We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pizza and authentic food”
Review of La Cantina

La Cantina
Ranked #14 of 109 Restaurants in George
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$17
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Enjoy relaxed family dining with a taste of the Mediterranean at La Cantina. The traditional Italian menu includes a variety of meals, ranging from pasta dishes to succulent steak. But the warm, inviting atmosphere is not limited to the evening meal - La Cantina serves a buffet breakfast daily and a Sunday buffet lunch.
George, South Africa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Pizza and authentic food”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This is the restaurant where breakfast is included if you are staying at the hotel. It is lovely with outdoor seating and a good local wine list.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 252pennyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheslynK, Guest Relations Officer at La Cantina, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you very much for an amazing review of our restaurant La Cantina. We do value the time you took to share your experience with us.

Absolutely we serve breakfast in La Cantina with a hot and cold buffet and an a la carte menu, and in the evening La Cantina transforms to an elegant Italian restaurant serving traditional Italian fare like pizzas and pastas, seafood and grills.

We look forward to seeing you soon for more memorable memories.

Warmest regards,

Cheslyn-Kyle Kock
Guest Relations Officer at Fancourt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    39
    13
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Straight forward Italian, lovely ambience”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Great pizza and had an excellent sirloin last night. Pretty reasonable for a five star resort 100-150 rand per main course and can get a decent bottle of red wine for about 150 rand. Friendly service. Quite kid friendly but the layout allows for a quiet meal too.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Noashcloudplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheslynK, Guest Relations Officer at La Cantina, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you for a great review of La Cantina.

We are really glad that you had a wonderful experience and that you enjoyed your evening with us. We value you for taking the time to compliment our wine selection as well as our food offering.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to La Cantina as well as Fancourt again.

Warmest regards,

Cheslyn-Kyle Kock
Guest Relations Officer at Fancourt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“GOOD FOOD - SHOCKING TREATMENT”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We had dinner at La Cantina during our stay at the amazing Fancourt golf estate - what a disappointment was the treatment that we have received from the manager called Solly. I have made the booking in person early on Saturday morning at the restaurant. The friendly waitress offered me a table - which I booked. The table was not booked and definitely still available at that stage. When our party of 6 arrived for dinner we were told that the table is no longer available for us because one of there regular guests prefers that specific table and they just gave it to him! I approached Solly - he just simply told me " that's not the way we do things here". He promised to get back to me to explain why they handled the matter so poorly. Needless to say he never did. He claimed that he is a sommelier but had no knowledge of botrytis desert wine when we tried to order a bottle with our desert! Sadly our evening was spoiled.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa T, Client Relations Officer at Fancourt at La Cantina, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience of La Cantina.

We are so disappointed to hear that we didn’t meet your expectations. I have shared your experience with our Food and Beverage Management for further review and investigation. We truly appreciate you sharing your experience as it is only through constructive and honest feedback that we can improve and enhance our guest experience.

It is our hope that we have the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Lisa Townend
Client Relations Officer at Fancourt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
198 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Good Arrabbiata and margherita”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

we were four couples staying there in fan court. It was place for our breakfast also. we took dinner their and were very happy with our decision. The chef took care of our orders very well ( it is always good to meet chef if you are vegetarian and also not taking mushroom etc) he made us very good arrabbiata on his own suggestion. Margherita was really very well made. I am sure if you ask for his choice and suggestions it going to come best and that is what we did. Also it was quite reasonable for 8 people we paid almost use 6 each.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sanjaykala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa T, Client Relations Officer at La Cantina, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for your very complimentary review of La Cantina.

We have a strong team of very passionate chefs in La Cantina and I am sure that they were thrilled with the opportunity to recommend dishes to you.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warmest regards,

Lisa Townend
Client Relations Officer at Fancourt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great service & lovely food”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

We ate here as a family of four (two young boys aged 5yrs & 2.5yrs) and really enjoyed our evening. The staff were very attentive and pleasant. The menu was extensive & had a good variety. We ordered pizza for our young boys & they loved it plus it came out quickly. My husband and I ordered the calamari to share & were impressed they brought it out on two plates for us. We both ordered the saffron risotto with prawns and it was delicious. After our dinner we paid a visit to Lucky & Bobo in the pizza kitchen as they had bar stools there to watch, they were incredible with the boys & explained what they were doing, and when they had time, gave them some pizza dough to roll & made their own Calzonne. It was the highlight of our boys day & really made them smile! They were great with kids & so kind & patient! We loved our evening there and would recommend it for sure.

Helpful?
1 Thank ukmorrows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa T, Client Relations Officer at La Cantina, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review of La Cantina.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and especially as it concerns your children, who seem to have had a very memorable evening in La Cantina. La Cantina has a lovely family atmosphere and yet also caters for couples as we have various sections to the restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warmest regards,

Lisa Townend
Client Relations Officer at Fancourt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Cantina also viewed

George, Western Cape
 
George, Western Cape
George, Western Cape
 
George, Western Cape
 

Been to La Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing