We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Central and convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in George
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very Central and convenient”
Reviewed 13 February 2013

I have stayed at this hotel years ago and stayed there again last week. The rooms and bathrooms are very similar to what they were in the late 1990's but the bed seemed very new with new blankets and it was really comfortable.
Hotels that have a good desk and chair for work are essential for me and this hotel has a decent work area. The in room kettle and coffee are always welcome. The location is right in the centre of the town and there are many restaurants all around, but a special mention to the Rose on York restaurant just next to the hotel. Great meals at good value with excellent personal service!
And the service from the hotel staff was also excellent. I will be back

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skyfall_Ryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHO_GM, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Dear Skyfall Ryan
Thank you very much for the kind comments. Protea Hotel Outenqua were privileged to be your host during your stay in George. Our unique selling point is location location location. We also have a wide variety of restaurants all within walking distance. The hotel is currently busy upgrading all the TVs and air conditioning for all 50 rooms. We also now have secure private parking at the back of the hotel. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the great breakfast buffet. The TEAM pride themselves on hospitality from the heart, with friendly efficient service. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    47
    20
    11
    13
See reviews for
24
31
12
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Louisiana, United States
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013 via mobile

Older well cared for property in a central location. The Staff are extremely nice & courteous, rooms very clean, comfortable bed & an excellent breakfast.
Arrived on business & we were very fortunate the company booked this hotel.
We were able due to the location to walk around George, found a nice Pub & the staff at the hotel gave us good advice as to dining preferences later.
Best breakfast in George is what I read on another review & it is true. We were pleasantly surprised.

Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank J French R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHO_GM, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua, responded to this review, 24 January 2013
Dear J French R,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor.

One of Protea Hotel Outeniqua’s unique selling points are LOCATION as GUESTS are spoilt for choice with restaurants, shops, pubs and entertainment all within walking distance.

We are very pleased you enjoyed our breakfast – really value for money. Trust you enjoyed the remainder of your business trip in sunny South Africa and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Struisbaai, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

My home away from home in George. I'm a regular traveller to the garden Route and always stay at the Outeniqua. The staff are so friendly, remembering you by name. They always go out of their way to asssist. Once I travelled with my husband & he needed an electrical point to hook up the freezer in the car overnight. No problem, they found a parking space at the back of the Hotel close to an electric point - now that's what I call service.
The breakfast selecting has been upgraded and is EXCELLENT
Keep up the great work.
Only complaint is that the loo is so close to the shower - you really need short legs!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHO_GM, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Dear Sandy V
Thank you very much for posting your comments on Tripadvisor ! The TEAM are thrilled with your kind words – they really do strive to exceed GUESTS’ expectations – your feedback certainly motivates us all and is most appreciated. So glad we are your home away from home – what a nice compliment. Look forward to welcoming you back to the Protea Hotel Outeniqua “The Urban Hub of George..”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Fantastic service, friendly staff (they remembered me from a previous visit). Just not enough smoking rooms (only 2). Keep it up, you are a great team and I will always come back for more. Just have to love those chocolates in the late afternoon. Breakfast is the best and I just loved the tomato juice. Security is great too, just can't understand why the parking at the back of the hotel is not used for the guests.

Room Tip: Any room at this hotel is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHO_GM, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Dear Michele
Thank you very much Michele for taking the time to post your comments on Tripakdvisor ! The STAFF are all so happy and appreciative – we all aim to exceed GUESTS’ expectations. So nice when our GUESTS recognise and enjoy “the small touches” we implement. The hotel’s breakfasts are great and the hotel is also recognised for it’s GREAT location hence the logo “The Urban Hub of George”
Look forward to welcoming you back for another enjoyable stay at Protea Hotel Outeniqua.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2012

We came up to George for a gig and it was a pleasure staying so close to the gig venue. The staff were friendly & helpful even though we arrived back late at night. The rooms wee very dark too which is great for us late night owls!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megulations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHO_GM, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Dear Megulations
Thank you for taking the time to email your comments. Your feedback is highly valued and very much appreciated. We pride ourselves on clean and functional rooms, as well as efficient and friendly service. Good value for money. Protea Hotel Outeniqua is also known as The Urban Hub of George – with lots of restaurants, shops and entertainment all within walking distance. The TEAM look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012 via mobile

Overall the hotel lives up to its 3-star rating, with a few 5-star touches. Yes, the decor might be a bit outdated and the bathrooms a bit small...but the service is excellent with friendly & helpful staff, very comfy bed and linen, fresh towels daily, a "good night" card with chocolates every night and 100MB free wi-fi daily. All of this made for a very pleasant stay at Protea Hotel Outeniqua!

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jan-Steyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHO_GM, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Dear Jan – Steyn P

WOW thank you very much for your lovely comments, the TEAM really is great and we do strive to exceed our guests’ expectations. We are truly happy you enjoy your stay with us. Look forward to welcoming you back soon to the Protea Hotel Outeniqua “ The Urban Hub of George.”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knysna
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2012

From entering the hotel the warmth and friendliness of the staff is a constant. Rooms always neat and tidy. Towels smelling good!!! Best breakfast in George!! Be back soon. Thank you Jackie, Cynthia, Alison, Mervin, Marylise, Mindre, Rika and Meagan. Protea Hotel Outeniqua - my home away from home!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHO_GM, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Dear Andre V
Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. The TEAM do all appreciate your kind appraisals. We are your home away from home, so hopefully not too long before we welcome you back. Take care and see you again soon at the Protea Hotel Outeniqua “The Urban Hub of George “
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George hotels
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott King George
6.8 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
0.2 mi away
Oakhurst Hotel
Oakhurst Hotel
#7 of 9 in George
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Fancourt
Fancourt
#1 of 9 in George
480 reviews
2.2 mi away
Town Lodge George
Town Lodge George
#6 of 9 in George
68 reviews
4.9 mi away
Far Hills Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
Address: 123 York Street, George 6529, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Outeniqua George)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua - located in "The Urban Hub" of George. Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua is strategically situated in the urban business, retail and residential hub of George. Vibrant shops and restaurants are abundant in the precinct. Minutes away from the Garden Route Shopping Mall, forests, majestic mountains and majestic coastline, for which the Garden Route is renowned. There is always something to do, from hiking, fishing, abseiling, nature trails and more - all on our doorstep. Easy access to the George Airport and Beaches (15km). An ideal halfway stop between Cape Town and Port Elizabeth and perfect mid-point to base yourself for exploring the whole Garden Route and Klein Karoo. Nestled amongst the well-renowned golf courses of the Garden Route (George Golf Course 2 km) - it is the ideal base to stay and play. Unrivalled convenience and value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing