We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and inviting”
Review of Acorn Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Acorn Guest House
Ranked #4 of 59 George B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Warm and inviting”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I would recommend this guest house for anyone wanting a convenient place to stay in George. Situated close to shops and restaurants this is perfect for someone staying on their own.
I asked beforehand for certain amenities and they were great at providing these.
The staff is very friendly and helpful.
The best for me were the delicious breakfasts which had attention to detail. I like the fact that there were various options.
The only negative is I would ask for a room not too close to the entrance or dining room as this can be noisy if you are not an early riser.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagicGeorge01, General Manager at Acorn Guest House, responded to this review, 29 October 2014
Dear Edith,

We finally took some time to read through all our guests reviews & would like to thank you for taking time out of your schedule to rate our service. We value your feedback & will try our very best to offer you one of our outside Superior rooms on your next visit.
We are very blessed to have a high volume of returning guests that we are mostly fully booked especially the outside rooms.

Thank you again for your kind words and rating.

Have a wonderful day, we hope to see you back soon.

Warm regards
Theresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    42
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
30
10
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Brilliant, exceptional, superb hospitality and facilities! The owners and the staff were warm, friendly, attentive and more than willing to go out of their way to make our stay an immensely comfortable and pleasant experience!

The location is central and convenient with easy access to highways, restaurants, shops and malls. The warm and personalized welcome immediately made us feel at home and relaxed after our long drive from Cape Town.

The check-in process was extremely efficient. We stayed there for 2 nights in April in the self-catering unit. This was perfect in every way. At checking in the staff gave us an excellent orientation of our unit and also informed us about things to do in and around George. The staff is extremely knowledgeable about George and its surroundings and proved to be excellent guides.
The units are big, nicely furnished and immaculately clean. The breakfast spread was fantastic. The long breakfast hours suited us late risers perfectly :) as we were still served with warm and delicious breakfast every morning. The breakfast spread was extensive and delightful.

All in all we had an amazing stay and wonderful experience at the Acron Guest house. It's an absolute value for money. We are definitely going to return here whenever we are in George next. When looking for accommodation in George, look no further.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DipayanSen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I stay at Acorn Guest House at least 6 times / year on business and occasionally with my family on these trips. Fantastic staff, impeccable service and just that great feeling of being with "family" away from your own family. I will never stay anywhere else in George and can highly recommend this guest house for business stay-overs and for visits with family. I have also presented some training and used their sister guest house, 17 on Wellington, Suite Hotel for this purpose. Wow!! What a pleasure!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madeleine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2014

the suite i was booked in was great. the ladies who looked after me on my one niter were super helpful in ensuring my comfort. nothing was a problem. warm plates for my breakfast was a great change. one bad thing was the water in the JET bath was a real waste of time as it trickled out. it would of been great to have a hot bubble bath during a very cold spell. I will most certainly stay in the suite again . thank you to all

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Beverley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagicGeorge01, General Manager at Acorn Guest House, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Hello Beverley ,

I want to thank you for all your positive feedback and comments it brings warmth to our hearts!
Apologies about the Jet/spa bath, in order for it to work properly you have to give the water time to run through the pipes (as per the instructions in the room), next time you visit we will make sure to offer you a hot bubble bath.

Thank you again, we look forward to welcome you back.

Theresa & the rest of the Acorn team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed over on Saturday,8th June 2014 at the Acorn Guest House.We have a 15 month old Son,and the manageress went out of her way to sort out a cot.Lovely,clean,spacious room.

Breakfast in the morning was excellent with both a buffet and a hot breakfast that was prepared to our liking.

Very help manageress who guided us around George and to get our son some supplies.

Venue was easy to find and well located to visit Oudshoorn and the beautiful garden route.

We will definately be back at the Acorn Guest House to explore more of George and the Garden Route.

Well done on excellent service.

Sachin,Devashnee and Kevin Gramoney

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagicGeorge01, General Manager at Acorn Guest House, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Hello Sachin,Devashnee and Kevin Gramoney

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and would be happy to welcome you back. George is truly a wonderful place to travel from, in the center. We are all very passionate about the area and would gladly assist in any bookings, daily planning and recommendations. We value your feedback and hope to see you soon!

Warm regards
Theresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durbanville, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The staff reacted quickly and efficiently when we required a room on a very short notice. Their recommendations on local restaurants were spot on. The general ambiance of the guesthouse and rooms are great and we immediately felt at home. The breakfast was of a high standard and we really enjoyed the homemade stewed fruit salad. Acorn Guesthouse has changed my mind about staying inland. Well done, I will recommend you anytime.

Room Tip: Ask the hostess to make a recommendation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DFBruwer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagicGeorge01, General Manager at Acorn Guest House, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Good day DFBruwer,

Wow thank you for the great detailed review, we appreciate you taking the time to rate us.
Always happy to assist our guests in recommendations & daily planning. Love the fact that we have changed your mind on inland accommodation, there are so many great places out there!

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Theresa & the rest of the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed at Acorn for two nights in February and even before arriving, the staff were absolutely amazing in terms of assistance and preparation for our trip. We had a unique request that involved a great deal of coordination with others and the Acorn staff went above and beyond in helping us. The warmth we felt from the moment we arrived was extraordinary and we were given so much information for wonderful things to do in and around George. We would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagicGeorge01, General Manager at Acorn Guest House, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Hello Sandy,

Many thanks for the beautiful review, we are so happy we could be of assistance to you. Can't believe its been 6 months since your visit, we still talk about the heartwarming request. We hope you had a wonderful year thus far and that you are planning a trip to SA very soon. Please come and say hi!

Warm regards
Theresa and the rest of the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George hotels
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
0.2 mi away
Oakhurst Hotel
Oakhurst Hotel
#7 of 9 in George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott King George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Town Lodge George
Town Lodge George
#6 of 9 in George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
1.2 mi away
ArendsRus Country Lodge
ArendsRus Country Lodge
#3 of 59 in George
5.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
1.7 mi away
Edenwood Guest House
Edenwood Guest House
#1 of 59 in George
5.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acorn Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorn Guest House

Property: Acorn Guest House
Address: 4 Kerk Street | Bo dorp, George 6529, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Acorn Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
True South African hospitality in the heart of George and the Garden Route! The Superior rooms offer king/Twin size beds, air-conditioners, some with spa-baths and showers or combination bath & showers, heated bathroom floors/ towel rails and private entrances overlooking the pool. Whether you are a golfer, business or holiday traveler, we will tempt you to return! Our rates include full Continental & English breakfast. Other services - laundry, transfers and we assist with golf bookings and other reservations. Free wireless internet. Credit cards. TGCSA 4-star. Children welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Acorn Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing