We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ideal”
Review of Hortensia Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hortensia Lodge
Ranked #62 of 87 Hermanus B&B and Inns
vallée de la Loirel
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“ideal”
Reviewed 13 March 2011

In the portfollio book, they said "ideally situated" and it is just true...
we spend 2 nights in this very confortable guest house. Just near the city, but not too much. No need to go by car, just walk for the restaurants.
Rolf knows what "welcome" means. The rooms are very confortable and it is very nice to sleep with the window open.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tienoumat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    11
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alnarp
1 review
Reviewed 5 November 2010

Dear Rolf,
Now we consider us a bit resettled at home again, mentally and physically. We send this small message only to let you know how happy we all were staying at your place . Also enjoying your wisdom and good recommendations. Without your advices we had missed a lot, like pincushions at Fernkloof. I myself will never forget the growling whales at De Kelders. Hope everything is fine with you and hope to see you in the near future (as they say when landing). As we see it now future may be November 2012.
Anders and Barbro. Our friends send their greetings

Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AndersAlnarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2009

Had a very enjoyable stay at this guest house, well looked after by Rolf who was friendly and helpful.
Contrary to the last reviewer, our room was a little small (and certainly didn't have a seperate sitting area), although perfectly adequate. But what really makes this a great place to stay and relax is the beautifully maintained garden and pool area.
The guest house is a 10-15 minute walk into the centre of this small and pleasant seaside town, located in a smart residential area.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ParisExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Haven, CT
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2008

We stayed here in April 2008 for one night. We had stayed in many guesthouses during our South African tour and this one impressed us for a few reasons: the rooms were spacious. The double my wife and I stayed in had a couch and sitting area. There was also plenty of room to unpack and reorganize your luggage. The bathroom was very clean and tidy and western (with washcloths!) Also, there wasn't any of the frilly nonsense (big decorative pillows and other stuff to clutter up the room). The breakfast was great; try the muesli, it was some of the best we had (crunchy and very fresh).

Rolf has a great sense of humor and is a fantastic host. He's in his mid-70s and is from Germany and runs around the place like he's in his 40s. And the hydrangeas were amazing; literally, the size of a bowling ball.

The location of the guesthouse is within walking distance of the main part of town. It's at the eastern extent of the 'hot area' and about 2 blocks back from the coastline.

  • Liked — Clean, spacious rooms
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank daveespo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.2 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hermanus Dorpshuys
Hermanus Dorpshuys
#1 of 87 in Hermanus
378 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kenjockity Apartments
Kenjockity Apartments
#11 of 42 in Hermanus
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hermanus Guesthouse
Hermanus Guesthouse
#8 of 87 in Hermanus
655 reviews
0.5 mi away
Twentyfour17 Inn
Twentyfour17 Inn
#50 of 87 in Hermanus
62 reviews
0.6 mi away
Windsor Self Catering Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hortensia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hortensia Lodge

Property: Hortensia Lodge
Address: 66 Mitchell Street, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hortensia Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated near the Hermanus Waterfront, Hortensia Lodge offers spacious and comfortable bedrooms. Set in a peaceful garden with sparkling pool and mountain views the guest lounge and dining room ensure privacy and comfort. Golf course, shops, restaurants and scenic cliff path along the ocean are all within 500 metres of the lodge. beaches, vineyards and mountain trails are 5 minutes by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hortensia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing