We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Aziza Guest House(George)(Great Value!)
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Protea Hotel George Outeniqua(George)(Great Value!)
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$84
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Edenwood House(George)(Great Value!)
US$64
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$570
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$498
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fancourt(George)
US$232
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (311)
Filter reviews
312 results
Traveller rating
90
118
61
29
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
118
61
29
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf courselamb shankroom service was goodmain buildinggarden routedelightful experiencedeluxe roomper dayno liftbreakfast buffeton arrivalstayed here for nightshotel is situatedefficient serviceouteniqua mountainsone night stayrestaurant staff
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 312 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had two nights here. Room was clean, large withe a comfortable bed. Fittings and furnishing a little out dated. Room not sound quite. We did have some issue with guest and their kids, which is beyond the hotel control, talking loud in the corridor outside our room. Staff very helpful and friendly. Breakfast offered was a reasonable choice and good quality.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berneace, General Manager at Protea Hotel George King George, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with feedback after your recent stay with us. While we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay, we would also like to thank you for your additional comments regarding the noise factor and décor. We would like to assure you that your comments, together with others received from our GUESTS, are analyzed daily and used constructively to continue to maintain and improve our service and facilities where necessary.
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Protea Hotel by Marriott George King George and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back whenever your travels brings you back to George.

Kind Regards,
Berneace Nel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

this hotel has an excellent location and is an old colonial stlyle hotel which has a goldcourse view but rooms are old fashioned and hotel has a very dull atmostphere
we were there for just a night so it was ok no activites and happening at all service is ok the front desk guys are really good and helpful.

Room Tip: take bigger golfcourse facin rooms
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiah05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berneace, General Manager at Protea Hotel George King George, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback after your recent one-night stay with us.
First of all - thank you very much for your positive feedback regarding our location - we do indeed have one of the best settings in George, with stunning views of the Outeniqua Mountains and George Golf Course.
Thank you also for your additional feedback - we are sorry to learn that our rooms did not meet your requirements, and we will use your comments constructively to continue to maintain and improve our facilities where necessary.
We hope you'll return whenever your travels brings you back to George and that you'll spend more than one night with us - we will gladly assist you in planning your stay with us and can ensure you that there are LOADS of wonderful things to do and see in and around George - You won't have a boring moment!
Thank you once again and kind regards,
Berneace Nel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights before returning home. The hotel seems to be undergoing a revamp which I think is good. Although clean and neat you notice furniture and some fittings etc are outdated in the room in which we stayed. But service and staff friendliness are on par. We asked for early check-in and it was granted. The buffet breakfast was standard but we enjoyed it. The area in which the hotel is situated is very quiet and peaceful. Thank you our stay was nice and reaxing.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Annali K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berneace, General Manager at Protea Hotel George King George, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate your feedback and we hope to welcome you back whenever your travels brings you back to George.
Kind Regards,
Berneace Nel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018

My partner and I where attending a friend's wedding, I must say the food standard has improved way much higher than it was before. This chef really knows his story as the food was simply exquisite served by kind and helpful staff. Although everything was lovely, the rooms look a bit old and could use some refurbishment

Room Tip: close to golf course, great surrounding and lots to do around
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Winfred06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berneace, General Manager at Protea Hotel George King George, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and for your loyal support. We are delighted to receive your feedback and hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Berneace Nel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

Clean rooms but garden had chicken bones since we arrived till we left two days later. Beautiful bar, outside play area for children and bunnies in garden. Was good but don’t think we would go back...

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Sal0mien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berneace, General Manager at Protea Hotel George King George, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay. Please also accept our sincere apologies for the chicken bones in the garden area - we have brought this under the attention of the appropriate hotel team and this has been resolved and corrective measures put into place to ensure that this was an isolated incident.
Thank you for choosing our hotel and we do hope that, should you return to George, that you'll come and stay with us again!

Kind Regards,
Berneace Nel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews