We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harbour House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Hermanus
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

The only thing we enjoyed about this hotel is the fact that it is very central we could walk where ever we wanted to go, the staff that we did see were friendly. Breakfast can be more of a variety, I had the english breakfast it was very oily and the mushrooms were way to salty. The rooms were comfortable and very clean.

Room Tip: street facing rooms are very nice as they have a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rochelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harb0urH0useH0tel, General Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2014
Dear RochelleW,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the hotel’s location and our rooms. We will be discussing your constructive comments with our team members in order to improve our standards.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Reagrds
Mariane Maree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    429
    299
    82
    41
    38
See reviews for
154
545
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night as we were journeying from Cape Town to the Garden Route. The hotel is a great location and the rooms are very impressive, the bed in particular is massive and so comfy. There was a little confusion when we arrived with 2 staff trying to give us different instructions and possibly one too many staff asking if we wanted to book the boat trip. Really this is being picky. The hotel is lovely and the breakfast was good too.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kels510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harb0urH0useH0tel, General Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2014
Dear Kels510,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Harbour House. We are pleased that you have enjoyed our location and rooms. Your comments are appreciated and will be taken up with our staff in order to improve.

We look forward welcoming you back to Harbour House in the near future.

Kind Regards

Mariane Maree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Had a room with a sea view - lovely. Room was big, clean and very comfortable. Nice having a kettle and fridge in the room. Staff were friendly and very helpful. Don't write many hotel reviews - but I think they deserve one.. thank you :-)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverley2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harb0urH0useH0tel, Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2014
Dear Beverley2014,

Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Mariane Maree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

The location for this hotel cannot be beaten. The view itself cannot be beaten, but add whales into that mix and well...

The staff were very friendly and helpful. Could not ask for more. Thank you.

Breakfast was excellent

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 186478Claire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harb0urH0useH0tel, General Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2014
Dear 186478Claire,

Thank you for your wonderful comments which we have shared with our staff. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Mariane Maree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

My parents have booked in the hotel for their anniversary and I sent an email asking them to send me a wine list on the 11 of July, they replied straight away saying they will send it through soon. On the 18 of July I followed up with no reply and I have just sent through yet another email requesting the wine list today. It may be the perfect location but if the service and communication is this bad before you even go there it makes you doubt how it will be when there.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayDun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harb0urH0useH0tel, General Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear JTDunlop,

Thank you for your feedback. Please accept our sincere apologies for the poor service you have experienced. This is certainly not the level of service we aim for our guests.

Your comments are appreciated and will be taken up with our staff in order to assist them improve their overall performance and service delivery.


We look forward to welcome your parents to Harbour House and assure you of our best attention.

Kind Regards

Mariane Maree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
110 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

This Hotel has the perfect location. Close to town centre and shops and over looking the beautiful bay. Ons can sit at the pool and do whale watching.
The rooms are modern and well equipped.
Breakfast is tasty but small in variety- my egg Benedict on a croissant was lovely but my husbands omelette was very pale and tasteless, looked like it was only prepared with egg whites.
The hotel does not serve dinner but across the street is Burgundy that is a very good restaurant.
Service was very friendly.

Room Tip: Select a room facing the street and not the back of the hotel. Rooms facing the street have a balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KittyLamprecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harb0urH0useH0tel, General Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Kitty Lamprecht,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are most grateful for your honest feedback, which we accept as a valuable source of information for us to improve our services and the product we offer.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Mariane Maree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

This hotel is right in the heart of Hermanus and a perfect base to explore the town, the cliff walks and to whale watch. It is modern and well appointed and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent. Our rooms did not overlook the bay but nevertheless the view was OK. Car parking was not a problem in front of the hotel (but it was out of season). We saw lots of whales from the cliff walks, often less than 50 metres from the shore and din't need to take a boat trip. During our 2 days there we didn't need to leave the town or use the car.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the old harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harold59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harb0urH0useH0tel, General Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Harold59,

Many thanks for your wonderful review of your experience at Harbour House, which have proudly shared with our staff. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and our location.

We look forward welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards.
Mariane Maree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.3 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#3 of 12 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
0.4 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.3 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 12 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.5 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour House Hotel

Property: Harbour House Hotel
Address: 22 Harbour Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Harbour House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the historical village, Harbour House Hotel has been modelled after its original architecture, a thatched roof seaside manor house built in 1920. Being perfectly located above the Old Harbour, the hotel's understated luxury is offset by the soothing surrounds of the ocean. The magnificent Lookout Terrace invites guests to relax around the infinity pool overlooking the ocean and savour a sundowner from the pool bar in the Pavilion. Harbour House Hotel consists of the restored Manor House with intimate Romantic Rooms, all with views, as well as the New Wing with 18 spacious suites, featuring sophisticated modern decor, a kitchenette and lounge leading out onto a private balcony. Guests are afforded luxury at every turn, from 100% fine white cotton bedding to marble and granite finishes. Sleek lines and carefully curated art pieces add to the modern aesthetic of each room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Harbour House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing