We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleeping to the sound of the ocean - simply stunning”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 86 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sleeping to the sound of the ocean - simply stunning”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed here for two nights during October as part of a trip to the Cape region. The quality of the accommodation was truly outstanding. The attention to detail is unsurpassed, even by luxury hotels we have stayed in around the world. The house was designed by the owners and really makes the most of the beachfront location. The owners and staff were helpful and the food excellent. The advice on where to visit and eat really made our short visit special. We had close encounters with whales - we could even see whales from the ocean-facing bath tub. We really enjoyed the pre-dinner sherry each night that was provided in the upstairs lounge/terrace - the perfect spot to watch the sunset or spot whales. The decor throughout the house reflects the location perfectly. We enjoyed sleeping to the sound of the waves outside the widows, perfect peace... I would highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr K J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    884
    72
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
145
674
27
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We spent 3 great days here (despite the bad weather!). The staff was very helpful to give good advices on the restaurants and the things to do around, make the reservations for us etc - thanks Belinda and team :-)
Nothing to say about the view, which is just outstanding (you have the sea just in front of you!).
Rooms are clean and spacious, breakfast is good.
The only "bad" thing we could say about this hotel is that it is located in Sandbaai which is 10 mn away from the center of Hermanus by car. Nothing to do around except walking on the waterfront.
But this is compensated by this feeling you are at home and everyone is here to make you spend a great stay.

Room Tip: The Oyster room is the one with the most beautiful view on the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I was riding a mountain bike race in Houwhoek and my husband, who had a broken knee at the time, wanted to have somewhere comfortable to stay for the weekend so we booked into 138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse. Louise and Jena, our hosts could not have been more accommodating to our unusual requests - I had two very early breakfasts laid on in fine style and my bike was accommodated safely in their garage with all of my other riding gear. My husband was pampered and tended to beautifully with real kindness and care. My husband still talks about the sumptuous breakfast to this day! It was a feast of fine dining. The rooms were a delight with flowers everywhere and loads of attention to the small details. We had such a happy weekend and enjoyed our two days enormously - we will definitely return and recommend the guesthouse as a warm, friendly, homely and beautifully appointed place to stay with magnificent views of our lovely coastline. Thank you to Louise and Jena.

Room Tip: All rooms were lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiona n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We had the privilege to stay at 138 Marine Guesthouse for two consecutive years. In September 2012 for 3 nights in the Abalone room and July 2013 for 5 nights in Oyster room. The perfect whale watching time!!
The service, breakfast, cleanliness, hosts, staff etc were wonderful.
The sea view from this guesthouse is magnificent - be sure to bring your binoculars with! We saw Whales from the breakfast room and from the balcony! Although in Sandbaai and not in the direct (huzzle and buzzle) district of Hermanus, it is so close to everything that this is not problem at all. The cliff paths is also wonderful, safe and (I LOVE THIS NEXT PART) full of people walking their dogs from early morning to late evening. Coming from THE GAUTENG my first question to Jenna was - is it safe to walk alone along these cliff paths... she laughed at me for being a paranoid Gautenger and she was right. We felt very safe and were walking up and down the cliff paths admiring the wonderful views that this place has to offer.
I would most definitely recommend this guesthouse to anyone who enjoys the personal touch!

Room Tip: Oyster Room is the best room in the house with a full sea view!! But if you want to go smaller and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The location is hard to beat and there is nothing better than going to sleep listening to the waves outside.
The property is well appointed and extremely clean and your every query is attentively researched by the owners who appear to care deeply that your Hermanus experience is an excellent one.
We would recommend staying out of the town for the peace and quiet but obviously you do need to drive or taxi to restaurants so bear this in mind.
Breakfast is beautifully cooked and the hot meal changes daily. We did not ask for alternatives but feel that this would have been accommodated within reason .
The coast is wonderful and if you have the energy /the legs and a good camera then do the walk from New Harbour along the Cliff Path to Hermanus and beyond(Sievers Punt)to see some spectacular sights and the whales(in season).
Do drive further up the coast to some of the more empty and dramatic sandy beaches and stop at Madres Kitchen for a meal as this place is idyllic (but check opening times).
We loved this part of our trip and Hermanus has some good shopping and some very good restaurants so is worth a visit. We went during Whale week and it was a bit crowded as a result so perhaps avoid this big public holiday, long weekend as it is a mecca for young and old ,whale watchers or not.

Room Tip: Front of the building( up or down) gives wonderful views of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank voa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steeg, Austria
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We were only able to stay at 138 Marine for one night which was a great pity. The location is wonderful and it was a pleasure to greeted by Rose and Jena. We stayed in a lovely room, looking out over the ocean and very much enjoyed the comfortable relaxed surroundings.

Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts and they provided some lovely extra little touches, including complimentary champagne at Breakfast to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary!

If we are fortunate enough to return to Hermanus we would definitely want to stay here again, only for longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HausBergheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This is a little gem of a place. We only had one day to stay during our honeymoon trip and it was a pity. Such a beautiful guesthouse and the hosts Rose and Jena are super sweet that it felt like we were with family, you won't find many like that for sure. We arrived to a flower petal bed and a champagne breakfast sprinkled with stars and the best view of Hermanus. We will be definitely coming back but the next time for much longer. Bring a book, sit back with the amazing views and sip on a glass of wine looking out at the amazing views. I have uploaded some photos just for proof ;-) Keep it up Rose and Jena! You rock!
Brendan & Diana

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bjmoloney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
2.6 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
3.0 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
3.1 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
910 reviews
2.5 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
5.2 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 11 in Hermanus
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse

Property: 138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse
Address: 138 Kus Road | Sand Bay, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — 138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse, is a National WINNER of SOUTH AFRICAN TOURISM AWARDS (2010; 2011; 2013). Enjoy magnificent views of the whales and stunning African sunsets over the ocean from the comfort of your bedroom or the lounges. The six luxurious designer suites are individually fitted with all modern comforts, meeting international standards. This is the perfect romantic getaway, close to two popular golf courses, and at the gateway of the Hermanus Wine Route. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your 138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing