We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like home!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
17 on Wellington Suite Hotel
Ranked #14 of 62 George B&B and Inns
Peyia, Cyprus
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Just like home!”
Reviewed 16 February 2013 via mobile

We previously stayed at the Acorn guest house and on booking was referred to 17 on Wellington as this would suit our needs. Well that was absolutely true. From the moment we walked in and was met by Willie we felt at home. The garden is beautiful - full of hidden treasures. We stayed in nr 4 and week later in nr 3.

The rooms had everything you need. Beautiful "old" framed needlepoint on the walls, crochet blankets,nice fluffy white towels - that is one of my favorite things in any hotel! The rooms are comfortable and spacious. Living area big with enough seating and if you wish to make food a microwave and full fridge. Generous amount of coffee and tea available.

We had breakfast included in a very reasonable price. Breakfast was nice home cooked and good selection. All the staff made sure that you are comfortable and attended to every need.

The location is very good and there are enough take away food outlets a short walk away. Found a lovely pizza place nearby Express pizza!

I would surely stay here again and would recommend Acorn and 17 on Wellington to travelers.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Boetie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagicGeorge01, Manager at 17 on Wellington Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Hello Boetie1

We want to thank you for taking the time to review our new establishment. We are so excited about this new venture & so happy that we get such good feedback. 17onWellington will definitely grow to reach the highest of standards we are sure that you'll agree once we welcome you back next time round.

Greetings from a beautiful George. Come and visit again!

Thank you
Theresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    26
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
9
4
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

We were playing a tennis tournament in George from 17 to 21 December 2012 and were lucky enough to find 17 on Wellington. It is incredibly central and we could just about walk everywhere we needed to be. The units are spacious and well equipped - sooooo compfortable that one REALLY feels at home. The gardens are to die for and the entire set up just makes one feel relaxed, happy and revitalised. We will definitely be returning!!!!

Room Tip: Ground floor units are the best!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunelle f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagicGeorge01, Manager at 17 on Wellington Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
WOW!! Thank you for this fabulous review. We loved that you enjoyed your stay.

Please be back to enjoy all the hidden treasures of our garden.

Thanks
Theresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eye, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

I live in the UK. My Mom who was living in George died on 26th October. Friends in Cape Town booked a friend and I into 17 on Wellington for 7th, 8th and 9th November. Friendly arrival. Great accommodation. Problem - friend vomiting, dreadful headache, lethargic all night on Friday 9th and upon opening her bedroom on Saturday 10th (day of our departure) all I smelt was gas. Living in the UK I am well aware of what this smells like. Went to get help and the manager very obviously did not believe me and when I told him that we may not be able to make the 10 am checkout I could see he was not going to be very happy. He came to check and said he could find nothing wrong. We had paid R3300 up front and I was in no way trying to get a refund etc., just some help for my friend (no medication available to nausea, headache etc.). Had tried to find a number for a doctor etc. but no information available in the room at all - manager told me they had only been open for a couple of months and it was in the process of being printed. There are no phones in the room so unless you have a mobile you cannot contact anyone, even if you know the phone numbers. Manager offered to help carry bags to the car - did not take him up on this offer. Would like the owners to know that without the leaking gas problem (which my friend told me was worse when I showered that morning) - she had not smelt it at all during the night but door was closed and so were all the windows. I smelt nothing in my room. My friend slept the whole way back from George to Cape Town and that afternoon her husband was so concerned he called the emergency paramedics and she went to see her gp two days later as she felt to lethargic and poorly. Sorry guys - nice place but not impressed!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 63lynnette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SophiaGeorge, General Manager at 17 on Wellington Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2013
I'm very thankful for Irreplaceable 4 for taking the time to write this review. In response to their unfortunate experience, we got several gas specialists to have a look and to advise us with regards to gas situation & at that moment they could not find anything wrong. We were very worried that there was a leak and made sure to check the apartment suite each day, opening the showers/hot water so we could honestly say we don't know what went wrong during your stay. Actions have been taken, now we do have emergency contact numbers in all the rooms & suites, we also make sure to ask our guests whether they have a mobile & advise our guest to phone us if anything goes wrong or if they require any assistance. We make sure to show our guest where they could adjust the gas flow as well as where the gas cut-off is should they suspect anything to be wrong. We value your feedback and we know that the criticism encourages us to evaluate our services and guest interactions so we can improve on possible blind spots from here on wards.

Sincere apologies
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Originally booked at the Acorn Guest House, we were relocated by suggestion of the owner, as they felt the Family Suites of 17 on Wellington, would meet our wishes better. Right they were!

Tough newly build, the reception and breakfast/dinning room oozes of yesterday, with the retro woodworks, odd cutlery and china.

Great ambient.

Room Tip: Family Suites are preferable when traveling with older kids/teenagers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael_Falch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SophiaGeorge, General Manager at 17 on Wellington Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2013
Dear Michael

Thank you for your kind comment, we appreciate you taking the time to rate us! Hope to welcome you & your family back soon :)

Have a blessed 2013

Best regards
Colin & Esther
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George hotels
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
0.3 mi away
Oakhurst Hotel
Oakhurst Hotel
#7 of 9 in George
53 reviews
7.0 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Far Hills Country Hotel
1.8 mi away
Town Lodge George
Town Lodge George
#6 of 9 in George
68 reviews
5.1 mi away
Surfari
Surfari
#1 of 2 in Victoria Bay
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 17 on Wellington Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 17 on Wellington Suite Hotel

Property: 17 on Wellington Suite Hotel
Address: 17 Wellington Street | Bo dorp, George 6529, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — 17 on Wellington Suite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17onWellington Suites offers affordable, comfortable and luxury accomodation in the heart of the Gearden Route for corporate travellers, families, and holiday makers. We have 11 X 2 bedroom Suite apartments, each bedroom with twin/king size beds and own en-suite bathroom with walk-in showers. Each Suite features 3 X flat screen Televisions with DSTV, Fully equipped modern kitchenettes, Spacious family lounge, dining area & private balcony/courtyard with BBQ Facilities. Our suites can either be booked as a Two Bedroom Suite (Sleeps 4 / 4-6), One Bedroom Suite (Sleeps 1 - 2) or a single standard room (Sleeps 1). Free Limited Wi-Fi is available, aswell as secure en-closed parking. We are situated in the hub of George, 7km form Victoria Bay, walking distances to Shops and restaurants. We are looking forward to welcoming you to your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your 17 on Wellington Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing