We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, hospitality, style.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harbour House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights on our recent South Africa trip and what a treat it was. From eating a delicious 'full english' in the garden whilst watching whales in the bay, to enjoying a glass of wine on the balcony of our beautifully appointed room we couldn't have been happier.

The staff were all friendly and helpful and the breakfasts delicious. Hermanus itself was a lovely little town and the Harbour House beautifully located right on the sea front.

Stay here and you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: We had a semi sea view but I'm sure there must be full sea view rooms too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (945)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

673 - 679 of 945 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2012

Harbour House was proving a little difficult to find, due to a sat nav that was less than helpful - however, as soon as we stepped into Reception, things started to get better and better and better! We were shown to the Car Park and help was immediately on hand to help with our luggage. We had booked a Superior Room which did not disappoint. We had a lovely room on the first floor of the newer part of the hotel, overlooking the bay. With french windows and a nice balcony area we were able to watch the comings and going of Hermanus from our room. This included some delightful time whilst having tea in bed, watching the whales play in the bay! Very special!. The room itself was large, airy and extremely well appointed. A nice big bathroom with choice of bath and shower was also extremely well presented. The kitchenette area was useful, although there was no milk in the fridge, this was available from Reception - the cup cakes at turn down time were a nice touch. Nice choice of soft furnishings gave the whole room a nice feel and made us instantly relax. We sampled the local wine, whilst relaxing in the garden for an hour and made the most of the advice on hand regarding local trips - very useful as we only had limited time and wanted to go out whale watching. Breakfast on both mornings was excellent and the staff were attentive without being crowding. A good balance. Updgrading is worth the extra and I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the area, we hope to make a return trip at some point. Hermanus is a thriving little town and the hotel is ideally situated to make full use of the local bars and restaurants - there are also some nice cliff top walks which you can pick up directly outside the hotel. Oh, and did I mention the whales ?????

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Superior Room if possible - the new part of the hotel overlooking the bay is really wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

i am really becoming a fan of this little piece of real estate in Hermanus. the perfect blend of privacy of easy access to the restaurants and night life of Hermanus makes us come back again and again. So good that I am sure that we will conceive life here!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Duty Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2012

Good Day Andre B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

It is always good to hear what a pleasant stay our guests have had with us.

We look forward to making your future stays with us, just as great as the last.

We hope to welcome you back soon! :)

Kind Regards
Reneê Roux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Stayed for one night on honeymoon whilst travelling the garden route and wish we'd stayed for another!

The room was immaculately presented and incredibly comfortable. We had a balcony overlooking the pool area and unbelievable view of the ocean, quite honestly, stunning. It could not have been more perfect.

Staff were really helpful and booked us onto a whale watching tour as soon as we arrived.

Location is right in the centre of town and could not be better, but there is still a sense of remoteness about it, and plenty of parking available.

The breakfast in the morning was also delicious.

We hope to return again at some point.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vernonio35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Duty Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2012

Dear Vernonio35,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We are pleased that you had a wonderful stay at Harbour House and that our staff could contribute in making your stay with us a memorable one.

We hope that on your return visit to South Africa we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our establishment.

From all the staff at Harbour House Hotel, we would like to wish you all the best for your marriage and new life journey together as husband and wife

Kind Regards
Reneê

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

This was our second visit to Harbour House this year. It is a really stylish hotel in a wonderful position beside the ocean. It was possible to view the whales from both our balcony and room windows. The staff are very helpful and pleasant. All aspects of the hotel are run efficiently. Advice about visits and where to eat is good. They have started serving evening meals as week as breakfast and lunch. The food is very good as is the friendly service. Rooms are well appointed very spacious and stylish. The views from the hotel and the position in the centre of Hermanus above the old harbour are outstanding. A great place to stay especially during the whale season we had great sightings every day with in a few yards from Harbour House.
Corinne,Trev, Peter, Morven

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corinne_harper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Duty Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2012

Dear Corinne

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay with.

We are most pleased that you had a great stay with us. We are blessed to be situated in such a central location in such a beautiful town, as Hermanus.

The staff will be happy to hear that they have been a great part in making your stay enjoyable and rememorable.

We trust that you will be returning to stay at our establishment in the near future and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back.

Kind Regards
Reneê Roux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

As we were driven into Hermanus, we saw a whale waving its tail at us, as if to say 'Welcome!' We checked in to the Harbour House Hotel, and received a warm welcome. The room was just perfect, with amazing views across the harbour, and lovely decor and facilities, we already felt at home. We continued to see whales in the bay during our stay, and also did the Southern Right whale watching trip, amazing! The staff were always helpful, and had time to talk to us whenever we had a query. Lovely touch of a cup cake at bed time! The only down side was we should have stayed longer, 3 nights wasn't enough! Go and enjoy!

Room Tip: If you can, go for a romantic room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Duty Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2012

Dear Tracy156

Thank you for your refreshing review.

It gives us great pleasure to receive such positive feedback and to hear that your stay with us was wonderful. We are truly thankful for our location and the fact that the whales enjoy performing right on our "doorstep"

We hope that should you return to Hermanus one day that you will stay with us and perhaps a few nights longer ;)

Many safe travels

Kind Regards
Reneê Roux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

We recently stayed here for 2 nights purely to be near to the whale watching area. This hotel was the perfect location. Very modern building which is beautifully equipped with modern clean furniture, bedding and items needed for a short stay. Yes, the inside breakfast room is small but when we were there it was hot and we ate outside on the terrace. The staff were all helpful, polite and knowledgeable about the area. The bar was rather draughty but all in all a perfect stay. We walked to the new harbour for a boat trip to watch the wales - if it is choppy, a warning if you are prone to sea sickness - be prepared! Well worth the trip to see the whales and babies. Plently of locals restaurants serving good quality food - and superb wines.

Room Tip: Room 22 on 1st floor was great - don't forget to ask for a jug of fresh milk as you pass through...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OAP_bath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.4 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.3 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
706 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
2.2 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#2 of 11 in Hermanus
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour House Hotel

Address: 22 Harbour Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Price Range: £82 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour House Hotel enjoys the most prominent of positions in the heart of the Old Harbour area, flanked by the seaside and the bustling centre of this holiday town. The magnificent Lookout Terrace invites guests to revel in the soothing surrounds of the ocean ahead and enjoy a lunch from Selkirk's restaurant inspired by abundant local produce and fresh ingredients, alternatively savour a sundowner from the Wine Bar in the Pavilion. Guests are offered a choice of accommodation from the historical architecture of the thatched roof seaside Manor House built in 1920, to the contemporary New Wing and Harbour Square. Rooms are luxuriously appointed with sophisticated modern décor, all within easy walking distance of the town’s top attractions, whale watching sites, markets, restaurants, street cafés and an abundance of reserved natural splendour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbour House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing