We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special place,special people!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harbour House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Reviewed 18 November 2012

As we were driven into Hermanus, we saw a whale waving its tail at us, as if to say 'Welcome!' We checked in to the Harbour House Hotel, and received a warm welcome. The room was just perfect, with amazing views across the harbour, and lovely decor and facilities, we already felt at home. We continued to see whales in the bay during our stay, and also did the Southern Right whale watching trip, amazing! The staff were always helpful, and had time to talk to us whenever we had a query. Lovely touch of a cup cake at bed time! The only down side was we should have stayed longer, 3 nights wasn't enough! Go and enjoy!

Room Tip: If you can, go for a romantic room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Duty Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2012

Dear Tracy156

Thank you for your refreshing review.

It gives us great pleasure to receive such positive feedback and to hear that your stay with us was wonderful. We are truly thankful for our location and the fact that the whales enjoy performing right on our "doorstep"

We hope that should you return to Hermanus one day that you will stay with us and perhaps a few nights longer ;)

Many safe travels

Kind Regards
Reneê Roux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (968)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

695 - 701 of 968 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2012

We recently stayed here for 2 nights purely to be near to the whale watching area. This hotel was the perfect location. Very modern building which is beautifully equipped with modern clean furniture, bedding and items needed for a short stay. Yes, the inside breakfast room is small but when we were there it was hot and we ate outside on the terrace. The staff were all helpful, polite and knowledgeable about the area. The bar was rather draughty but all in all a perfect stay. We walked to the new harbour for a boat trip to watch the wales - if it is choppy, a warning if you are prone to sea sickness - be prepared! Well worth the trip to see the whales and babies. Plently of locals restaurants serving good quality food - and superb wines.

Room Tip: Room 22 on 1st floor was great - don't forget to ask for a jug of fresh milk as you pass through...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OAP_bath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

As we were travelling with friends we decided to stay in one of the apartments managed by Harbour House Hotel. The apartment was beautiful - large, spacious and well furnished with great modern art on the walls and fantastic luxury bathrooms However, sometimes it is the little things that make the huge difference. There was no welcome pack of any kind, no tea towels for the kitchen, no detergent for either dishwasher or washing machine. It felt as if the product was great, the management a bit half - hearted, especially as most people only stay for a short amount of time.We also encountered a few problems, we had specifically asked for both rooms to be made up as doubles but one was made up as twins( although this was rectified), the washing machine leaked all over the floor and we requested help twice and eventually managed to drain the machine ourselves. It seemed as if the management were either over-stretched or a bit disorganised, although they always very pleasant.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acaconn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

An excellent hotel for whale watching and would definitely visit again if we stayed in Hermanus in future. Breakfast excellent perhaps a little crowded at times as the dining room was quite small, but a good variety of hot dishes to chose from as well as a good choice on the cold buffet. All members of staff extremely helpful and polite. Our room was beautifully appointed looking out over the harbour with a small balcony so we could sit and watch the whales and the world go by.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petapiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

You couldn't ask for a more centrally located hotel, with amazing views towards the ocean and of course the whales (in season)!

We had Romantic room 3, with views across the garden to the cliff top and bay beyond and if the weather had been better, we would have been able to sit on our patio and see the whales from there, they were that close.

The room itself was beautiful and had a WOW factor as you entered. With under floor heating, the open plan unit was stunning, with a HUGE comfy bed, seating area, TV, book self, tea & coffee facilities (albeit no milk provided ... odd), double sink unit, and free standing bath.

Although we had a very pleasant stay, there were a few niggles that once addressed would make the room/hotel perfect ... the door to our room rattled in the wind letting in a draft all day and all night ! There was no air con, no fridge only a mini-bar (although I believe other room types do have a kitchenette area with fridge), the breakfast room was small and cramped, with the service extremely slow and food mediocre
at best ... it felt very poorly run and not very organised, as on one morning the reception staff had to come in to help out. We only attempted breakfast twice out of a 3 night stay as by our third morning we gave up.

This makes our stay sound really awful, however, that could not be further from the truth and I have to say the reception staff were a credit to the hotel as they were always so very helpful and on the ball.

Other things to note: FREE parking either outside the hotel our under the hotel (watch out for the pillars holding up the hotel) ! FREE WiFi internet in the business centre, either via your own devise or their p.c. (If you prefer to have the Internet in your room there is a charge for this) The reception staff are happy to make dinner reservations for you or check tour reservations (due to inclement weather)!

Would I recommend the Harbour House Hotel, sure ... and would I stay here again, possibly, as the reception staff were second to none.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsay-and-Neil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We stayed here for one night whilst passing through it is a great little hotel. The rooms are light and clean and the staff were very helpful in finding somewhere to eat. Breakfast had a good selection and we even saw some whales.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katie66Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

We spent 3 relaxing nights at Harbour House. Our first room did not provide the view of the bay that we expected so they moved us the next day to a room with a better view and it was just lovely. We were able to see whales from our balcony. Both rooms were comfortably appointed but the second room, which was in the front of the hotel was quite lovely. Harbour House was within walking distance to shops and restaurants. The hotel staff members were helpful.

Room Tip: The rooms in the front provide the best views of the bay and the whales.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yeoldemanorhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.4 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.3 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
728 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
2.2 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#2 of 11 in Hermanus
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour House Hotel

Address: 22 Harbour Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Price Range: £92 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Harbour House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour House Hotel enjoys the most prominent of positions in the heart of the Old Harbour area, flanked by the seaside and the bustling centre of this holiday town. The magnificent Lookout Terrace invites guests to revel in the soothing surrounds of the ocean ahead and enjoy a lunch from Selkirk's restaurant inspired by abundant local produce and fresh ingredients, alternatively savour a sundowner from the Wine Bar in the Pavilion. Guests are offered a choice of accommodation from the historical architecture of the thatched roof seaside Manor House built in 1920, to the contemporary New Wing and Harbour Square. Rooms are luxuriously appointed with sophisticated modern décor, all within easy walking distance of the town’s top attractions, whale watching sites, markets, restaurants, street cafés and an abundance of reserved natural splendour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Harbour House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing