We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fin-tastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harbour House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Stayed two nights, 13th and 14th of November 2011. All the staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are big and comfortable with flat screen TV, sofa, queen sized bed, small kitchenette, deep bath, toilet and shower. The rooms are stylish and very comfortable. Tip get a room with view and you can watch the whales from your own balcony so take your binoculars.
Whale season is August-September-October and November but they are starting to leave the bay now.

Room Tip: A room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harbison-Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (999)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

843 - 849 of 999 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2011

Enjoyable stay, perfect location, stunning rooms with a view.
Will definitely return

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ayesha Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

excellent location. beautiful rooms. friendly staff. definitely be back.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cindi g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Dear Management of Harbour House Hotel,

It has been an absolute please staying with you. The venue, rooms, location is all terrific, i could not find any fault with anything.
The view we had from our room over the pool area and the old harbour was just magnificent, especially when the whales was out playing. Your staff is extremely friendly, cleaners are all greeting, regardless if they were busy or not and your night shift security was friendly and quick to allocate a parking bay for me, at a fantastic rate of R20 a nite,

I can really recommend the Harbour House Hotel, i could not have asked for a better weekend away,
Thank you very much

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suuure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

If you are on holiday in the cape, then you must go to Hermanus and you must stay at Harbour House. Lots of hotels have a view of the bay but this is has to be the prime spot. Book early and make sure you get a room at the front over looking the harbour.
The rooms look a bit "pastey" in the pictures but actually they are very stylish and very good size. The kitchen area is a nice touch giving you a little more space but really the restaurants are too good to stay in. The new harbour house development looks as though it will be superb, but I hope it doesn't lose the personal touch that the guest house has. This was one of those, died and gone to heaven places....and I haven't even mentioned the Whales!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DougReading_BerksUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

First class rooms in a terrific location. Good value

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

It is not common to find a spikey plant in a hotel bedroom, even if it is an imitation. Our room in the Harbour House had just such a plant but the room was so comfortable that it did not seem to be out of place.

The bed was big enough for a party. There was adequate off site parking. The balcony overlooked the old harbour and within earshot of the whale crier. It was very pleasant to sit on your own balcony and see the whales.

Perhaps the term hotel is not appropriate as we were unaware of any catering facilities although the room was equipt with a full kitchenette.

Room Tip: Stay on L 2 or 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dojies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.4 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.3 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
753 reviews
0.5 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.2 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
2.2 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#2 of 11 in Hermanus
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour House Hotel

Address: 22 Harbour Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Price Range: £88 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Harbour House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour House Hotel enjoys the most prominent of positions in the heart of the Old Harbour area, flanked by the seaside and the bustling centre of this holiday town. The magnificent Lookout Terrace invites guests to revel in the soothing surrounds of the ocean ahead and enjoy a lunch from Selkirk's restaurant inspired by abundant local produce and fresh ingredients, alternatively savour a sundowner from the Wine Bar in the Pavilion. Guests are offered a choice of accommodation from the historical architecture of the thatched roof seaside Manor House built in 1920, to the contemporary New Wing and Harbour Square. Rooms are luxuriously appointed with sophisticated modern décor, all within easy walking distance of the town’s top attractions, whale watching sites, markets, restaurants, street cafés and an abundance of reserved natural splendour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Harbour House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing