We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful start to the Garden Route”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Malvern Manor Country Guest House
Ranked #8 of 59 George B&B and Inns
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderful start to the Garden Route”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We did not want to leave after our 2 night stay! A fantastic setting and welcome from Sandra and Mike and the amusing dogs. Room spacious, linen crisp and the breakfasts wonderful- so much fresh produce and cooked to order. We wished we had spent longer relaxing in the garden enjoying the views (and the garden was beautiful) but we, as usual, dashed around exploring the area. Would recommend going over the mountains to visit the karoo/Oudsthorn, although perhaps not the return through the Montague Pass unless you are in a 4x4! We thoroughly recommend the location, service and friendliness of Malvern.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor suite below the lounge- a 'queen' or superior I think; it opened out o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 780jenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michaelmrm, Owner at Malvern Manor Country Guest House, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
We are also sorry that you could only spend a couple of nights here. As you so rightly point out there is so much to see and do in the area, that you sometimes forget to just relax and remember that you are on holiday. We look forward to seeing you again when you can just take a little more time to sit in the garden and take in the views, and your only worry is where to go for dinner, and let us spoil you. Wishing you a Happy and Prosperous New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    25
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
71
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Krefeld
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

While George is a good starting point for a variety of activities in the surroundings, the town itself is not necessarily very charming. We, therefore, chose Malvern Manor for our three-day stay, which is located about a ten-minute drive from George in a rural setting. The guesthouse is located on a large plot and a tree-lined driveway leads up to the house. Two well-behaved border collies greet you in the garden and will happily take the opportunity to play with you.

The place has overall a English-type atmosphere with the decor of the rooms and the lounge. Our hosts, Sandra and Michael, were very friendly and supportive. They made us feel highly welcome, even preparing and serving our breakfast in person. Breakfast was served in an enclosed porch, the home-made bread being a special highlight.
Overall, if you don't mind the little drive to get there, certainly highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michaelmrm, Owner at Malvern Manor Country Guest House, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
What a lovely review to receive from you this morning, which is very informative. Loved the photo of the breakfast room. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, we certainly enjoyed your company, and we all look forward to welcoming you again, Dante and Jess will save a ball for you to play with them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

We booked when only an hour away from George but a very happy choice : so friendly, efficient, lovely room, location and fabulous breakfast. W shall highly recommend and hope to stay there again before too long. Helen G

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank HMG132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michaelmrm, Owner at Malvern Manor Country Guest House, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Thank you for your review at such a busy time of the year, we really appreciate it and hope that you had a wonderful Xmas and we all wish you a Prosperous and healthy new year. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit. Sandra and Michael.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Paul and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Malvern Manor Country Guest House. We were greeted by our host Sandra and offered tea in the drawing room, which after a long day of touring was truly welcome.
Breakfast was delicious, and served in a lovely large morning room overlooking the farm.
We had chosen the location because of the proximity to George Airport, had we know it was going to be such a lovely place to stay, we probably would have added a night or two.
I recommend this property highly.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We went to the Garden Route for our honeymoon, and George was our first stop. We stayed at Malvern Manor for two nights. Everything was wonderful - the room, the breakfast, the location... and Sandra and Michael make you feel very special and welcome. I would recommend Malvern Manor to anyone travelling to George.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LieslR88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michaelmrm, Owner at Malvern Manor Country Guest House, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, we understand how stressful it can be preparing for your wedding, and that you need to relax and rest afterwards. Thank you so much for taking the time write a review, we really appreciate it, and hope that we can welcome you again should you return to George. Wishing you all the best for your future married life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

my parents stayed here recently- they don't have a tripadvisor account so are borrowing mine!

''A thoroughly enjoyable 2 nights and days with impeccable attention to detail in our room e.g.
UK adaptor, welcoming port, 2 wonderful guard dogs (not that they were needed) who escorted us to breakfast each day. The pool was perfect and once again, the dogs great fun. We particularly appreciated the services of a very distinguished chauffeur, who not only chose and arranged our dinner venues but delivered and collected us....perfect! Fan Court, one of the dinner venues was special, so special we returned there for lunch and ate overlooking the 1st hole. Sandra and Michael....thank you so much for helping to make our trip to S.A. so good
We would certainly return to Malvern Manor. Can recomend the Haddock and Poached Egg.......Lin and Peter Munday

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michaelmrm, Owner at Malvern Manor Country Guest House, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
What a fabulous review, thank you for allowing your parents to Hi-jack your T.A. account. So glad they enjoyed their stay here and appreciate our lovely location. It was good enough to draw us here from the U.K. and still enjoying it after 10 years. Looking forward to welcoming Peter and Lin again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

Stayed at Malvern manor in April last year for four nights. it was very quite with very colourful gardens, we used to sit and look at the lovey views with afternoon tea and cake perfect. Breakfast was very nice. Sandra and Michael when above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable.Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: All very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Runninglady97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George hotels
3.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
0.9 mi away
Fancourt
Fancourt
#1 of 9 in George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
3.9 mi away
Oakhurst Hotel
Oakhurst Hotel
#7 of 9 in George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
3.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott King George
5.7 mi away
Edenwood Guest House
Edenwood Guest House
#1 of 59 in George
5.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malvern Manor Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malvern Manor Country Guest House

Property: Malvern Manor Country Guest House
Address: Boshoff Street | De Zoete Inval Farm Estate, Blanco, George 6529, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malvern Manor Country Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive 4 star, luxury guest house in Cape Dutch style, on a country estate, and dairy farm, Beautiful mature gardens with a solar heated swimming pool, abundant birdlife in a tranquil, quiet location. Breakfast cooked to order, using fresh local ingredients where available. Well appointed, individually decorated, en-suite rooms, personalised individual service with attention to detail. Internet access, t.v. Sky. Close to Fancourt golfing estate, plus 3 other Championship GOLF courses, beaches and local airport. Surrounded by stunning mountain views and country walks. Romantic getaway, leisure or business. Non smoking. Peaceful, private, secure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Malvern Manor Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing