We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Whale Away Guest House
Ranked #56 of 87 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We had a very nice stay at the whale away. The location is perfect for an overnight stay. Close to the cliff path. The rooms are spacious, clean and nicely decorated. Rooms are described as mountain view, but that needs a lot of imagination - better described as garden view.

The only comment I have is regarding breakfast. This was not 'help yourself', quantities were a bit small and choices were limited: no continental breakfast available (ham, cheese, etc). Also, we were with a family in two rooms and breakfast was served at two separate tables, which was a bit strange.

Breakfast between 9 am and 10 am, which is a bit restrictive, given that check out is before 10 am.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HongKongTraveller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2013

We enjoyed our weekend in Hermanus at Whale Away very much. The decor and finishings are of a very high standard and it was spotlessly clean. The breakfast was absolutely superb - Esther is a warm and welcoming hostess and we felt very comfortable. I slept like a log - even though the traffic is obviously audible, being on the Main Road. That being said, it is ideally located directly opposite the walk down to the cliff path - a stunning scenic meander to restaurants and the town centre. We loved our bathroom with it's separate toilet and huge bath. All in all we can honestly recommend this guest house and would definitely stay here again. Thank you Esther!!

Room Tip: We had a look at the other rooms - they are all lovely. if you want to see the sea then pick a front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenda711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We spent a fantastic night here. Beautiful room, very comfortable, cosy. Great manageress who was attentive and welcoming. Felt like home away from home. All we were looking for and more. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Many thanks to Hester!

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms on front side are quiet, peaceful, private entrance, car is in sight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This guesthouse is small - with only five rooms which provides a more personalized service. Esther, the manageress, is a lovely woman, making sure we are comfortable, happy and eager to oblige to our every need. Our room was perfect - big enough to accommodate our luggage and big boots (winter...) and opening onto a lovely courtyard with a garden. The sad thing was that the water filtration pump was located adjacent to our room (no. 5) which made a lot of noise whenever someone would use hot water, and annoyingly, some guests did shower rather late at night and it disturbed our sleep slightly. Our room came with lovely amenities from Charlotte Rhys - an exclusive Cape Town brand of bath/body products. The breakfast area was lovely, situated on the first floor with an outside deck with seaview. It was too cold to sit outdoors so breakfast was enjoyed inside the cosy room with a state-of-the-art kitchen. Will definitely recommend. The room comes with pretty bathrobes simple but classically elegant), nice comfortable beds and blankets. There is even a mini-bar fridge.
Although situated on main road, it is quiet enough for a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mademoiselle_Nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Large room huge bathroom very clean and a good breakfast to start the day before whale watching. Friendly owner who helped with every thing we needed also let us use her Wifi when down. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidColinMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Good location in hermanus.
Lovely and spotless room with great bathroom and lovely bath.
Very helpful and friendly owner who recommended and booked a lovely restaurant.
Overall we really enjoyed our night here and would stay again, thankyou!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzannah198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Small B & B in a modern home. Just a few steps away from the coastline and a beautiful footpath along the sea leads you in 10 minutes in the center of Hermanus. The room was nice and modern, but not really spacious. On-site parking. From the pool is very small, you can hartley swim in it. Friendly and helpful hostess and a good hearty breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bartho0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.3 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.8 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
1.3 mi away
On the Cliff Guest House
On the Cliff Guest House
#21 of 87 in Hermanus
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hermanus Guesthouse
Hermanus Guesthouse
#9 of 87 in Hermanus
691 reviews
1.1 mi away
Penguino Guesthouse
Penguino Guesthouse
#19 of 87 in Hermanus
155 reviews
0.1 mi away
6 Stemmet Lodge
6 Stemmet Lodge
#45 of 87 in Hermanus
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whale Away Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whale Away Guest House

Address: 223 Main Road | Eastcliff, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range: £92 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Whale Away Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Whale Away Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing