We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow absolute heaven!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harbour House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Harbour House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Hermanus
Cape Town
Level Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Wow absolute heaven!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We had the most wonderful stay at the Harbour House Manor. We have previously stayed at the Harbour House Hotel next door and I far preferred our stay at the Manor House. We were in room number 2 which was very spacious and beautifully decorated.

The bathroom was also large and beautiful. I spotted a fireplace in the corner which would be wonderful in the Winter months. The only thing that we were actually freaked out about and caused me to have an uncomfortable sleep was that we were unaware that there was no airconditioning in that side of the hotel! They have a fan which did little to help. I have given an average rating for sleep quality because of this. If their was airconditioning in the room I would have given it an excellent rating.

Our room was a few steps away from the beautiful pool with magnificent sea view. I could have stayed another week. It really is a magnificent place.

Unfortunately we were only able to enjoy breakfast at the manor as we had reservations with friends at other restaurants in the area. The breakfast was faultless. My scrambled eggs, mushrooms from heaven, toast and stunning seed loaf were so yum! The incredible and awesome staff members are all so friendly, helpful and eager to please.

I cannot wait to return : )

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MerlotCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear MerlotCapeTown,

On behalf of our team we would like to thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.
We will be sure to share your comments with our staff. We are most pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward welcoming you back to Harbour House Hotel

Kind Regards

Mariane Maree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    292
    80
    41
    37
See reviews for
151
534
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

I was completely taken with the service of Your evening duty manager when I arrived exhausted and ready to drive back to CT due to an evenings accomodation being unsuitable and being unable to sleep at 1am. He was curtious and accommodating.

He offered me the "traveller Room" rate ( what a great product to develop for customers )

we will be back and I will always recommend the Hotel! Well done ! ......and thank you for taking the time to value clients.

Room Tip: I stayed in a back facing room and still had a sea viewe at an exceptional rate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ty s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harb0urH0useH0tel, General Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Ty s,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us and that the staff were able to contribute towards this. We hope to welcome you back to Harbour House Hotel in the near future

Kind Regards

Mariane Maree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Hermanus is an absolutely stunning town - lots of gorgeous shops, art galleries, restaurants and markets. The hotel is in a great location. Karen on reception is extremely helpful and cheerful as are most of the reception staff.

The waitresses seem to lack the ability to give service with a smile (until our last day so were probably glad to see the back of us). We thought the buffet breakfast was a little limited and they could not get a "soft-boiled" egg right. We booked in for the BBQ which in the promotional literature appeared that the "braai" would be outstanding with mountains of food - in reality, it was expensive for what it was, and when salads or meats ran out, they didn't always replace it - in fact, we noticed that other people were taking photos of the salad table to show the lack of choice on there. It is therefore much more enjoyable to eat out at the many restaurants - be warned though as you're not always able to book as they prefer to "first come, first served".

Would love to return to Hermanus and am likely to return to the hotel on B & B basis only as the rooms are ok and very clean but it's the location that's brilliant.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chui-Ling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Our room was massive and the bed was big and comfortable. We were lucky enough to have a room facing the sea with a nice balcony. Unfortunately the weather was cold and rainy so we didn't make use of it. The room also had a mini kitchenette in case you want to self cater. Lovely bathroom with posh toiletries. The breakfast was amazing, loads of choice, fresh fruit and croissants - even cheese board, slightly odd but I'm not complaining! This was definitely the most deluxe place we stayed during our trip, and I'm just sad we had only one night here, as Hermanus is lovely. The swimming pool would be lovely if you came in warm weather as it looks directly out on to the ocean. As with most of the places we stayed in South Africa, the service was excellent with polite and helpful staff. When we got back from dinner we found two little cakes in our room, which was a nice touch.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oasisgirl80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Oasisgirl80,

Many Thanks for taking the time to post your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Mariane Maree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellville, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Excellent location (the best in Hermanus). Tasteful finishes, fully equipped (and all equipment in working order), very neat, tidy and clean. Most enjoyable stay. The staff was excellent in all aspects. Certainly recommended. I will most definately visit and stay in the Hotel as often as possible.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pieter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Pieter G,

On behalf of our team we would like to thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We will be sure to share your comments with our staff. We are most pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward welcoming you back to Harbour House Hotel

Kind Regards

Mariane Maree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
186 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

With its prominent position and seaside location, I had been really looking forward to our stay here.

Given the hotel's location, we were disappointed to have been booked into a 'premier' room in the new annexe (this was our travel company's fault). I had hoped for views over the sea, garden or pool area - not over the car park and on a level to breath in car fumes directly from their exhaust pipes. After some persuasion, we did get moved up a floor. It did have a balcony with chairs and a coastal view, but the room was still uninspiring: it lacked atmosphere or character and, with the kitchenette and bland decor showing signs of wear and tear, it felt more like a motorway service or airport motel (without the advantage of the Express price tag) rather than a seaside hotel. Wi-Fi was available in the Business Centre, but given the annexe's modern look and feel, surprisingly not in the rooms.

The weather meant I'm unable to comment on the infinity pool, which was covered in leaves and (I suspect) was too cold to use. But I wouldn't have felt comfortable sunbathing with so little privacy.

One advantage was the comfortable king-size beds. And of course the hotel position. The toiletries were also good - although the bathroom not large. A self-service buffet breakfast was followed by cooked options. The Pavilion conservatory dining area benefited from heaters, as the mornings were cold. Breakfast was fine and was included in the rate.

We were incorrectly advised at the tour desk that whale watching trips were still running (a better service was offered by the nearby tourist information point.)

So - all in all - a disappointing stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veggiemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harb0urH0useH0tel, General Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Veggiemel,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Harbour House Hotel. We are happy that we were able to assist you with an complimentary upgrade to rectify your travel agents error .
Your comments regarding our rooms will be taken into consideration, we have however not had any complaints of this nature before but we appreciate your constructive criticism. We are happy to inform you that we have upgraded our wifi and do have wifi throughout the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Mariane Maree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

What a place to stay if you want explore the beautiful scenery of Hermanus. You are absolutely spoilt for choice for restaurants!!!
The front desk is very helpful.
Smoking on the pool deck should be banned....we experienced a couple who smoked in one over three days and never cleaned up afterwards!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harb0urH0useH0tel, General Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear A.Smith,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us and that the staff were able to contribute towards this. We hope to welcome you back to Harbour House Hotel, should you return to Hermanus.

Kind Regards

Mariane Maree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.4 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.3 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#3 of 12 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 12 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
3.1 mi away
Baleens
Baleens
#6 of 12 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.2 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour House Hotel

Property: Harbour House Hotel
Address: 22 Harbour Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Harbour House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the historical village, Harbour House Hotel has been modelled after its original architecture, a thatched roof seaside manor house built in 1920. Being perfectly located above the Old Harbour, the hotel's understated luxury is offset by the soothing surrounds of the ocean. The magnificent Lookout Terrace invites guests to relax around the infinity pool overlooking the ocean and savour a sundowner from the pool bar in the Pavilion. Harbour House Hotel consists of the restored Manor House with intimate Romantic Rooms, all with views, as well as the New Wing with 18 spacious suites, featuring sophisticated modern decor, a kitchenette and lounge leading out onto a private balcony. Guests are afforded luxury at every turn, from 100% fine white cotton bedding to marble and granite finishes. Sleek lines and carefully curated art pieces add to the modern aesthetic of each room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Harbour House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing