We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A peaceful oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Die Waenhuis Guest House
Ranked #21 of 65 George B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 February 2014

This 6 night stay was our latest in a series of 7 visits while in the Western Cape. We always ensure that 'The Wagon House' is always included in our South African itinerary. It is an ideal base to visit the local beaches as well as Wilderness, Sedgefield, Knysna, Oudtshoorn, Mossel Bay and the local golf courses. One can also safely walk to some excellent restaurants. Madeleine and Johan Smuts are as wonderful hosts as you would ever wish to find. There are 7 large Cape Dutch bedrooms as well as 4 modern bedrooms around a small conference room. The breakfasts are top notch, particularly Madeleine's freshly home-baked bread and her fruit platter ( the most fruits we've ever seen on one platter? Nothing is too much trouble! The gardens are lovely and tranquil. We can't wait until our next return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cliveperrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

It was our second stay at Die Waenhuis and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The rooms are spacious and clean. The hosts are friendly and the breakfast is delicious.

The location is also great, since you are within walking distance of our favourite restaurants in George.

We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We have stayed in the "Perdekar" room both times and were very happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VonnieFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Waenhuis on Wed 15 May 2013 and was pleasantly surprised by my massive room with a beautiful on suite bathroom, welcomed by the friendly hosts and had a wonderful breakfast. It reminded of a B&B in the Lake District, UK. Wonderful visit just wish I could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ADBarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013 via mobile

I only booked here when I discovered Acorn was fully booked. On arrival we were immediately impressed by the location, which was within walking distance of our favourite restaurants. We were cordially welcomed into a most beautiful old house which retained all of its charm. Our room on the ground floor was massive. The room had an area for the bed and another for seating, with a small table and sofas. There was both a bath and a shower in a well appointed bathroom.
Breakfast was served in the house as the weather was inclement, but it may have been possible to eat outside in better weather. The range of food was excellent and the hot home made bread was so tasty, we will remember it for a long time. Johan and his wife were perfect hosts and went out of the way to ensure our stay really pleasurable. It really was great to find a second excellent guesthouse in George

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aceputter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank psykids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank anne-jaap S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: das obere zimmer ist ruhiger und sehr schön ausgestattet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 519katrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George hotels
5.5 mi away
Surfari
Surfari
#1 of 3 in Victoria Bay
71 reviews
7.1 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
7.3 mi away
Over the Mountain Guest Farm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Fancourt
Fancourt
#1 of 9 in George
534 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel George Outeniqua
6 mi away
Carmel Guest Farm
Carmel Guest Farm
#13 of 33 in George
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Die Waenhuis Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Die Waenhuis Guest House

Address: 11 Caledon Street | Camphersdrift, George 6529, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in George
Price Range: £57 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Die Waenhuis Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Die Waenhuis Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing