We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Central Location With Wonderful Staff - a 5 Star Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harbour House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We stayed for 2 days in March. On arrival we were greeted by the wonderful reception staff, to be met by such friendly, smiling staff was very refreshing, I have staying in many 5 Star hotels and they could certainly learn from your reception team.

We were shown to our room on the first floor in the new part of the hotel, with a member of staff (sorry, I cannot remember your name) helping with our case.

The room was the corner room. It was bright, spacious and spotlessly clean.

As you enter the room there is a small well equipped kitchen area, with a microwave, sink, and reasonably sized fridge and the all important kettle.

The room has a large bathroom with both a walk-in shower and a separate bath. Our bathroom had a window so there was plenty of natural light, there were high quality toiletries provided. We had a problem with the hot water in the shower which we reported and this was fixed when we returned to our room.

The bed was large and extremely comfortable, and at the end of the room was a sofa and coffee table, TV with a good choice of international channels and the large patio doors to a small balcony with a fantastic view over the old harbour. Despite being on a road, the rooms are very quiet. I would definitely pay the extra and get a sea view room.

There is a lovely outdoor space with an unheated pool with comfortable sun beds for which there is a great view of the bay.

Breakfast was served downstairs where you have the option to sit outside or inside if the weather is not good. Breakfast was delicious - the Eggs Benedict were cooked to perfection and beautifully presented. There were a good selection of cold meats, and breads and then various cooked offerings. You do not go hungry.

The hotel location is brilliant, step out and you are in the centre of town, or on the cliff walk. You can leave your car (the hotel offers parking immediately outside or there is a small carpark under the hotel) and just walk to one of the many restaurants/shops nearby. The staff will be able to assist with recommendations and bookings

What really impressed us was the staff. All were very knowledgeable about the area and so incredibly friendly. Everyone we met acknowledged us. Our thanks to Pumlani who give excellent advice regarding wine.

Early one morning while sitting out on the balcony we watched a huge pod of dolphins - spectacular sight - with the sun rising across the bay. We also saw a couple of whales close in to the cliffs. What a very special moment.

We really enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate in recommending a stay here. Thank you to all at Harbour House Hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CareySJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (945)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

501 - 507 of 945 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

Stayed here for two nights and had a room with a balcony overlooking the sea on the third floor. Specifically asked for a sea view and pleased that we did because not all the rooms provide this. Large room and en-suite with everything included that you could need. Hotel situation is really convenient for the cliff path and for the many restaurants nearby in the town centre. Dining room only advertised as available for dinner on Friday, Saturday and Sunday but was not actually open on the Friday we stayed. Grounds small bit nice with an unheated pool. Staff were good but did not feel they went the extra mile that we experienced elsewhere. No complaints at all just not the extra wow factor to give it the highest rating.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank albanyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Having looked at pictures and read through the reviews on their site we went along and booked from the UK. When we arrived we were blown away by the spectacular views and location. Lovely room, great food and very hospitable staff...what more can we ask for. We were very happy with the peace and quiet after a hectic day. I would highly recommend this hotel at the drop of a hat!!!

Room Tip: Fabulous view from any room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evremonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed here for two nights after six nights in Cape Town. This was pure relaxation in a lovely calm atmosphere. Staff were excellent and the food was well presented. The only downside in our room was no drawer or shelf space for clothes and we had to live out of our suitcase. This was ok for two nights but any longer would have been very difficult. All in all, a great hotel in a fantastic location. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Note that the hotel room descriptions on the hotel website and the booking.com website differ. Use t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buncha13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We had read reviews on this hotel before booking a 3 night stay for ourselves and my daughter and son in law. Most were positive so we felt that it would at least be ok. How wrong we were. It was far more than ok, it was fantastic!

The rooms are large with modern furnishings and look terrific. Complimentary wifi was very handy too, although it might be better if the usernames and passwords were valid for the length of our stay rather than having to get new log in details from reception each morning. Still, it was included so no real gripe about this, just a possible service improvement.

Breakfasts were lovely, same as most good hotels.

There are also complimentary push bikes for guests to use, but we didn't take any as Tony had not cleaned the windscreen and topped up the oil (when you meet Tony, you will understand - very funny and great service too).

The pool area was top notch and afforded great views of the bay.

The hotel is just on the periphery of the centre of Hermanus (30 seconds walk) and there are many great places to eat within a 2 to 5 minute leisurely walk.

A great hotel and a great stay, thanks a lot, we will use this hotel again next time we visit Hermanus.

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea, as the hotel is on a point, so rear facing rooms get a different view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We booked through their head office Village and Life in Cape Town. The result: When we arrived at the hotel, they had no booking for us.
Mariane the Manager in charge of the hotel sorted us out and we had a very nice room.
We even stayed one night longer. The hotel is centrally placed, quiet with a beautiful view over the sea. Restaurants, shops and sightseeing’s are in a walking distance. The staffs are efficient, polite, and helpful and they do more than “just work here” bravo and thanks again. The food is fresh, well presented and nicely prepared.
The only thing, we could criticize was the fountain with the fish in it. The water was so dirty, we could not see any fish but apparently the person responsible was on a day off. In our opinion these fishes should be in a bigger natural pond in the garden.
Tipp: Don’t bother to get into contact with Village and Life but book directly with the hotel.
The managers of Village and Life don’t find it courteous and polite to answer our various mails regarding their mismanagement and services.

Room Tip: If you want privacy, avoid the rooms next to the reception on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WatchFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

My Husband and I were booked into Harbour House for 17 nights through Virgin Holidays so we got to know most of the staff and the area pretty well.
All the previous comments say it all, the hotel itself was brilliant, got to be in the best location in Hermanus overlooking the bay. The rooms were very spacious, bright and very comfortable.
We were booked in room 12 for the first week, although it was a beautiful room on the front ground floor of the hotel it was overlooking the car park so we did request to change we were then given room 5 for the rest of the holiday which was fabulous! All open plan with a fabulous view from the balcony.
The staff were lovely, very cheerful and extremely helpful. Breakfast was delicious kept us going all day until evening meals.
Burgundy and Lemon Butta very good restaurants but its best to book in advance.

If you fancy a tour in Cape Town we would highly recommend A Scenic Peninsula day tour on a Chauffer driven Motor trike, our children bought this for us as a surprise and it turned out to be spectacular! we were out most of the day on the trike visiting some beautiful sights of the Cape stopping for a finger lunch and also wine tasting in the afternoon. this can be viewed and booked on www.adventurebookings.co.za. Willem our driver was great! and very knowledgeable.

We also did three days travelling the Garden Route stopping over at Mossle Bay for 2 nights, again! this was brilliant. We ended up somehow turning off the N2 and going up the Robinson Pass which we were pleased about as the views were breath-taking.

All in all it was a fabulous holiday I would definitely recommend the Harbour House Hotel cannot find any faults, we hope to visit again with some friends but next time we may go later in the year as I would have loved to have seen some whales from the balcony, although we did see a school of dolphins when we were walking the cliff walk.

Like to say Hello to all the staff.

Maggi & Keith Green UK

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floor with Ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargieP17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.4 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.3 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
708 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
2.2 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#2 of 11 in Hermanus
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour House Hotel

Address: 22 Harbour Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Price Range: £75 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour House Hotel enjoys the most prominent of positions in the heart of the Old Harbour area, flanked by the seaside and the bustling centre of this holiday town. The magnificent Lookout Terrace invites guests to revel in the soothing surrounds of the ocean ahead and enjoy a lunch from Selkirk's restaurant inspired by abundant local produce and fresh ingredients, alternatively savour a sundowner from the Wine Bar in the Pavilion. Guests are offered a choice of accommodation from the historical architecture of the thatched roof seaside Manor House built in 1920, to the contemporary New Wing and Harbour Square. Rooms are luxuriously appointed with sophisticated modern décor, all within easy walking distance of the town’s top attractions, whale watching sites, markets, restaurants, street cafés and an abundance of reserved natural splendour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotelopia, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbour House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing