We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Protea Hotel George Outeniqua
Nearby Hotels
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Fancourt(George)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
StayWell Hotels(Gaborone)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (162)
Filter reviews
162 results
Traveller rating
62
51
23
12
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
62
51
23
12
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssurrounding restaurantsno hesitation in staying here againrooms are smallrecommend this hotelwalking distancemakes me feeltop floorcomfortable place to staymain roadcomfortable bedthe hotel staffkind regardsbusiness or pleasurehome away from homeair conditioningfollowing morningclose proximity
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
130 - 135 of 162 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Basic, reasoably priced 4 what you get and it is central aswell, Breaksfast is buffet style with a good range of foods.The main problem here is, as another traveller mentioned on Tripadvisor is the poor quality of cell reception. Hotel staff were not able to give a reason, but this is a major minus for business travellers.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHO_GM, Manager at Protea Hotel George Outeniqua, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2013

Thank you Terry P for your comments on TripAdvisor - we value all comments received by our GUESTS. Yes, we do occasionally have a problem with cell phone network coverage for some reason - it happens on an ad hoc basis and not all the time. We have been in contact with all the network providers who are trying to get to the bottom of why this sometimes happens. We will continue pushing them, until this issue is completely resolved. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Protea Hotel Outeniqua.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We needed accomodation for the weekend while attending a wedding. The hotel is older, but its well kept and clean. The bathroom has a proper shower inside the bath with a glass partition. Always good to have a decent shower. We had a king size bed as upgrade on prokard. Was a great sleep. Friendly staff, superb omelettes! They only offer breakfast and lunch dinner per arrangement at surrounding restuarants. The meal at adjacent Roses was great with great service! A good stay all over.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHO_GM, General Manager at Protea Hotel George Outeniqua, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2013

Dear Johann
Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel on TripAdvisor. We hope you enjoyed the wedding you attended whilst in George - certainly a beautiful area for a wedding, isn't it. We are proud of our historical roots dating back to the early 1800's and being the home to the first magistrate of George. We like to retain the quaint feel of the gabled home yet with all the modern fittings today's traveller will require. Our STAFF were delighted to hear your comments - it is comments like these that motivate us even more to keep our GUESTS happy, so thank you. Yes, we like to believe we offer a scrumptious breakfast that keeps our GUESTS returning so we are very pleased that you enjoyed our omelettes - our chef's speciality! We hope that you will choose us again on your next visit to George.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Your team are the greatest, especially Alfred. Always a smile and friendly, makes me feel at home - Protea employees are my family because I travel so much. The food is great too. I am diabetic and like milky tea and coffee, there is never a problem when I ask for extra sweetener and milk. My car windscreen is cleaned every morning before I leave, that is a bonus.

Room Tip: My favourite room is 226. It's great, in the corner.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHO_GM, General Manager at Protea Hotel George Outeniqua, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2013

Dear Michele
We feel privileged that you choose Protea Hotel Outeniqua as your home away from home - what an honour! Thank you. Alfred was grinning ear to ear again when we told him how great you thought he was. To be considered "your family", is certainly the best feeling in the world for us, thank you so much. You have truly inspired and invigorated our TEAM again with your lovely comments. Safe travels and we look forward to welcoming you "home" again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

The friendly staff and comfortable room made me feel at home. The internet connection provided came in very handy and the breakfast each morning was delicious. If I ever travel to George again I would definitely make use of the Protea Hotel Outeniqua again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CliftonHattingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHO_GM, Manager at Protea Hotel George Outeniqua, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

Thank you Clifton Hattingh for taking the time to post your comments on TriipAdvisor. We love to make our GUESTS feel at home. Our chef is delighted to hear about your breakfast review, thank you! We look forward to welcoming you back - sooner rather than later!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

I'm a regular traveller to the area and always stay at the Outeniqua. This hotel is my home away from home. There are several things that keep me going back there, friendly staff (always make you feel most welcome), clean, comfortable rooms, variety of restaurants to choose from for lunch and supper and last but not least the breakfast that is served at the hotel is definitely the best. Recently I noticed that the waitress' uniform has changed from black and white to some other colours, to be quite honest those uniforms are a tad bit too dull for their bubbly personalities.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHO_GM, Manager at Protea Hotel George Outeniqua, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

Dear Elaine,
We are privileged that you consider our quaint hotel your "home away from home". Thank you! Our TEAM are all thrilled to hear your reviews. We strive to meet and exceed the expectation of our special GUESTS, like you. Your kind comments certainly inspire and motivate us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our "best" breakfast - we are proud of our Chefs and their irresistible breakfast delights! Thank you, too, for your comment about our waitresses uniforms. We have received mixed responses to the new uniforms we implemented a year ago. We wanted to both modernize and move away from the "maid" look, made up of the typical black with white aprons. Our team of waitresses are important to us and play a pivotal role in keeping our GUESTS happy. Many GUESTS have expressed delight with the uniforms. We have, however, taken cognisance of your opinion and, as such, are bringing in the addition of a modern and cheerful apron. When the time comes to review the uniforms again, we will take all feedback in to account. Right now, though, we want to concentrate the budget on areas that affect the comfort and experience of our GUESTS, like you, more directly. Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews