We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breakaway to Lovely Cliff Cottage”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cliff Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cliff Cottage
Ranked #31 of 87 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Angola
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Breakaway to Lovely Cliff Cottage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2010

Felt like we were on holiday, but with the family!Cliff Cottage staff (Chuck & Dott) is incredible. Made us feel at home, and service is amazing.
Lovely, peacefull relaxing holiday from home, but also close to town.
What a lovely place!!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank _cindyplessis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    51
    14
    0
    0
See reviews for
61
151
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grobbendonk, Belgium
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2009

We spent 2 nights at Cliff Cottage but wished we had stayed longer. Our host's Chuck & Dot were very friendly and most helpful. The breakfast was more than enough and the rooms were very spacious and clean. We arrived as strangers and left as friends. We will certainly go back again whe we visit South Africa again.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Va
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2009

Cliff Cottage was a great place for our family (including children, ages 8 & 10 years) to stay for a few days. It is well located, near the Cliff Path. Our hosts, Chuck and Dot were very friendly and helpful....and made a great breakfast. Chuck is even retired from my company, IBM....what a life change. And whaled watching or simply puttering around in Hermanus was very fun and relaxing...and very safe to talk to / from town and the cottage, even at night.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharonshops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2009

we really enjoyed our stay with chuck and dot at cliff cottage . on arrival we got a warm welcome and we were felling like at home. the room we got was really nice furnished and very clean. there is a big garden were you can relax. the cliff cottage is located in walking distance from down-town and near by the cliff-path.
fresh an rich breakfast will be served from chuck and dot.
those two a really very nice persons with a lot of humor. always open for a chat and very good tips for a nice stay in hermanus.

we defenitly come back :-)

Gudrun and George

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Subdiver77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
77 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2009

The B&B is a ten-minutes walk from the centre of Hermanus. Our garden room was located in a separate small cottage - the bathroom was on the smaller side but the bed was comfortable and the room spacious. There is safe car parking on the premises. The hosts are extremely friendly and welcoming, who - among many other things - cook ovely big breakfasts. In all, this is a good, friendly, no-frills place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wimbrussel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2009

I stayed here with my husband and 2 year old daughter.

We had cottage number 2. It had a large double bed, and a single room off the double with a single bed and we were provided with a travel cot.
There was a kitchenette and a bath with shower.

Chuck & Dot who run the guest house were so hospitable and friendly and full of information and knowledge about Hermanus.
The full breakfast, with cereal, toast, fresh fruit salad, juice, tea, coffee, muffins etc... was excellent. A good meal to set you up for the day.

It is such a child friendly place. High chair, travel cot, big garden. All safe for children to explore.

Chuck organised the whale boat trip for us which was fantastic. You can also do shark diving and other trips.

It is a 2 minute walk to the cliffs where we were lucky enough to view the whales.

Easy to walk and drive into town.

Lots of lovely places to eat that Chuck and Dot recommended.

Would definely recommend this B&B and hope to get there again one day.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2009

The garden room we stayed in was very private and comfortable. Off street secure parking was a bonus. Easy access to the cliff path which takes you into Hermanus. We got our first sightings of whales, very close to the rocks, while walking along the cliff path.
Chuck, breakfast was great.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BadgerBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.3 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.1 mi away
Penguino Guesthouse
Penguino Guesthouse
#21 of 87 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pelagus House
Pelagus House
#40 of 87 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
House on Westcliff
House on Westcliff
#24 of 87 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
2.9 mi away
78on5th in Hermanus
78on5th in Hermanus
#10 of 87 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hermanus Dorpshuys
Hermanus Dorpshuys
#2 of 87 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff Cottage

Property: Cliff Cottage
Address: 22 Westcliff Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cliff Cottage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and relax at Cliff Cottage, just across the road from the famous Hermanus cliff paths and some of the best land-based whale watching in the world. We offer spacious Cape Dutch en-suite double or twin bedrooms and family suites, with garden entrances, off-street parking, mountain views, and scrumptious home-cooked or continental breakfasts. You can take a scenic walk along the cliff paths to the village shops, bars, restaurants and craft market. The magnificent Grotto beach, Fernkloof Nature reserve, premier 27-hole Golf Course and the Hemel-en-Arde Valley vineyards are all just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cliff Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing