We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning location”
other travellers have booked this property
Moyalwandle: Spirit of The Ocean, Ballots Heights
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Moyalwandle: Spirit of The Ocean, Ballots Heights
Swimming pool on the deck surrounded by natural fynbos vegetation More distant view of the house. Nearest neighbour about 300m
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Moyalwandle: Spirit of The Ocean, Ballots Heights
Swimming pool on the deck surrounded by natural fynbos vegetation
More distant view of the house. Nearest neighbour about 300m
View from the ocean facing deck
Parking bay for two cars right next to the house
Pool deck with view of ocean in background
Beautiful coastline taken from the deck by W. Hyams
Entrance to the house. You can see through to the ocean facing windows on the other side.
Lounge, dining room area and stairs
Suspended shelves designed by architect Rupert Auerbach. Balances the steps beautifully.
Kitchen and dining area
Kitchen area with window opening through to deck
Lounge area with access to ocean deck
Wood burning fireplace.
looking through lounge, dining and kitchen area to pool on deck
Beautiful stain glass windows enhance both downstairs bedrooms.
Relax and chill.
One of downstairs bedrooms showing ocean view and shower with ocean view
Upstairs bedroom. Amazing ocean views
Same bedroom with ocean view, different angle!
Bunkbeds upstairs. Perfect for children.
Proteas growing on the reserve. Unique to fynbos vegetation opf the Western Cape
Ballots Bay, part of the nature reserve.
The Indian Ocean, below the deck of Moyalwandle.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
George, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
KimVM
Hoedspruit
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Stunning location”
Reviewed 6 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for 4 nights with our family and it was amazing. The view, the house, the location, the reserve. I love the sea and I could not have wished for a better place. In the morning we opened up our folding doors of the room and enjoyed the cool breeze. We saw dolphins on several occasions, watched the birds, the sunrise and the sunset.

The house is well equipped and the owners very friendly. We visited Oudshoorn, the beach, did the King fisher trail and relaxed at the little splash pool. I definitely want to come back!!!

The road towards the house is an adventure, steep and sharp corners, but once you know the road it is not difficult. We drove to small Chevrolets sparks and managed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the house
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy H
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views amongst idyllic natural coastline”
Reviewed 12 March 2014 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We spent, sadly, only a few days at this very spectacular place. It was the perfect place to unwind with the most amazing views over the sea where we were able to watch the whales leaping out of the water, and the cormorants nesting in the cliffs. It was clean and well equipped, and the private swimming pool was an added bonus where we sat watching the birds and butterflies amongst the vegetation... It was incredible waking up to the spectacular sunrises, with the vast expanse of sea and sky next to us. A great place to chill out!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casey D
Pohang, South Korea
2 reviews
“A place taking the mind on a wander and unwinding the body.”
Reviewed 12 March 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Upon arrival we were met with the most breath-taking and encompassing ocean view, which is in one word, commanding! This view continued to change throughout our stay, captivating us every moment.
In such a paradise, surrounded by the blue ocean, birds and plants, our minds' only option was to wander into dreams and contemplation. What relaxation!
The house itself is a comfortable, natural-looking house with warm wood elements and a wonderful flow of space inside and out with beautiful full glass windows and a lovely opening out from the kitchen.
It was a space in which we could comfortably relax and make our own.
Definitely worth a second stay when we feel the need to unwind again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elinor A
Pohang, South Korea
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning views, peaceful, beautiful place and location”
Reviewed 11 March 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Swimming pool, comfy beds and couches, good kitchen and laundry facilities. Perfect for a getaway from the rush of city life. Absolutely breath taking views where you can watch both the sunrise and sunset. Perched right on the hilltop overlooking a wide expanse of sea and coastline. Really felt rested after this holiday - so quiet. Some great walks in the natural fynbos and a close drive to Victoria Bay.
Important note: should do shopping for food/groceries before hand because there are no shops in walking distance (about a 10 minute drive)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The seclusion and natural splendour
Liked least: No wifi
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guentensp...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016
Google Translation

Travelling group: Freunden
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2016
Thanks for your review. It was lovely to have you stay. Thanks for looking after Spirit of The Ocean so well. As mentioned in the information on the house, combi vans or trailers don't do so well on the road. An ordinary car manages happily and four wheel drive is not necessary.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veronik_Q...
Quebec City, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Le cachet exceptionnel
Travelling group: En famille avec adolescent(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeVriesNL
Buren, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015
Google Translation

Travelling group: Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing