We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming”
Review of Cliff Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cliff Cottage
Ranked #29 of 86 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Welcoming”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This was my second visit to Cliff Cottage and like the time before, Dot and Chuck were the best hosts ever. The rooms were spotless and spacious. The location is perfect. You can practically touch the cliffs. I can't recommend this place enough, not only for the hospitality of Dot and Chuck, but for the lovely atmosphere and great location!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyla F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffCottagebnb, Manager at Cliff Cottage, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Hi Kyla. Thanks for the great review and kind comments. We always enjoy have customers return to us for a second visit - till next time ... rest regards Chuck and Dot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    52
    14
    0
    0
See reviews for
62
152
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This was our second stay with Dot and Chuck, a natural choice for us, given the welcome we experienced on our previous trip. A delightful couple, for whom nothing was too much trouble. This time, we occupied one of the garden rooms, which was spotless and very comfortable. Breakfast was served in the garden and was pure delight. I would no hesitation in recommending Cliff Cottage to anybody wanting to stay in the beautiful location of Hermanus.
Thank you for your hospitality.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itsnotmeagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffCottagebnb, Manager at Cliff Cottage, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear John and Jan. It was a pleasure having you stay again at Cliff Cottage. We do appreciate your kind comments, and hope to see you again next year. Best regards, Dot and Chuck.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Chuck and Dot were wonderful hosts at the Cliff Cottage. They were very friendly and had great suggestions for local flair. The room was clean and comfortable as well. We really enjoyed how hospitable and friendly it was.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amanda a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffCottagebnb, Manager at Cliff Cottage, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thanks for you review. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again! Kind regards, Dot and Chuck.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 March 2014

This was our second stay with Dot & Chuck who are great hosts & has a real home from home feeling.Great location for walking along the cliff top into the town of Hermanus which has brilliant restaurants or just chilling in the garden, missing it already, will be back. Ann & Tony Whitehead

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ann w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffCottagebnb, Manager at Cliff Cottage, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Hi Ann and Tony. Great to have you back again - and that you enjoyed your stay. Till next time, Chuck and Dot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We felt at home from the first day at this lovely house !
Chuck an Dot are so nice people and always very friendly.
Our room wehre we stayed for some days was always very clean.
The garden was perfect to releax . For breakfast we could get whatever we
want.
We will come back for sure !

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarionMMMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffCottagebnb, Manager at Cliff Cottage, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thanks for your kind comments - hope to have you back again some day. Best regards, Dot and Chuck.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Since we fell in love with South Africa we always stay for some days at the Cliff Cottage.
Chuck and Dot are wonderful hosts who know the area very well and send you to all the highlights along Walker Bay including the good restaurants. The rooms are nice, cosy and clean and breakfasts are freshly prepared to you choice. In a minute you're on the cliff path and can walk either to town or to the new harbour. To arrive at Cliff Cottage is always like coming home.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ursula G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffCottageHermanus, Manager at Cliff Cottage, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Ursula
Thank you so much for the kind comments, they are much appreciated.
We are so lucky that we will
see you and Manfred again this year, we look forward to it.
Best regards Dot and Chuck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 14 February 2014

If you want to breathe in the "champagne air" in the beautiful environment of Hermanus, this is the place to stay. A wonderful family atmosphere in a large, walled-in, safe sanctuary of a garden. As you lie on the chaise longue, listening to the sea, in the protection of the surrounding mountains, with a book and maybe a glass of local wine, you can be forgiven for thinking that you have died and gone to heaven. If you love birds, like we do, they will add yet another wonderful dimension to this garden. Chuck and Dot are such helpful and delightful hosts. We have stayed there twice now and we hope to stay there again in the future as the accommodation is so enjoyable that it feels like living in your own holiday home, with great breakfasts to look forward to as well.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffCottagebnb, Manager at Cliff Cottage, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thanks very much for your kind review. We look forward to welcoming you back some time in the future. Best regards, Dot and Chuck.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.2 mi away
Hermanus Guesthouse
Hermanus Guesthouse
#9 of 86 in Hermanus
648 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Potting Shed Accommodation
2.9 mi away
78on5th in Hermanus
78on5th in Hermanus
#11 of 86 in Hermanus
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hermanus Dorpshuys
Hermanus Dorpshuys
#1 of 86 in Hermanus
373 reviews
0.6 mi away
House on Westcliff
House on Westcliff
#24 of 86 in Hermanus
202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Penguino Guesthouse
Penguino Guesthouse
#23 of 86 in Hermanus
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff Cottage

Property: Cliff Cottage
Address: 22 Westcliff Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cliff Cottage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and relax at Cliff Cottage, just across the road from the famous Hermanus cliff paths and some of the best land-based whale watching in the world. We offer spacious Cape Dutch en-suite double or twin bedrooms and family suites, with garden entrances, off-street parking, mountain views, and scrumptious home-cooked or continental breakfasts. You can take a scenic walk along the cliff paths to the village shops, bars, restaurants and craft market. The magnificent Grotto beach, Fernkloof Nature reserve, premier 27-hole Golf Course and the Hemel-en-Arde Valley vineyards are all just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Cliff Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing