We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chic luxury!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harbour House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Harbour House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Hermanus
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Chic luxury!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

The very helpful guy on reception gave us a tour of two different rooms to choose from, both of which were stunning. Recently completely refurbished to a high standard, we chose a large room with full length sliding glass doors opening onto a balcony with sea views. Safe private parking below and a small bar with selected local and German bottle beers, and a well-stocked and reasonably priced minibar in the room! Perfect central location close to restaurants and sea. We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: 3rd floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    292
    80
    41
    37
See reviews for
151
534
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

....The rooms lack nothing. , very well designed and equipped.
Laid out as kitchen, bathroom,bedroom and lounge areas.
Very large windows and more than ample cupboard space and
cloth hanging hooks. Third floor enjoys a sea view. Once your car is parked [ours was parked virtually outside the cute reception ] there was no need to use it until we left.

Checking out time [10 am] was a bit early.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bzs18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

Huge rooms, new and very well decorated. Nice windows with a small balcony with a view on the back side of the hotel, but also a partial view of the ocean. The front rooms have a better view. The hotel location is just perfect in the center of Hermanus, a few meters from the cliff path where you can watch the whales and from restaurants, shops, etc. Air conditioning and heating are OK and efficient. The rooms are also equipped with a microwave, a fridge (minibar, but also space for your own stuff), a little sink, complementary coffee / tea, cups, some cutlery: very useful! In the low season the price of the room was incredibly low for the value! Breakfast is not included in the room price.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank casablanca71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

Stayed here for one night and wish it could have been for longer, The staff were so Friendly and helpful on every level, The room was just beautiful so bright and clean, even had a kitchen area with everything you would need, we were staying on the 3rd floor and had the most amazing view out to Sea and of the Mountains, The hotel is just next to lots of restaurants and bars, breakfast is served across the road from the hotel and i must say i enjoyed the eggs benedict :) A wonderful stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlewingDonegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Duty Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

We are most pleased that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Harbour House is truly blessed to be situated in such a prime location on the shores of Hermanus.

We hope that should you oneday return to Hermanus that you will enjoy another stay with us and perhaps stay for a few extra nights :)

Kind Regards
Renee Roux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

I had to check their website to make sure i had the right hotel as I could not believe the 2 bad reviews I read. The hotel is delightful and great value. You cant blame them for increasing their price in peak season surely!! The berakfase although not yhe vast buffet of the chains was delightfully cooked and preented by smiling waitresses. A joy to behold first thing in the morning. The breakfast small but perfect and you could have as much as you wanted. Fruit plate wonderful, yoghurt and honey as good as anywhere , the hot choice all you could eat and cooked to order. We were fusyy abourt our eggs and asked for crispy bacon. All done to perfection. The toast brown whole wheat soyr dough. What more could you want. The romantic roome designed to whithin an inch of their lives. Room 4 the biggest, with large balcony however a bit shaded, room 5 good views and best bathroom, but we chose room 6, best view we thought and largest bed. (the room from 5 was probably better but only yo the north). The staff couldny have been more helpful. They lent us binnoculars for the stay, catered to our every fussy whim re restaurants and tours. They got us on a fully booked whale boat as we arrived. thats service. Every one has a smile and wanted to help perfectly. and best of all we are off tonight with Anilese to her local church for a gospel service. Wow we love the local culture. Please stay here. It is in the centre of towm, you can walk everwhere, the pool and view delightful. We love it!!!

Room Tip: Spend the money on a "romantic room" if you can afford it. No.4 is the biggest, but number...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drmalcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

The location is excellent within walking distance to many great restaurants I booked the accomodation and also requested reception to pls arrange for flowers as it was our 10th wedding anniversary...12 beautiful red roses awaited us on arrival. We loved the room in the penthouse area. We were disapointed with breakfast and voiced our opinion with reception that this Grand establishment requires some urgent refurbishment to the breakfast area and layout. Would love to visit again.....rates however slightly on the high side for us local SA residents.

Room Tip: Penthouse room 35 may not have the best view , but noise level was low as away from street side.Pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gunther b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Duty Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2012
Dear Gunther

I am pleased that you had a pleasant stay and that the staff couldnassist in making your 10th wedding anniversary that little bit extra special.

The receptionist on duty has given your feedback regarding breakfast to management who will be looking into the matter.
Thank you for your constructive criticism. With this we can better the faults and perhaps ensure a flawless stay to future guests at our establishment.

Many safe travels and we hope to welcome you back to Harbour House in the not so distant future.

Kind Regards
Renee Roux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

I stayed in Harbour House in April. For R600 per night per room. And a lovely place to stay.
However when I tried to book a room for Aug, definately not peak season, I was quoted R2100 per night for the same room we stayed in in April. That is more than 3x the price.
I booked into a different guesthouse and was surprised when I walked past Harbour House that the advertised rate on the billboard outside the hotel was R650. When I went to query this inside, it seemed that they were shocked at the rates I was given as this was rates only starting in Sep.
If I had booked and paid those rates, I would have been fuming mad to see what people pay as a "walk in" rate.
So punishment for a booking and planning a trip is you get ripped off.
Sorry Harbour House, I need peace of mind for my holidays, not a "hope they have a room available when I get there" thing.
Not on my word of mouth list anymore.

Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Marisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Front Office Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Dear reviewer

We do offer guest a “tonight only” rate, and feel that this is not unique to our hotel, but is used by many hotels globally. Hermanus receive many day visitors who travel for whale watching or popular wine tours, some of these guests then decide to stay the night in Hermanus and thus we and many of the hotels and guesthouses in Hermanus offer a last minute rate when we do have a room available for the night. The rate that is advertised outside our hotel is currently for our Traveller’s Places classification; this room does not offer the same views and location within the hotel as our regular classifications.

We do offer specials and promotional offers during the year on our standard rates and we feel compared to other hotels in Hermanus, our rate is on par with the services and facilities we offer.

Although you were not a guest at Harbour House Hotel during this visit, we do hope you enjoyed your stay in Hermanus.

Kind Regards
Reneê Diane Hibbert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.4 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.3 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#3 of 12 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 12 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.5 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
3.1 mi away
Baleens
Baleens
#6 of 12 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour House Hotel

Property: Harbour House Hotel
Address: 22 Harbour Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Harbour House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the historical village, Harbour House Hotel has been modelled after its original architecture, a thatched roof seaside manor house built in 1920. Being perfectly located above the Old Harbour, the hotel's understated luxury is offset by the soothing surrounds of the ocean. The magnificent Lookout Terrace invites guests to relax around the infinity pool overlooking the ocean and savour a sundowner from the pool bar in the Pavilion. Harbour House Hotel consists of the restored Manor House with intimate Romantic Rooms, all with views, as well as the New Wing with 18 spacious suites, featuring sophisticated modern decor, a kitchenette and lounge leading out onto a private balcony. Guests are afforded luxury at every turn, from 100% fine white cotton bedding to marble and granite finishes. Sleek lines and carefully curated art pieces add to the modern aesthetic of each room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Harbour House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing