty of nature, whilst the hotel staff and local visitors really do make you feel so at home. The rooms are lovely, bathrooms neat & clean and the food at the restaurant is divine, thanks to Chef Andre.

For business or leisure Far Hills is the best place to stay - your home away from home.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenene2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Easy access from the N2, but close enough to hear the traffic - albeit only just. Sits in a fabulous forest-like setting amidst trees and creepers. Lots for children to do including a pool and a pool table. It has a snug European-style bar with a real fire on cold evenings. Our room (no.2) had a lovely view from the balcony overlooking a huge tree and the Far Hills from which the hotel takes its name. Caring, helpful and very polite staff. We would definitely return if we should visit the area again and have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for room no. 2
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GMH66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The Far Hills Hotel is a no frills motel located on the side of the motorway. It was convenient for a quick stopover from George to Knysna. The rooms could do with some maintenance and clean linen, and insects were abundant. The breakfast was decent with fresh fruit available. There was also a nice view from the balcony overlooking the mountains.

Room Tip: We were located in a room quite far from the reception desk, and there seemed to be lots of guests...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J-Rudd123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I travel to the area every month on business one of the most important requirements is a good bed, this was not the case,the room was a little takkie, bed was terrible bedding was not fresh. Breakfast was a little decent, general experience would I recommend and stay again I THINK NOT.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grengem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

After reading all the negative comments, I was really skeptic to visit because it was me and my wife's wedding anniversary. I decided that we will give it a try. To my surprise as well as all the negative reviews I read beforehand, this was the best stay in a very long time. The room was clean, the view was exceptional and the food was immaculate. The bartender deserves a special thanks. Keep it up and as far as we go we are telling people of our great experience at Far Hills!!!!
Errol & Mariane Els

Room Tip: Rooms on first floor has best views
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Els130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The reception was not professional We were given a key and vaguely directed to our room No offer to help with luggage The room was very basic, old, shabby with curtains that were 30cm too shortThe towels in the bathroom were old and shabby The TV reception was so poor we couldn't watch anything There were no tea/coffee facilities There is no light in the bedroom except for one bedside lamp

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elsa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George
8.1 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
4.7 mi away
Oakhurst Hotel
Oakhurst Hotel
#7 of 9 in George
55 reviews
5.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott King George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
2.5 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wilderness
680 reviews
2.8 mi away
Town Lodge George
Town Lodge George
#6 of 9 in George
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Far Hills Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Far Hills Country Hotel

Address: N2 | Farm 115, Kraaibosch, George 6530, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in George
Price Range: £36 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Far Hills Country Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Touch the Earth / Feel at Home. Far Hills offers a departure from the typical hotel. We believe in warmth, family and comfort in a stylish but unpretentious setting. We encourage our guests to absorb the tranquillity of the environment by lounging next to the pool, relaxing on the deck in the shade of the 100 year-old oak tree, listening to the silence of the mountain in a garden gazebo or having a drink in front of a blazing fire in winter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Far Hills Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Far Hills Country George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing