We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Guest House with lovely views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Whale Away Guest House
Ranked #51 of 86 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fine Guest House with lovely views”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We greatly enjoyed our two nights at this excellent, well positioned Guest House. Our room was spacious, well appointed and stylish with the added bonus of an outside seating area in the pleasant garden. It is handily situated near the cliff walk for whale watching, but also within a reasonable walk into the town. The manageress was most attentive and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicholasp391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    60
    14
    6
    6
See reviews for
14
110
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, UK
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I think my title says it all - this place is really really good. The Manager Hester (who we thought was the owner as her attention to detail / drive / enthusiasm is so good) really looked after us - nothing was too much trouble. The rooms are spacious, well furnished and we were able to see the whales right from our room.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leeandhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night in the honeymoon suite. It was amazing, if the whales would be around we could see them from our room. Just a few minutes walk and you are near the waterfront and you can spot whales easily (like we did)
The room was big with a great bathroom with nice products. The manager is a great women who will help you with everything and also the staff will make a great breakfast and is very helpful. The suggestion to have dinner in restaurant Burgundy was amazing. Also for a nice cocktail and (nachos!) go to coco's.
We would highly recommend this place and if we would go back to Hermanus this will be our stay!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RogerLiz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Ideally situated for whale watching , walking the cliffs before an excellent breakfast watching whales close to the shore was a bonus.Estha was an excellent host and could not have done any more to make our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We have just returned a 2 week stay at Whale a Way Guest House and what a wonderful time, Estha and her staff were so friendly and breakfast was wonderful , Estha booked all our trips and restaurants much nicer than staying at a large Hotel ,we will remember our Golden Wedding in Hermanus staying at Whale a Way

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Located 10 mins walk to Hermanus, lovely coastal route to walk. Found the place quite regimental on breakfast and how operated. Room was front, not much noise from road, not a pool more like a splash pool. Clean rooms, average rate per night like all places in the area. Would not compare it to a hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deardee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Just spent 2 fantastic nights with Estha the owner of whale away. A real home from home. Estha made us so welcome even booking our trips for us and recommending good restaurants suitable to our tastes. The house is beautiful, rooms spacious and tastefully decorated. Wonderful little touches everywhere. We had an ocean view room which had a wonderful balcony with furniture so you could sit out and watch the rolling waves. Very near Fernkloof nature reserve and town centre it is ideally located for your stay in hermanus.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice but room 1 has the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allipol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.9 mi away
Hermanus Guesthouse
Hermanus Guesthouse
#9 of 86 in Hermanus
641 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mulligans Guest Lodge
Mulligans Guest Lodge
#13 of 86 in Hermanus
197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jakasa Guesthouse
Jakasa Guesthouse
#61 of 86 in Hermanus
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
La Fontaine Guest House
La Fontaine Guest House
#32 of 86 in Hermanus
165 reviews
1.1 mi away
Penguino Guesthouse
Penguino Guesthouse
#23 of 86 in Hermanus
134 reviews
1.9 mi away
78on5th in Hermanus
78on5th in Hermanus
#14 of 86 in Hermanus
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whale Away Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whale Away Guest House

Property: Whale Away Guest House
Address: 223 Main Road | Eastcliff, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Whale Away Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Whale Away Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing