We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Protea Hotel George Outeniqua
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in George
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We arrived at the Hotel to be greeted by the most amazing friendly Reception person I have met in a long time. The room was so clean and comfy , The breakfast was amazing and the staff , man they are just different , George as a whole is so nice and the air is so clean and clear just Like this amazing Hotel . We were given the Restaurants across the street from the hotel that you can order your Dinner in or Just stroll across the road to have dinner details , and when I arrived back home I found that I had lost my Jacket ( A present from my son in America) I was heartbroken but one call to the hotel and I was notified that they had found it and arranged to send it back overnight . Wow its was amazing worth the jitter I had about flying ,

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHO_GM, General Manager at Protea Hotel George Outeniqua, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Dear Lorraine L
Thank you so much for taking the time to record your comments on Trip Advisor - we really appreciate this, as Trip Advisor is a powerful tool for potential GUESTS to our hotel. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our hotel and your time here - our TEAM were smiling ear to ear when we told them. It certainly motivates them even more! I am very happy to hear that your special jacket was found and returned to you by our STAFF. We hope that you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2013

The staff are very friendly, the room is clean and all necessities are there. A very nice place to stay. I stayed over on my way back to East London from Somerset West as I needed to meet with someone the following morning

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodger N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHO_GM, General Manager at Protea Hotel George Outeniqua, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Thank you Rodger for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor - we value your feedback. We are very pleased that you had a pleasant stay. Yes, we are centrally located and therefore an easy to meet or meet from spot - hope your meeting went well. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back sometime again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Basic, reasoably priced 4 what you get and it is central aswell, Breaksfast is buffet style with a good range of foods.The main problem here is, as another traveller mentioned on Tripadvisor is the poor quality of cell reception. Hotel staff were not able to give a reason, but this is a major minus for business travellers.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHO_GM, Manager at Protea Hotel George Outeniqua, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2013

Thank you Terry P for your comments on TripAdvisor - we value all comments received by our GUESTS. Yes, we do occasionally have a problem with cell phone network coverage for some reason - it happens on an ad hoc basis and not all the time. We have been in contact with all the network providers who are trying to get to the bottom of why this sometimes happens. We will continue pushing them, until this issue is completely resolved. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Protea Hotel Outeniqua.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We needed accomodation for the weekend while attending a wedding. The hotel is older, but its well kept and clean. The bathroom has a proper shower inside the bath with a glass partition. Always good to have a decent shower. We had a king size bed as upgrade on prokard. Was a great sleep. Friendly staff, superb omelettes! They only offer breakfast and lunch dinner per arrangement at surrounding restuarants. The meal at adjacent Roses was great with great service! A good stay all over.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHO_GM, General Manager at Protea Hotel George Outeniqua, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2013

Dear Johann
Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel on TripAdvisor. We hope you enjoyed the wedding you attended whilst in George - certainly a beautiful area for a wedding, isn't it. We are proud of our historical roots dating back to the early 1800's and being the home to the first magistrate of George. We like to retain the quaint feel of the gabled home yet with all the modern fittings today's traveller will require. Our STAFF were delighted to hear your comments - it is comments like these that motivate us even more to keep our GUESTS happy, so thank you. Yes, we like to believe we offer a scrumptious breakfast that keeps our GUESTS returning so we are very pleased that you enjoyed our omelettes - our chef's speciality! We hope that you will choose us again on your next visit to George.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Your team are the greatest, especially Alfred. Always a smile and friendly, makes me feel at home - Protea employees are my family because I travel so much. The food is great too. I am diabetic and like milky tea and coffee, there is never a problem when I ask for extra sweetener and milk. My car windscreen is cleaned every morning before I leave, that is a bonus.

Room Tip: My favourite room is 226. It's great, in the corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHO_GM, General Manager at Protea Hotel George Outeniqua, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2013

Dear Michele
We feel privileged that you choose Protea Hotel Outeniqua as your home away from home - what an honour! Thank you. Alfred was grinning ear to ear again when we told him how great you thought he was. To be considered "your family", is certainly the best feeling in the world for us, thank you so much. You have truly inspired and invigorated our TEAM again with your lovely comments. Safe travels and we look forward to welcoming you "home" again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

The friendly staff and comfortable room made me feel at home. The internet connection provided came in very handy and the breakfast each morning was delicious. If I ever travel to George again I would definitely make use of the Protea Hotel Outeniqua again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CliftonHattingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHO_GM, Manager at Protea Hotel George Outeniqua, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

Thank you Clifton Hattingh for taking the time to post your comments on TriipAdvisor. We love to make our GUESTS feel at home. Our chef is delighted to hear about your breakfast review, thank you! We look forward to welcoming you back - sooner rather than later!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

I'm a regular traveller to the area and always stay at the Outeniqua. This hotel is my home away from home. There are several things that keep me going back there, friendly staff (always make you feel most welcome), clean, comfortable rooms, variety of restaurants to choose from for lunch and supper and last but not least the breakfast that is served at the hotel is definitely the best. Recently I noticed that the waitress' uniform has changed from black and white to some other colours, to be quite honest those uniforms are a tad bit too dull for their bubbly personalities.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHO_GM, Manager at Protea Hotel George Outeniqua, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

Dear Elaine,
We are privileged that you consider our quaint hotel your "home away from home". Thank you! Our TEAM are all thrilled to hear your reviews. We strive to meet and exceed the expectation of our special GUESTS, like you. Your kind comments certainly inspire and motivate us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our "best" breakfast - we are proud of our Chefs and their irresistible breakfast delights! Thank you, too, for your comment about our waitresses uniforms. We have received mixed responses to the new uniforms we implemented a year ago. We wanted to both modernize and move away from the "maid" look, made up of the typical black with white aprons. Our team of waitresses are important to us and play a pivotal role in keeping our GUESTS happy. Many GUESTS have expressed delight with the uniforms. We have, however, taken cognisance of your opinion and, as such, are bringing in the addition of a modern and cheerful apron. When the time comes to review the uniforms again, we will take all feedback in to account. Right now, though, we want to concentrate the budget on areas that affect the comfort and experience of our GUESTS, like you, more directly. Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel George King George
6.8 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
0.2 mi away
Oakhurst Hotel
Oakhurst Hotel
#6 of 9 in George
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wilderness
775 reviews
0.1 mi away
Town Lodge George
Town Lodge George
#7 of 9 in George
78 reviews
3 mi away
Fancourt
Fancourt
#1 of 9 in George
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel George Outeniqua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel George Outeniqua

Address: 123 York Street, George 6529, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in George
Price Range: £49 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel George Outeniqua 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua - located in "The Urban Hub" of George. Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua is strategically situated in the urban business, retail and residential hub of George. Vibrant shops and restaurants are abundant in the precinct. Minutes away from the Garden Route Shopping Mall, forests, majestic mountains and majestic coastline, for which the Garden Route is renowned. There is always something to do, from hiking, fishing, abseiling, nature trails and more - all on our doorstep. Easy access to the George Airport and Beaches (15km). An ideal halfway stop between Cape Town and Port Elizabeth and perfect mid-point to base yourself for exploring the whole Garden Route and Klein Karoo. Nestled amongst the well-renowned golf courses of the Garden Route (George Golf Course 2 km) - it is the ideal base to stay and play. Unrivalled convenience and value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Protea Hotel George Outeniqua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing