We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning location, excellent service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harbour House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at Harbour House on our first year anniversary. We received a complimentary upgrade to a full sea view facing room and cake + rose petals had been scattered around the room! We loved our stay, the staff were extremely helpful and friendly, amazing pool and location. Breakfast was great and we saw whales while sitting we ate! Would definitely recommend Harbour House to anyone who wants a relaxed getaway!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarahjc112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (999)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

541 - 547 of 999 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed in a romantic room which was beautiful and open plan, with just the toilet in a separate room. It had a lovely big bathtub, walk in shower and his & hers basins. The bed was a good size and very comfortable. The decor was very chic and the room felt lovely and spacious.
The burgundy restaurant is right opposite and was recommended to us, (it was fab!) the hotel faces the sea and is in a great location for exploring Hermanus.
Breakfast was good, and we had lunch there one day too which was also fantastic. The service was generally good with a few of the members of staff being exceptional, going out of their way, the reception staff and one of the waiters called Prince stood out too. He served us at lunch and said he thought it might rain and he would prepare us another table under cover just in case, it did rain so we were quickly moved. He was also good fun and had a bit of a laugh & joke with us and always waved or spoken then we saw him again.
We would recommend this hotel and would stay there again if we went back to Hermanus.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3 and it was lovely, right near the pool with beautiful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We came from Cape Town for a getaway weekend to eat at the excellent Burgundy restaurant across the road from the hotel and play golf at the beautiful Hermanus Golf course. Also popped in for a drink and light meal at the well positioned Gecko Bar at the New Harbour. The hotel is very well located in Hermanus.The room was clean, modern and large enough. Service friendly. Just take your own soft/feather pillows though as they weren't able to provide on request.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking enclosed parking if possible. No view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denzil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Wonderful location overlooking sea. Spacious rooms and restful decor. Close to cliff walks and village centre.
Breakfast room very small and noisy. Staff rather unsure about service in garden area where orders were mixed up but they were very charming

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Janet610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We stayed for 2 days in March. On arrival we were greeted by the wonderful reception staff, to be met by such friendly, smiling staff was very refreshing, I have staying in many 5 Star hotels and they could certainly learn from your reception team.

We were shown to our room on the first floor in the new part of the hotel, with a member of staff (sorry, I cannot remember your name) helping with our case.

The room was the corner room. It was bright, spacious and spotlessly clean.

As you enter the room there is a small well equipped kitchen area, with a microwave, sink, and reasonably sized fridge and the all important kettle.

The room has a large bathroom with both a walk-in shower and a separate bath. Our bathroom had a window so there was plenty of natural light, there were high quality toiletries provided. We had a problem with the hot water in the shower which we reported and this was fixed when we returned to our room.

The bed was large and extremely comfortable, and at the end of the room was a sofa and coffee table, TV with a good choice of international channels and the large patio doors to a small balcony with a fantastic view over the old harbour. Despite being on a road, the rooms are very quiet. I would definitely pay the extra and get a sea view room.

There is a lovely outdoor space with an unheated pool with comfortable sun beds for which there is a great view of the bay.

Breakfast was served downstairs where you have the option to sit outside or inside if the weather is not good. Breakfast was delicious - the Eggs Benedict were cooked to perfection and beautifully presented. There were a good selection of cold meats, and breads and then various cooked offerings. You do not go hungry.

The hotel location is brilliant, step out and you are in the centre of town, or on the cliff walk. You can leave your car (the hotel offers parking immediately outside or there is a small carpark under the hotel) and just walk to one of the many restaurants/shops nearby. The staff will be able to assist with recommendations and bookings

What really impressed us was the staff. All were very knowledgeable about the area and so incredibly friendly. Everyone we met acknowledged us. Our thanks to Pumlani who give excellent advice regarding wine.

Early one morning while sitting out on the balcony we watched a huge pod of dolphins - spectacular sight - with the sun rising across the bay. We also saw a couple of whales close in to the cliffs. What a very special moment.

We really enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate in recommending a stay here. Thank you to all at Harbour House Hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CareySJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Stayed here for two nights and had a room with a balcony overlooking the sea on the third floor. Specifically asked for a sea view and pleased that we did because not all the rooms provide this. Large room and en-suite with everything included that you could need. Hotel situation is really convenient for the cliff path and for the many restaurants nearby in the town centre. Dining room only advertised as available for dinner on Friday, Saturday and Sunday but was not actually open on the Friday we stayed. Grounds small bit nice with an unheated pool. Staff were good but did not feel they went the extra mile that we experienced elsewhere. No complaints at all just not the extra wow factor to give it the highest rating.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank albanyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Having looked at pictures and read through the reviews on their site we went along and booked from the UK. When we arrived we were blown away by the spectacular views and location. Lovely room, great food and very hospitable staff...what more can we ask for. We were very happy with the peace and quiet after a hectic day. I would highly recommend this hotel at the drop of a hat!!!

Room Tip: Fabulous view from any room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evremonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.4 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.3 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
754 reviews
0.5 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.2 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
2.2 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#2 of 11 in Hermanus
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour House Hotel

Address: 22 Harbour Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Price Range: £86 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Harbour House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour House Hotel enjoys the most prominent of positions in the heart of the Old Harbour area, flanked by the seaside and the bustling centre of this holiday town. The magnificent Lookout Terrace invites guests to revel in the soothing surrounds of the ocean ahead and enjoy a lunch from Selkirk's restaurant inspired by abundant local produce and fresh ingredients, alternatively savour a sundowner from the Wine Bar in the Pavilion. Guests are offered a choice of accommodation from the historical architecture of the thatched roof seaside Manor House built in 1920, to the contemporary New Wing and Harbour Square. Rooms are luxuriously appointed with sophisticated modern décor, all within easy walking distance of the town’s top attractions, whale watching sites, markets, restaurants, street cafés and an abundance of reserved natural splendour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Harbour House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing