We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience.”
Review of The Manor House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Manor House
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in George
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2014

In 2011,we visited Fancourt and our experience was not the best, in fact we were offered, and accepted 2 free nights in the Manor House in 2013 by way of compensation..
Our experience in 2013 was so good that we booked the Manor House again for 3 nights in February 2014 and our experience was just as good, if not better. The staff at the Manor House were basically the same as in 2013, and the service excellent. We played golf on all 3 courses and
they were all in excellent condition. The food, from breakfast to evening meals in Henry White's and La Cantina, was first class. We hope to return in 2015.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colinsp2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2014

Being golfers we booked Fancourt for three nights, and were lucky to receive a free upgrade to the Manor House.
Pick-up from airport: on time with limousine, transfer only takes 10 minutes and is free for guests staying at the Manor House.
Welcome/check-in: we were welcomed with a glass of sparkling wine and a hot towel, check-in was very informal, easy and friendly.
Rooms: the room was a suite (one living room, one bedroom) with a large bathroom (tub plus separate shower). Minibar was included, as was any drink from the decorative carafes with Brandy, Whisky, Vodka, Gin, that stood next to the espresso machine. In the evening we came to our room and a white elephant was standing on our bed, formed out of a towel, with roses next to it.
Breakfast: we used the buffet downstairs, which offered a wide range of fruits, cold cuts, cereals. Eggs etc. could be ordered and were freshly prepared.
Golf: three golf courses are available, a halfway break is mandatory as almost everywhere in South Africa
1. Outeniqua - a beautiful parkland course
2. Montagu - a course with much more water than Outeniqua, called by some "South Africa's Augusta" (even has 3 holes called Amen Corner)
One round on any of these courses was part of the package we booked.
3. the Links - a beautiful golf course, playing about 6,500 meters from the yellow tees. No way, to play up to one's handicap, but a great experience. We played directly behind Gary Player who is a member there. Green Fees must be paid extra and early booking is recommended to avoid disappointment.
Overall: we were addressed with our names from the first moment by almost everyone and felt at home immediately. Roxanne tried to read every wish from our eyes and nothing was impossible.
Having spent thousands of nights in hotels this was definitely one of the top 5 hotel stays ever. Congratulations to the Manor House.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank JTDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

What an amazing place, the setting, attention to details, the people and the comfort and the stellar service - everything is amazing, awesome, perfect and just geogrgeous. The rooms are very pretty and comfortable - nothing is missing, the grounds and the venues are immaculate and service as well as food is as close to perfect you can get it. The staff is just wonderful and I mean absolutely every person working on the grounds, the service is great and everyone is super friendly and lovely in a personal and easy going manor. The food we had in all three various restaurants have been delicious and the golf courses are in stelae condition and the staff around the golf experience are all on topp of their game.
The manor house residential is a lovely experience and we will absolutely be back as soon as possible.

Room Tip: The manor house accommodation leave you with nothing else to wish for
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank saltis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

BreathtakingI This would not be too extravagant in describing the level of comfort and service provided by Roxanne and her team at The Manor House in Fancourt. The attention to every detail of our comfort was ………breathtaking. The Manor House luxury suite we stayed in was really cool, it had everything! including Butler service. Afternoon and high tea added a certain colonial je ne c'est quoi, the ambiance around the beautiful rooms tranquil, and, of course, the ever present staff who attend to your every whim, amazing. Way to go Roxanne! You guys get my vote every time!!!

Room Tip: Go for the Luxury suite at the Manor House if you can rise to it……awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louiso581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Manor House a, Manager at The Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Dear Louiso581,

Thank you for your fantastic review!

We are elated that you enjoyed every minute of your time with us. We strive for this exact level of service excellence and it is a joy to read and share your review with my colleagues.

It is wonderful for us, as a team, to receive recognition for the personalised service that we offer and for our enthusiasm to accommodate our guests.

The Manor House at Fancourt is truly a remarkably special place and we take personal pride in the service we provide to our guests.

We sincerely look forward to welcoming you "home" to The Manor Hosue in the very near future!

Warmest regards,

Roxanne Marais
The Manor House Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I stayed for 2 nights in a suite at the manor house at Fancourt.
From the moment we arrived we were so well looked after, nothing is too much trouble for the staff here. Roxanne was particularly polite & helpful :-)
The surroundings are incredible, set beneath the Outeniqua mountains, its simply breathtaking to look at. We took a bike to ride arounds the grounds, I would highly recommend doing this, it was a great way to view the property.
There are 3 golf courses, one of which is a Links championship course, so great for all standards.
And for the golf widows out there, there is a fabulous spa! I had a full body massage which was pure heaven.
Food wise, we ate at Henry Whites and I had delicoous springbok there - cooked to perfection. La Cantina is the italian restaurant, I ahd a fillet steak which was melt-in-the-mouth amazing!
The wine on offer was also incredible.
Breakfast each morning was on the patio or in the library area, with a delicious selection of pastries, cold meats, fruit & muesli, plus a menu to choose hot breakfasts from as well. We were truly spoilt...

The property is ina good location to get out and about, we made a trip to the cango Caves, the Knysna Elephant Park & an Ostrich Farm, plus a drive to Oudtshoorn for the Karusa Vineyard.
We also did Plettenberg Bay for whale watching - what a fab trip this was! We were lucky enough to spot a few whales, lots of seals and threeAfrican penguins.

I would highly recommend this property, I was totally blown away - plus I work in the travel industry so I am hard to please.
I can't wait to return here.

Room Tip: All the suites here are excellent, but maybe ask for one away from the pool area as sometimes the bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lolasunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Manor House a, Manager at The Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Dear lolasunshine,

Thank you for your wonderful review of Fancourt.

We are incredibly proud of our offering and service at The Manor House at Fancourt , and your review has really captured the essence of what makes The Manor House and Fancourt such a truly special place, thank you!

As you mention, we are well positioned in the Garden Route for sight-seeing, outdoor activities, scenic drives, mountain biking and of course golf.

Taking care of you during your time with us was only our pleasure and we sincerely look forward to welcoming you back "home" to The Manor House and Fancourt in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Roxanne Marais
The Manor House Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

The experience at the Manor House was a completely enjoyable experience from the time we pulled up to the front door until we said our reluctant goodbye a few days later.

The two restaurants were excellent and having 24 hour butler service made us feel very important.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GPnbr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Manor House a, Manager at The Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Dear GPnbr1,

Thank you for your lovely review, as always it is a delight to receive such excellent feedback!

After reading this we are all feeling incredibly proud of The Manor House and the work that we passionately carry out to exceed our guests’ expectations on every occasion.

We truly look forward to welcoming you back to Fancourt in the not too distant future.

Warmest regards,

Roxanne Marais
The Manor House Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Stunning location and just outstanding service from staff who are friendly, smile, engage and are always there to help you.

I explained to a member of staff how much my wife would like it, and the staff member responded with "then we must give you something to take back to your wife as a memento of your trip." I thought no more of it, but that night in my room was a bag full of "bathroom treats" - soaps, bath bombs, salts etc.

It was just all a "wow"!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roncoroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Manor House a, Manager at The Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Dear Mr. Roncoroni,

Thank you for your wonderful review of The Manor House at Fancourt. We pride ourselves on our service excellence and it is wonderful recognition for us to be acknowledged for being so welcoming to our guests.

We hope you returned safely home to your Mrs. Roncoroni and we sincerely look forward to hosting you both at The Manor House in the not too distant future!

Warmest regards,
Roxanne Marais
The Manor House Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George
0 mi away
Fancourt
Fancourt
#1 of 9 in George
505 reviews
6.6 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
10 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott King George
3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
21.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor House

Address: Montagu Street | Blanco, George 6530, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in George
Price Range: £387 - £553 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Manor House 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manor House boutique hotel is the crown of the Fancourt estate. As a National Monument, the Manor House presents a meticulous remodelling of its historical counterpart, the Blanco House, while encompassing the distinctive air of a world-class, 21st century destination. Exquisitely furnished and decorated with sensual metallic finishes, the Manor House offers accommodation of uncompromising quality. Fusing old-world with new-world style, its design combines modern sophistication with its original wooden finishes. Its luxury amenities include the stately Monty Bar, the Manor House Library, a private swimming pool, and the Manor House Lounge which provides an elegant setting for afternoon teas. The Manor House also incorporates eco-friendly design features, providing a refreshing outlook on contemporary travel. Due to the intimate, bespoke experience offered at the Manor House, guests must be 16 years of age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your The Manor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing