We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing like its website photos...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott King George
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in George
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Internet dating is a tricky game. The photo you see on the profile picture is often not what you get in the reality! The King George Protea was a bit like internet dating...looks awesome on the website but in reality it's rather drab and disappointing. At face value it's a good solid clean hotel but there are some problems! Rule 101 of housekeeping is to be discreet and never air your dirty laundry. When moving into our assigned room the entire lawn in front of our room had a set of the previous evenings room service dishes from various rooms with an assortment of uneaten food. It lay on that lawn for over an hour while flies happily buzzed around. Just so off putting for a four star hotel! The rooms are spacious, clean and neat and the modernized bathroom is great! A visit to the bar had us beat a hasty retreat. It was lunchtime and the bar was dark and oppressive, with the air conditioner on full heat, while a weary eyed barman leaned heavily on the bar counter! The main hotel area is dated, so we avoided it all together and ate out. Recommend the Foo Bar up the road which serves a selection of good food. Stay here if you are on business and need a place to sleep at night. For the more discerning traveler perhaps stay at Fancourt or move on up the road to Knysna!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TravelTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berneace, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott King George, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

First of all Thank you for your positive comments regarding our spacious, clean rooms and modern bathrooms.
GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure whether or not we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS' expectations. We need to know when we have done right, but more importantly, when we have done wrong!
I would therefore like to apologize for the inconvenience that was caused to you during your stay. Your experience with regards to the dirty room service dishes outside the rooms, as well as the service and atmosphere in the bar does not reflect the high standard that Protea Hotel King George is usually proud to offer. I confirm therefore that your concerns have been addressed and that corrective action is being taken to rectify the shortcomings.

Your feedback has been truly invaluable to us. Should you require any further assistance from our side, please do not hesitate to contact me personally - we hope to welcome you back in order to show you the great service that we are normally so proud to offer.

Yours in Royal Hospitality,

Berneace Nel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

167 - 173 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

I generally "choose" to stay at the King George Protea Hotel whenever im in George. All the staff are very friendly, with warm smiles, making you feel at home. Their customer service skills are excellent giving the feeling of being a VIP evertime you stay there. The rooms are fantastic, spacious, clean and neat. Room service is efficient and quick.
An awesome place to stay, especially for my business trips to George.
Should I take a holiday in George, I will most definitely want to stay at the King George Protea Hotel .

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berneace, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott King George, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you Richard for your Awesome review after your recent stay at the Protea Hotel King George!
I am delighted to receive your compliments and I will certainly congratulate our TEAM for their exemplary service.
We look forward to welcome you back to our beautiful hotel for many more years to come!

Yours in Royal Hospitality,

Berneace Nel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Regular visitor when travelling to George. Special request was made on arrival for a morning meal(Iftar)very early the next morning due to fasting period, staff duely delivered my hot breakfast before kitchen even opened, meaning I could observe my fast for the day, now that's accommodating!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FatimaWilcpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berneace, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott King George, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Fatima,
GUESTS' perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying with Protea Hotels is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations. I should, therefore, like to thank you for taking the time to review the Protea Hotel King George after your recent stay with us.

We were delighted to receive your commendations about the impressive service offered. Please be assured that I will congratulate our TEAM for doing a great job!

Thank you for choosing to stay at Protea Hotel King George and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Yours in Royal Hospitality,

Berneace Nel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Large rooms (extra large beds). Nice and private. Great staff. Loved that the hotel is not in the city centre - makes for a more enjoyable and relaxing stay. Great buffet breakfast.
Dined at the restaurant our first night there and LOVED the lamb shanks!! Delicious!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tania S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berneace, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott King George, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you very much for your review after your recent stay with us!

It is always wonderful to hear when we have exceeded our GUESTS expectations! Please be assured that I will congratulate our TEAM for doing a great job!

Thank you for choosing to stay at Protea Hotel King George and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for any further assistance you may require in future.

Berneace Nel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

It was my first time in George, in awe of the beautiful place as well as the Hotel. It was seriously beautiful and the rooms splendid. Service was excellent although. I ordered room service and the food was ok, not great. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Earl N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berneace, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott King George, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the Protea Hotel King George after your recent stay with us.
GUESTS' perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying with Protea Hotels is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations.

We were delighted to receive your positive feedback regarding our luxurious rooms and overall beautiful hotel!

Thank you for choosing to stay at Protea Hotel King George and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for any further assistance you may require in future.

Yours in Royal Hospitality,
Berneace Nel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Good hotel, amazing breakfast buffet but a little far from the city centre. I stayed here on my way back from Outdshoorn, but realised should have chosen some other hotel in the city centre so that i could explore some of the city as well.
Nonetheless, good service and courteous staff.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Kunal5988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berneace, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott King George, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us after your recent stay at the Protea Hotel King George.
I am delighted to hear that the STAFF were so friendly and efficient; and that you enjoyed our famous Protea Hotels Buffet Breakfast.
We are a bit too far from the CBD (2 km) to walk, but transport is available and reasonably priced, in order for you to explore our beautiful city. Should you travel to our country again and visit George - please let me know - I will personally assist with your reservation and gladly help you arrange some stunning day tours in and around George.

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS’ expectations. Your comments are therefore much appreciated, and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Protea Hotel King George again soon.

Yours in Royal Hospitality,

Berneace Nel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Situated on the outskirts of George in a housing estate , with a golf course attached consisting of the original building of two storeys , with now additional bungalows , & a two storey block of buildings built around small but adequate pools . Rooms were superb , large well appointed , good beds etc .
Restaurant was spacious but only served very average luke warm food > , bar area had very bad
lighting , indifferent staff , very limited wine selection , not inviting @ all .
Reception staff efficient , plenty of security & secure car parking . but just felt the hotel was for sleeping only , stayed for four days

Room Tip: Most of the rooms seemed ok we paid for a luxury , make sure you ask for NON SMOKING if required
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atw1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berneace, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott King George, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you for taking time to review us after your recent stay at the Protea Hotel King George.

First of all thank you for the positive comments regarding our lovely spacious rooms and comfy beds.

Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused to you in our restaurant. I can assure you that this is not the service and delicious food that we are normally so proud to offer.
We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the Rex Tavern - this beautiful room with its wood-panneled walls, train theme and fire place is normally enjoyed by all our GUESTS. I have taken up your comments regarding the service with the TEAM and can assure you that actions have been put in place to assure that all our GUESTS are treated in a friendly and efficient manner - and most importantly that we deliver Service with a smile at all times.

I can assure you, should you stay at Protea Hotel King George again, that every effort will be made to ensure that you enjoy our true hospitality! Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future. It would be my pleasure to assist you with your next reservation and to ensure that you are well taken care of during your next stay with us.

Yours in Royal Hospitality,

Berneace Nel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
6.3 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
2.2 mi away
Fancourt
Fancourt
#1 of 9 in George
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Oakhurst Hotel
Oakhurst Hotel
#6 of 9 in George
72 reviews
0.9 mi away
Town Lodge George
Town Lodge George
#7 of 9 in George
75 reviews
8 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wilderness
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott King George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott King George

Address: King George Drive, King George Park, George 6529, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in George
Price Range: £67 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott King George 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the convenience of being on the doorstep of all the Garden Route has to offer! The Protea Hotel by Marriott King George is centrally located in the Heart of Eden and exudes tranquility and beauty. With the Outeniqua Mountains as a back-drop, this magnificent 4-star hotel, with its country-style setting is the ideal location for conference, business and leisure travelers wanting to explore the Garden Route and surroundings. You can be assured that you will never run out of things to do and see! Nestled between two of the country's top golf courses and in close proximity to other world class courses in Mossel Bay, Knysna and Plettenberg Bay, the Protea Hotel by Marriott King George is the perfect destination for golf enthusiasts to tee off from! This secure, upmarket hotel is merely a ten minute leisurely drive from the George Airport and a stones' throw away from all the pristine beaches with its clear water and white sandy beaches. The spacious and stylishly designed rooms and luxury suites are equipped with all amenities for your comfort. The Fairway Terrace Restaurant with its elegant dining atmosphere and superb blend of classical and contemporary cuisine is a gastronomic experience that will not easily be forgotten. Children are always welcome and with the dedicated Prokidz entertainment program over weekends and school holidays, you can be assured of absolute relaxation, friendly and efficient service and home-away-from-home comfort in the Heart of the Garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott King George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing