We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly a beautiful place but . . .” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Victoria Bay

Ranked #3 of 37 things to do in George
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
George, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
58 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Truly a beautiful place but . . .”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

I and my son could stay at this idyllic place for hours just watching the waves and the surfers. Unfortunately I have to mention that Vicbay is extremely unsafe and it seems like the municipality is unable to solve this problem  My advice for visitors is to leave all valuables in their accommodation, hide your cell phone/handy, avoid to wear any jewelry, just take some pocket money with you. Furthermore please DON’T make use of the camping site – it’s even worse there. It’s really sad to give these hints but that’s the reality.
I can only hope that the situation will get better until upcoming summer season and visitors will be able to enjoy this spot as much as I do.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Helga K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    46
    7
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East London South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Piece of heaven”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed at The Waves self catering. Primary reason was to surf and we got a few good waves. However the position , atmosphere and scenic views make Vic Bay really special.
Want to do this again very soon. A real piece of paradise for any person who appreciates the wonders of nature. Cant wait to return

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank surftrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knysna
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Victoria Bay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Very congested area compared with other beaches in the area - very much like beaches in Europe. Definately not South Africa style / open spaces

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bob n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klerksdorp, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Clear waters and great senary”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

A small little bay, with only a few houses and lovely view. Water is clear and you can see right up to the bottom of the ocean. A surfers paradise.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MeyerMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Clean and Safe Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

Found the beach to be safe and clean, in nice setting. Kids were surfing and had a nice light meal at the local cafe afterwards.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Batavians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Victoria Bay also viewed

 
 

Been to Victoria Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing