We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World apart from the neighbouring 'Manor' - shame”
Review of La Cantina

La Cantina
Ranked #10 of 116 Restaurants in George
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$18
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: La Cantina provides the perfect setting for relaxed family dining. With its traditional Italian menu, La Cantina treats guests to an authentic Mediterranean culinary experience ranging from homemade pastas to succulent steaks. The warm, inviting atmosphere is not limited to the evening meal - La Cantina serves a buffet breakfast daily and a Sunday buffet lunch.
Reviewed 30 March 2014

As an overnight guest that had eaten in the excellent Manor restaurant next door ( same fancourt complex) I was looking forward to the same or similar quality of food. What a disappointment. I couldn't manage to finish the coffee and the breakfast spread had the feel of a very average buffet. The staff were friendly and net connection good - this was the poorest breakfast after a week of travel around the Cape.

Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa T, Client Relations Officer at La Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience of La Cantina.

We are sorry to hear that we didn’t meet your expectations at breakfast. As a Leading Hotel of the World we value your feedback as it allows us the opportunity to improve and develop on areas of concern.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon so we can show you the improvements we have made in response to your review.

Sincerely,

Lisa Townend
Client Relations Officer at Fancourt South Africa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

106 - 110 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2014

What a great dinner we had here. Husband had one of the best pizzas ever and my pasta dish was perfect. Fabulous wine too. Great Staff!

Thank caro7619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa T, Client Relations Officer at La Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Thank you for your delightful review of La Cantina.

We couldn’t be more thrilled that you enjoyed your evening with us. Without sounding biased, we really do have the best pizza in George and authentically Italian cuisine from our Italian Chef de Cuisine, Vito Fanizza.

We look forward to welcoming you back to La Cantina soon!

Warmest regards,

Lisa Townend
Client Relations Officer at Fancourt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Out party of four all appreciated the good food. We enjoyed a pizza; lasagne, a veal dish and a roasted baby chicken. Our waitress was attentive but a more cheerful approach would have been appreciated. The menu was of a reasonable size with a fairly good selection on offer. Italian food was understandably dominant but for a patron wanting something else, there were also other dishes on offer.
We were however very disappointed in how the management approached pricing, both the chicken and the veal dishes were, in addition to being quite costly, served without any accompaniments. If you wanted a few vegetables or perhaps a potato option, these were available but at a cost of approximately R25 each. This unusual manner of paying for the add-ons (which are normally included in a meal) is not common practice in South Africa and this, we felt, was merely a ruse to either camouflage the high prices or force us into a few overpriced add ons. This spoiled an otherwise good evening.

Thank omegacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa T, Client Relations Officer at La Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience of La Cantina. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.

The new concept within our La Cantina menu has been adopted from top restaurants, which we have found to attract more acclaim countrywide and is also quite welcomed with our regular clientele.

At Fancourt, we take great care in sourcing only the finest ingredients with a preference for local produce. Our beef is organic and the chicken that we serve is free-roaming and grain fed without antibiotics or growth hormones. We have costed our menus as competitively as possible given our premium quality ingredients.

We look forward to welcoming you back to La Cantina soon!

Warmest regards,

Lisa Townend
Fancourt Client Relations Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

staff were great and the pastas were excellent.pity we could not order take aways during peak time in the evenings

Thank maryamahmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa T, Client Relations Officer at La Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience of La Cantina.

Due to the popularity of La Cantina we unfortunately only offer take aways from 6 to 6:30pm. This allows us to concentrate on our service to the patrons, who are dining in the restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmest regards,

Lisa Townend
Fancourt Client Relations Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Loved the pasta and finger licking pizza! Service was great. Fabulous breakfasts too with wide selection.

Thank Ziy_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa T, Client Relations Officer at La Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review of La Cantina.

Without being biased, I can honestly say we have the best pizzas in George!

We also serve our hotel breakfast in La Cantina with a full continental buffet and ala carte menu, breakfast is also open to those not staying at Fancourt with us. Breakfast is served from 06:30 to 10:30 daily.

We look forward to serving you in La Cantina again soon.

Warmest regards,

Lisa Townend
Fancourt Client Relations Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Cantina also viewed

George, Western Cape
George, Western Cape
 

Been to La Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing