We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 85 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

A 2 night stay of tranquility and excellent service all round. Beautiful seaside location with 100% uninterrupted views - you cross the road and are on the shoreline. Warm hospitality, warm rooms ( underfloor heating was VERY welcome as it was a rather cold winter stay ) clean amenities, and the most delicious breakfasts. ( I could write a review just on the amazing and unexpectedly top notch gourmet style cooked breakfasts, and vegetarians are catered for )
I think when whale season is in full swing, you would not have to leave the guest house to have crowd free, front row seat viewing of them.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmNew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,001)
There are newer reviews for 138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 1,001 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

My husband and I stayed over at 138 Marine Beachfront Guestfront for one night only, which was a last minute booking,as we were heading off somewhere else. It was absolutely amazing, breathtaking views of the seas, and most tranquil and relaxing ever. The service is fantastic and the hearty breakfast was delicious! It was our first time there, but we will certainly be back for a longer period.
Thank you to the warm and friendly staff of 138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse.
We will be back!
Eugene & Theresa Lomberg

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theresalomberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My lovely husband and I stayed in this 'paradise' in March this year and would have stayed forever if we could have!. It truly is an awesome place and we had a wonderful 2 night stay. The rooms are fabulous, the hospitality, service, and location second to none. ALL creature comforts taken care of in such a warm and friendly way. We went for a walk along the sea front in the mornings before being served a breakfast to die for - truly 'works of art' that seemed wrong to disturb with a knife and fork!! We needed another walk after breakfast! The rooms spotless,warm,comfortable with attention to detail of the highest order. We would recommend this to anyone and everyone visiting Hermanus. Indeed, have done to several people already! Thank you SO much to all the staff, especially Belinda who was so helpful and charming throughout our stay. I have the little shell you gave us in our bathroom to remind me of our lovely time with you -never to be forgotten! We WILL return!!

Room Tip: The whole guesthouse is perfect, whichever room you stay in!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annieapple27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We spent a weekend in early June 14 and were very impressed by the standard of the property itself and the service we received. We were a family of 11 from 85 year old grandparents to 18 year olds so we had the whole place to ourselves. When the grand parents mentioned feeling cold hot water bottles were put in their beds so they were nice and toasty by the time they got back to the room. Everything was superlative, decor, beds, comfort, service. Would recommend to anyone.
Can't say enough about this place

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RME497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed at ‘138 Marine’ in Sep 13. The words perfectly relaxing sum it up for us. Warm & friendly welcome with advice on where to visit locally, plus a warm & friendly goodbye – a nicely unique touch.
The room we stayed in had stunning views; a picturesque sunset, a star filled sky and the whale in the bay in the morning. The attention to detail in the room decoration has been beautifully considered. The breakfast was the best I had during my South Africa stay.
138 Marine has certainly given us some great memories - our thanks to owners and staff,

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank d s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

What a gem! My boyfriend and I stayed at 138 Marine this past June and had such a pleasant stay. It was off-season so we were able to make a rez last minute (though know they are almost always fully booked in-season). First, the B&B is beautiful...it's spotless and the design makes you feel like you're at a friend's personal fancy beach house. Second, the customer service is top-notch. Rosemary was extremely warm and welcoming and made us feel at home. The attention to detail...from the turning down of the sheets, to the breakfast in the morning to the seashell they give you on the way out...was truly exceptional and on par with a five star resort. Third, the location is amazing...directly across the street from the ocean. You can hear and see the pounding waves from anywhere in the house. My boyfriend and I enjoyed our time at 138 Marine so much we decided to stay a second night. This is the nicest B&B I have ever stayed in. I would recommend it to any of my friends and family.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clhagner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Everything was prefect – the rooms, service, breakfast … and the weather! The attention to detail is “spot on”. We can recommend this to anybody and are sure you will have as good a time as we did!” We have decided to book already for next year.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VickyColyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
2.6 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
3.1 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
693 reviews
3.0 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
2.4 mi away
Auberge Provence
Auberge Provence
#2 of 85 in Hermanus
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse

Address: 138 Kus Road | Sand Bay, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range: £76 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse, is a National WINNER of SOUTH AFRICAN TOURISM AWARDS (2010; 2011; 2013). Enjoy magnificent views of the whales and stunning African sunsets over the ocean from the comfort of your bedroom or the lounges. The six luxurious designer suites are individually fitted with all modern comforts, meeting international standards. This is the perfect romantic getaway, close to two popular golf courses, and at the gateway of the Hermanus Wine Route. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your 138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing