We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harbour House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This hotel surpassed all our expectations. It was absolutely superb. The rooms were decorated decadently, the reception staff were excellent and the breakfast was second to none. The hotel was situated right opposite the sea. We requested 2 sea view rooms on the off chance they were available a day before we arrived and we were delighted to have our wish come true. We were so happy. We even saw the whales from our balcony. There are not many places in the world where you could say that. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Hermanus. You will not be disappointed. Hermanus as a town is excellent as well, the sea coast path is a wonderful walk.

Room Tip: Request a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliah_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear Juliah_ 8,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Harbour House during your recent visit to Hermanus.

We look forward welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Mariane Maree

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,018)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

619 - 625 of 1,018 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2013

From the minute we arrived nothing was too much trouble for Karen the Duty Manager. I explained that my husband had had minor surgery on his back so the staff very kindly helped me with the luggage to the room and helped unpack. We stayed in room 2 which was situated in the older part of the hotel but had been completely refurbished after a fire had completely gutted the building in 2010. My goodness we were over the moon, the room is a suite which overlooked the ocean and is adjacent to the pool. This room also has it own patio area which leads on to the garden adjacent to the pool. The view was fantastic although there was vegetation on the road opposite the hotel that slightly obscured the view. We did not eat at the hotel in the evening as we had already booked to eat at La Pentola, but there was a braii that evening and it looked really good. The bed was a kingsize bed and so comfortable we managed to get a really goodnights sleep. Breakfast the following morning was buffet style. The staff were really efficient and again nothing was too much trouble. The only disappointing thing was that we only stayed for one night. It was really difficult to tear ourselves away. I would highly recommend the hotel to anyone visiting Hermanus for both accommodation and location it is hard to beat.

Room Tip: Room 2 (suite)is situated at the front of the hotel with its own patio that leads out to the pool ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrismasters2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

Great view from the balcony ... Perfect position .. the best i think! Went to whale watch & saw some within 5 mins after checking in from the shore! Would recommend to the whale lovers - saw a calf & adult breaching whilst sitting at the pool .... Heaven!!! Nice place, down side - no wi-fi in the room & no proper bar. Would recommend!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Tessalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We actually stayed in Hermanus for free having booked four nights at the Company's Camps Bay self catering apartments. What a bargain!

We were upgraded as we were on honeymoon and our room had a mini kitchen and great bathroom, plus an area for the sofa with a massive TV with great channels (something a lot of other places in SA lacked). The view of the car park was a bit blaaaa but as we were only in Hermanus for one night, it didn't matter. WIFI is extra which I think is a bit silly at a hotel of this quality. There is a spa but we didn't use it.

The hotel has a great location, literally on the corner near Burgundy (Hermanus' best restaurant - go there!). We had been recommended Auberge Burgundy for amazing views but, in actual fact, the Harbour House hotel blocked Auberge Burgundy from the best views! We sat and had a great scone and afternoon tea after whale watching and just people watched for the afternoon (during the whale festival).

You MUST eat at Burgundy - see separate review.

As an aside, if you are travelling from Cape Town to Hermanus, take the scenic route via Betty's Bay and see the penguins rather than the N2.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeccaB521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harb0urH0useH0tel, General Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Dear Tessalo,

Many thanks for taking the time to let us have this wonderful feedback after your recent visit to Harbour House hotel.
We are thrilled to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Mariane Maree

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We just loved it: The rooms are luxuriously furnished and offer a great view onto the sea. During the whaling season, this is a particularly important fact since you are able to see the whales from your balcony. Breakfast at the Harbour House is plentyful and excellent. Staff is very friendly and helpful at all times. We would come back anytime and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Take a seaview room during the whaling season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karin6300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harb0urH0useH0tel, General Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Dear Karin,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Harbour House during your recent visit to Hermanus.

We look forward welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Mariane Maree

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Comfortable, well appointed hotel with modern rooms set right in the centre of town and within just a few steps of the front door we were able to watch the whales in the harbour. Willing staff who are prepared to go the extra mile to provide excellent service for their guests.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floors have sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerBill_32768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harb0urH0useH0tel, General Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Dear Traveller Bill,

Thank you for your wonderful comments. We will be sure to share this with our team. We are most pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Mariane Maree

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Stayed at Harbour House for one night on recent trip from Cape Town through garden route. Lovely hotel we had fabulous room with balcony overlooking the sea & could watch the whales from our balcony which was a bonus as the whale watching trip we had booked was cancelled due to rough seas. Hotel right in the centre & close to all the restaurants, parked our car and never used it. Wished we could of stayed here longer but was per booked on set itinerary,sorry we couldnt sample the breakfast as we had to leave at 7am before breakfast started as we had to drive to the shark diving location for early boat trip.

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to a sea view room if spending more than one night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deborah61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harb0urH0useH0tel, General Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Dear Decorah61,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Harbour House Hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to Harbour House and Hermanus in the near future.

Kind Regards

Mariane Maree

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.4 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.3 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
2.2 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#2 of 11 in Hermanus
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour House Hotel

Address: 22 Harbour Road, Hermanus, Overstrand 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Overstrand > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Price Range: £94 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Harbour House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour House Hotel enjoys the most prominent of positions in the heart of the Old Harbour area, flanked by the seaside and the bustling centre of this holiday town. The magnificent Lookout Terrace invites guests to revel in the soothing surrounds of the ocean ahead and enjoy a lunch from Selkirk's restaurant inspired by abundant local produce and fresh ingredients, alternatively savour a sundowner from the Wine Bar in the Pavilion. Guests are offered a choice of accommodation from the historical architecture of the thatched roof seaside Manor House built in 1920, to the contemporary New Wing and Harbour Square. Rooms are luxuriously appointed with sophisticated modern décor, all within easy walking distance of the town’s top attractions, whale watching sites, markets, restaurants, street cafés and an abundance of reserved natural splendour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Harbour House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing