We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice private stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Whale Away Guest House
Ranked #53 of 85 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Small B & B in a modern home. Just a few steps away from the coastline and a beautiful footpath along the sea leads you in 10 minutes in the center of Hermanus. The room was nice and modern, but not really spacious. On-site parking. From the pool is very small, you can hartley swim in it. Friendly and helpful hostess and a good hearty breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bartho0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
There are newer reviews for Whale Away Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2013

Very nice B&B, and Esther, the manager, was very friendly and accommodating to my friend and I, even though our stay was relatively short.

But the room was outstanding that we stayed in - especially the luxury bathroom. And you can't beat the rate.

Definitely would recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zakgottlieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Very good bed and breakfast, more like a small hotel. Good rooms and facilities, on-site manageress (despite the small number of rooms), good location a block from the cliff walk and a few minutes from the town center, good breakfast.
Only strange thing was the valuables box in our room (room 4). When we came to empty it, the code wouldn't work. We know we had entered the code correctly, because my wife and I did it together. The manageress opened it with her pass key effortlessly.
Would like to hear if anyone else experienced the same problem

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We stayed here for one night here on our tour from Port Elizabeth to Cape Town. Staying at this B & B was a pleasurable experience. It is located just out of the centre of Hermanus about a 10 minute walk away. The B & B is a large modern house. Our room was spacious enough and well appointed, with a modern bathroom and with aircon, not always available at this price point.
The breakfast was not the best on our trip but adequate, and we had to pre-order what we wanted the night before, even down to the cereal! Not really what you would expect.
However, our welcome and the service was very friendly and this B & B is a good place to stay in Hermanus at it’s price point - so recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Whale View Guest House falsely has a 4 star rating. The room décor and facilities probably do achieve that status, it was spotlessly clean and served a nice breakfast. It is located well for access to Hermanus centre. The manageress couldn't have been more helpful. The problem is the noise and privacy. It is adjacent to a busy road. The small pool is in the front car park. The fridge in the room hummed, the water pump could be heard every time anyone used water. The room we had was directly next to the reception and it appeared other rooms were similarly situated in relation to the reception or dining / lounge room. There are no views other than for one room up stairs. When in any room one needs to keep the blinds closed if there is to be any privacy. The shower pressure was poor and the water drained very slowly. All told as value for money this came last on our South African holiday.

Room Tip: There is only one with a view - ask for that but be aware that it shares a common balcony with the l...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

My wife and I have stayed at this B&B 3 times in the past few years. We have stayed in the honeymoon suite which is the largest room. It overlooks the ocean and has a large walk in bathroom. The room has a wonderful view of the ocean. The B&B offers secure parking and clean/serene facilities. Breakfast is always scrumptious and hearty. The place is a walk away from the beach. You will want to come back.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VimalSingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Whale Away Guest House is in an ideal position close enough to walk into town and immediately opposite an open grassy area that leads straight onto the coastal path where we managed to see humpbacked whales and a wild tortoise. Our bedroom was to the front of the house so we could hear the traffic in the mornings. Hester, the manager, was extremely helpful booking restaurants checking our daily routes to and from wineries, golf clubs etc and also making sure our breakfast was just how we liked it - sunny side up/over easy! The swimming pool to the front of the house although public was a welcome place to cool off when the days got hot and there is a sitting area on the first floor and balcony where you can sit and relax with their coffee table books or enjoy a pre-dinner drink with friends. All in all very good value.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back of the guest house would be slightly quieter because of the road and also upstairs...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.4 mi away
Mulligans Guest Lodge
Mulligans Guest Lodge
#17 of 85 in Hermanus
199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jakasa Guesthouse
Jakasa Guesthouse
#57 of 85 in Hermanus
11 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hermanus Guesthouse
Hermanus Guesthouse
#8 of 85 in Hermanus
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hortensia Lodge
Hortensia Lodge
#62 of 85 in Hermanus
36 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bamboo Guest House
Bamboo Guest House
#9 of 85 in Hermanus
358 reviews
1.1 mi away
Penguino Guesthouse
Penguino Guesthouse
#25 of 85 in Hermanus
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whale Away Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whale Away Guest House

Address: 223 Main Road | Eastcliff, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range: £89 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Whale Away Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Whale Away Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing