We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service,Friendly Staff,Awesome Breakfast”
Review of Acorn Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Acorn Guest House
Ranked #5 of 59 George B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Service,Friendly Staff,Awesome Breakfast”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed over on Saturday,8th June 2014 at the Acorn Guest House.We have a 15 month old Son,and the manageress went out of her way to sort out a cot.Lovely,clean,spacious room.

Breakfast in the morning was excellent with both a buffet and a hot breakfast that was prepared to our liking.

Very help manageress who guided us around George and to get our son some supplies.

Venue was easy to find and well located to visit Oudshoorn and the beautiful garden route.

We will definately be back at the Acorn Guest House to explore more of George and the Garden Route.

Well done on excellent service.

Sachin,Devashnee and Kevin Gramoney

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagicGeorge01, General Manager at Acorn Guest House, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Hello Sachin,Devashnee and Kevin Gramoney

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and would be happy to welcome you back. George is truly a wonderful place to travel from, in the center. We are all very passionate about the area and would gladly assist in any bookings, daily planning and recommendations. We value your feedback and hope to see you soon!

Warm regards
Theresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    45
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
33
10
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durbanville, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The staff reacted quickly and efficiently when we required a room on a very short notice. Their recommendations on local restaurants were spot on. The general ambiance of the guesthouse and rooms are great and we immediately felt at home. The breakfast was of a high standard and we really enjoyed the homemade stewed fruit salad. Acorn Guesthouse has changed my mind about staying inland. Well done, I will recommend you anytime.

Room Tip: Ask the hostess to make a recommendation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DFBruwer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagicGeorge01, General Manager at Acorn Guest House, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Good day DFBruwer,

Wow thank you for the great detailed review, we appreciate you taking the time to rate us.
Always happy to assist our guests in recommendations & daily planning. Love the fact that we have changed your mind on inland accommodation, there are so many great places out there!

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Theresa & the rest of the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed at Acorn for two nights in February and even before arriving, the staff were absolutely amazing in terms of assistance and preparation for our trip. We had a unique request that involved a great deal of coordination with others and the Acorn staff went above and beyond in helping us. The warmth we felt from the moment we arrived was extraordinary and we were given so much information for wonderful things to do in and around George. We would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagicGeorge01, General Manager at Acorn Guest House, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Hello Sandy,

Many thanks for the beautiful review, we are so happy we could be of assistance to you. Can't believe its been 6 months since your visit, we still talk about the heartwarming request. We hope you had a wonderful year thus far and that you are planning a trip to SA very soon. Please come and say hi!

Warm regards
Theresa and the rest of the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
München
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

Very friendly and helpful staff, cosy interior, yummy breakfast and quiet, lovely rooms with free WiFi and a little kitchenette.
Pool and onsite parking, conveniently situated, walking distance to great restaurants.
Definitly can recommend the Acorn to all travelers along the Garden Route.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MMMA1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcornGuestHouse, General Manager at Acorn Guest House, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Hello Guests from München,

Wow thank you for the review, we appreciate the 5 out of 5 rating! We would very much like to put a face behind the review. Please email us your details so we could thank you properly.

Thank you again.
Theresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I loved my overnight stay. The staff were amazing. Very friendly and efficient. They assisted me with a very short notice booking. The rooms were clean and comfortable. It's well situated and close to some really nice restaurants. I will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ray E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther H, General Manager at Acorn Guest House, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Good Morning from a lovely, coldish George, thank you so very much for taking the time to write this awesome review, your feedback is highly appreciated. We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Have a wonderful day & keep warm this Winter.

Theresa & the rest of the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We traveled to George in January 2014 on a business trip and what a friendly, clean, warm place to stay at Acorn Guest House. We arrived a little late so the guesthouse was closed already but with one telephone call they assisted us on a very friendly manner and really gave us quality for our money. The rooms is modern and very clean, every thing that you need and more is in the rooms, they also welcome you with Sherry or Port i think (not a drinker) in the rooms and this gave a warm feeling to the stay. The location of the guesthouse is nice and central and walking distance from the shops and restaurants. The staff at Acorn Guesthouse is soooooo friendly and really goes out of their way to make your stay not just at Acorn Guesthouse very pleasant but to enjoy the whole Garden route scenery. Thanks for a wonderful time at your lovely place we sure would be back at Acorn on our next trip to George.Thanks for your love and friendliness towards us as guest.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Natasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagicGeorge01, Guest Relations Manager at Acorn Guest House, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Hello Natasha. We want to personally thank you for taking the time to write this nice review.. we hope to welcome you back very soon! :-) Thank you very much for the compliments we appreciate feedback from each & every guest. Have a wonderful week. Kindest regards, Sheree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austria
1 review
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Very nice place. Lovely people and excellent breakfast.
Got there late and had a great welcome. Will stay there again on our next trip to S.A.
The bed was very comfortable and we got a very good recommandation for dinner. THANK you.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michaela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George hotels
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
6.9 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
0.2 mi away
Oakhurst Hotel
Oakhurst Hotel
#8 of 9 in George
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
ArendsRus Country Lodge
ArendsRus Country Lodge
#3 of 59 in George
54 reviews
1.7 mi away
Edenwood Guest House
Edenwood Guest House
#1 of 59 in George
214 reviews
0.1 mi away
17 on Wellington Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acorn Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorn Guest House

Property: Acorn Guest House
Address: 4 Kerk Street | Bo dorp, George 6529, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Acorn Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
True South African hospitality in the heart of George and the Garden Route! The Superior rooms offer king/Twin size beds, air-conditioners, some with spa-baths and showers or combination bath & showers, heated bathroom floors/ towel rails and private entrances overlooking the pool. Whether you are a golfer, business or holiday traveler, we will tempt you to return! Our rates include full Continental & English breakfast. Other services - laundry, transfers and we assist with golf bookings and other reservations. Free wireless internet. Credit cards. TGCSA 4-star. Children welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Acorn Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing