We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harbour House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed in one of the apartments owned by the hotel (Le Paradis, probably 30 seconds walk away!)

Apartment specific:
Pros:
- location was excellent in terms of the sights
- nice view from the balcony
- very well maintained apartment with almost all the extras (some oddities eg given how upmarket the apartment is, strange that they do not provide a filter coffee maker; no wifi)

Cons:
- it wasn't actually the apartment we had booked (which we only realised once we were in it) - no warning or explanation given - so for example we didn't have wifi as we had expected
- the hot water ran out very quickly - the geyser is apparently not even big enough for 2 consecutive showers. For an apartment that sleeps 4, this is rather a drawback, and even after an hour and a half the water was not properly hot yet.
- The bottom floor is on street level and facing the main beachfront road, so it's not very private when you are sitting in the lounge. (The bedrooms are a floor up so no problem with privacy there.)

Re the hotel in general (as far as we interacted with it):
- we found staff generally helpful and friendly, especially the gentleman who took us to the apartment (I am afraid I forget his name) to show us how to use everything
- we used the breakfast room mainly for convenience. It is very crowded because it's very small so we constantly had people bumping our chairs etc. Staff seemed to get slightly harassed when it was full for example forgetting a request for a coffee refill. Also re another guest mentioning being charged extra for hot chocolate - we also somehow ended up with a filter coffee charge on the breakfast bill. Didn't quibble, but did feel that it seemed a bit mean. The breakfast selection was OK, not as good as other (chain or boutique) hotels I have stayed in for continental breakfasts, although to be fair the cost is also cheaper than usual.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank sjsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,017)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

644 - 650 of 1,017 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2013

What a stunning place to stay - everything was great and the place is breathtaking.

The only negative was an unfriendly, unwelcoming manageress / hostess. We arrived 2 hours early and although we understood that we would not be able to check in, she made it clear that it was an inconvenience and advised she would call when the room was ready. Four hours later we did not recieve a call and just checked in. The next morning she did not return a greeting.

Apart from the the complimentary champaigne, food and room were excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BSchoombie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear BSchoombie,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. We would like to apologise if the staff member came across unfriendly as this is not the standard we strive for at Harbour House Hotel and the issue will be dealt with accordingly to ensure that this does not happen in future again.

I am happy to see that you did rate our food and rooms as excellent and hope that we can make up for your negative experience with staff on your next visit, as we would like to welcome you back to our beautiful town and hotel.

Once again please accept my sincerest apologies

Kind Regards
Mariane Maree

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Very nice clean and well appointed apartments, we weren't expecting microwave, dishes, glasses etc. Breakfast is exceptionally good and we would have paid for it if it hadn't been included. If you are visiting Hermanus you know why you have come, and this is a great spot to stay. No complaints...except...why is hot chocolate an extra at breakfast when taken instead of coffee....odd, and should really have been included in the price. It's the little things that get Excellent rather than just Very good ratings, and this seems an odd pricng decisio. However, a good pace to stay and we recommend it !

Room Tip: get one looking over the main bay if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

The hotel location is magic. The breakfast and reception staff were really good, but the housekeeping staff were very loud. The room's are big but lack intimacy. Our shower produced a mere trickle in the morning, certainly not enough to take an actual shower. Parking was a bit tricky to negotiate. However, the best part of the hotel is its location. You don't need your car once you are here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelisourhobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear Travelisourhobby,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review. We are most grateful for your honest feedback, which we accept as a valuable source of information for us to improve our services and the product we offer. Please accept our apologies for not meeting your expectations in all areas.

Please be assured that your comments have been taken up with the relevant departments in order to ensure that the necessary action is taken.

We hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future and assure you of our best intentions.

Kind Regards

Mariane Maree

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

This is a stunning gem of a hotel with exceptionally friendly staff who could not do enough to make our stay special. We also made use of the massage centre attached and can confirm that this was of the highest quality also.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graeme I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear Graeme,

Many thanks for your wonderful review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to Harbour House Hotel.

Kind Regards

Mariane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Unfortunately we had a bad experience. We had no sleep the first night as a group of other guests made such a noise and upset the rest of the guests too. I had another guests stand outside my door talking on top of her voice to her friend at there room door and had to ask them in my PJ's to quieten down. I complained to management and the said they were a wear of the guest that had disturbed the entire hotel that evening. We went for a relaxing weekend , to catch up on some sleep but ended up feeling aggravated and sleep deprived. We were tired the day after and wanted to have a nap in the afternoon, but the cleaners hovered, and banged around for 3 hours so that was it again for us. The TV channels were very limited and quality of the picture was not great. On our first night staff member barged through the front door without even knocking and we happened to be in bed already and started telling us we must have a romantic turndown???? and that we were honeymooners! I said no we don't want it and were are not honeymooners but she kept pointing at the paper in front of her and said "Romantic turndown!!" Breakfast was excellent and reception was very helpful. Overall very disappointed as I needed some chill out time and did not feel I got that.

Room Tip: Don't chose a front facing room and chose top floor for quieter stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear Lesley,


Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Harbour House Hotel.

We are most grateful for your honest feedback, which we accept as a valuable source of information for us to improve our services and the product we offer.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay as this is certainly not the standards we strive for.
We trust that despite this we shall have the privilege of welcoming you back to Harbour House Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Although we didn't see any whales, our stay in Hermanus was still well worth it. The Harbour House Hotel is surely the best setting in Hermanus with immaculate rooms, great views, wonderful service and lots to do. Worth more than one night and booking a whale/shark watching trip or the sea kayaking - the hotel were happy to help.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil_and_Katie_Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harb0urH0useH0tel, General Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Dear Neil and Katie,

Thank you for your positive review.

We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Mariane Maree

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.4 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.3 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
769 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
2.2 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#2 of 11 in Hermanus
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour House Hotel

Address: 22 Harbour Road, Hermanus, Overstrand 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Overstrand > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Price Range: £90 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour House Hotel enjoys the most prominent of positions in the heart of the Old Harbour area, flanked by the seaside and the bustling centre of this holiday town. The magnificent Lookout Terrace invites guests to revel in the soothing surrounds of the ocean ahead and enjoy a lunch from Selkirk's restaurant inspired by abundant local produce and fresh ingredients, alternatively savour a sundowner from the Wine Bar in the Pavilion. Guests are offered a choice of accommodation from the historical architecture of the thatched roof seaside Manor House built in 1920, to the contemporary New Wing and Harbour Square. Rooms are luxuriously appointed with sophisticated modern décor, all within easy walking distance of the town’s top attractions, whale watching sites, markets, restaurants, street cafés and an abundance of reserved natural splendour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Harbour House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing