We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Harbour House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$272
US$227
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Four Pines Lodge(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Windsor Hotel & Apartments(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
US$117
US$76
SA Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baleens(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$124
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$596
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$244
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oude Schuur(Vermont)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,037)
Filter reviews
1,037 results
Traveller rating
478
354
105
58
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
478
354
105
58
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsromantic roomacross the roadwhale watchingrooms are moderncupcakesinfinity poollovely hotelperfect locationcape towngarden routemain buildingsea viewsmall balconysea frontstayed here for one nightwithin easy walking distancesee whales
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
562 - 567 of 1,037 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We were only in Hermanus for two nights but it was a wonderful stay. Harbour House was wonderfully located to everything. A beautiful view of the ocean and easy walk everywhere. The staff was great, made us dinner reservations and called us a taxi whenever it was needed. The rooms were large and clean. The pool overlooking the ocean was a great addition.

Room Tip: The basic rooms are plenty big. Save your money for adventures.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We were a bit lazy on arriving in Hermanus we literally walked in the door to the hotel and booked a stunning room. The superior room was worth every penny with a view to the millpond sea.
Breakfast was very good with a good variety and a generous eat as much as you like policy.
The location next to main road in Hermanus has the potential to be very busy in the whaling season but in April it was quiet and unobtrusive.
We have made a promise to visit again but not to wait until our 40th anniversary !

Room Tip: This is a great hotel but be aware of the potential busy road at the front of the property.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shazzy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed 2 nights just before the Easter weekend. Hotel busy but we were upgraded to an ocean view room (room 11) which had a small but comfortable balcony with chairs. Good double glazing which allowed for a quiet nights sleep, despite some activity in the square outside.
Nice welcome and able to park directly outside.
Our second visit (see last years review). Room was spotlessly clean, excellent L'occitaine cosmetics in the bathroom and large, comfortable bed. Staff all very friendly.
Probably the best situated hotel in Hermanus with easy,safe walking to restaurants.
Only disappointment is that they no longer offer all sports channels on the TV's (did so last year) - not sure why the change?
Very enjoyable nevertheless.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROKNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Harbour House hotel. The staff were most definitely the highlight of our stay (in particular Prince) who went out of their way to see that all our needs were met. The room was decorated beautifully - a simple, minimal elegance but without feeling cold. Underfloor heating gave the room a wonderful warm ambiance for a stormy winters night. The location is superb - all the major amenities are within walking distance. We had dinner at the hotel both nights and although their menu consisted of only light meals, we thought the value for money was really good (considering restaurants in Hermanus are generally fairly pricey). We can most definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and would love to return in future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GinetteBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We were here only for a very short stay, a transit between Cape Town and Grootbos. However, I must say the staff here was amazing especially Ferdinand from behind the bar. He jumped around to assist us in any way possible. their breakfast was also amazing.

We got a studio apartment as we were traveling with our infant. The room was large and spacious with well appointed facilities and lovely views of the town square and bay.

I would strongly recommend this place for those who want to stop in Hermanus as its location is perfect. They are close to the good restaurants on the bay, a pick and pay is around the corner as well as a quaint bookshop known as Hemingways!

A point to note. They also have their own parking so you can leave your car there and walk around the town.

Room Tip: I believe the views from the other wing were better but since that side is cordoned of for children we were unable to get a look.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gobeyondtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews