We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hermanus Lodge on the Green
Ranked #13 of 86 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 December 2011

This is a truly lovely B&B. The rooms are nice looking and clean and ours looked out on the green. The 'lounge' area has all kinds of drinks and complimentary cookies (a nice touch) and is very cozy. The lodge is located just a few minutes drive from the centre of Hermanus. Nobby gave us some great tips for activities and restaurants in Hermanus, and is a great host. Breakfast was lovely (a lot of fresh fruit and nice eggs). Would really recommend to stay here!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 339 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2011

Lodge on the Green was really lovely, rooms were spacious, beds so comfortable and everything spotless. We now understand why you are so well rated on 'TripAdvisor'. As for Wendy and Nobby - they were the perfect hosts, they made us feel so welcome and had great tips on the best place to 'Whale watch' . We left our money and passports in the room safe! - Wendy sent them to our next destination by special delivery so that our carelessness did not spoil the holiday. Many thanks to Wendy and Nobby, and not forgetting Pebbles, for a great stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jemmason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Very cosy, lovely place to stay. My husband and I wish we stayed at least 2 nights! Nobby and Wendy were very welcoming too. We recommend viewing the whales from land rather than from a boat because we saw whales within seconds of arriving at the view point only 5 minute drive from the hotel! We saw the whales breach several times and got some great pictures just 50 metres from the coast- very close! We didnt have enough time to dive with sharks so a second night would've have been perfect. Breakfast was lovely too. Great place to stop along the garden route. Wendy recommended a great restaurant for dinner called Burgundy- fantastic food and very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a view of the golf course!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeanutHead76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Nobby and Wendy greeted us like family when we arrived and offered splendid hospitality throughout our 2 day trip. The rooms were excellent ,and quiet, within walking distance ,yet away from the bustle ,of Hermanus.
Roger and Sue. Halifax

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RSHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Having arrived as guests to spend four nights, we left as friends!

Wendy, Nobby and their professional staff made us feel at home and took a personal interest in our daily activities.We found the accommodation comfortable and clean and the breakfasts quite indulgent! We saw so much more than whales!

Thanks to this wonderful team, Hermanus will always have a special place in our hearts.

Helen M

Room Tip: We had a beautiful room with a bath as well as a shower, overloking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 312651Helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

What a great place to stay! We spent a wonderful, relaxing week at Hermanus Lodge. The rooms are beautifully decorated and comfortably furnished, with lots of attention to detail. Wendy and Nobby made our visit to Hermanus all the more special. They had endless patience with our four and a half year old, served up breakfasts to die for, and generally made us feel that nothing was too much trouble! They were also able to provide a cot and high chair for our little one - which was a great help, as we were certainly not travelling light! By the time we left we felt as if we had made friends for life and we will certainly be recommending Hermanus Lodge to all our family and friends.

Room Tip: Mountain or golf course views - all the rooms were spacious and tranquil.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoanneMadagascar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

My family and I drove up from Capetown and stayed three nights here while visiting Hermanus. Nobby and Wendy are amazing hosts and treated us like family. The lodge is super comfortable and homey. It is a short drive into town and you can even walk if you are healthy. They booked us a great whale watching tour and even lent my wife and daughter thier own water-proof jackets for the trip. Breakfast was overlooking the golf course and was whatever you wanted. I can't think of a better place to spend a vacation for a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveTravellilng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
1.1 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.8 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
709 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
946 reviews
1.9 mi away
78on5th in Hermanus
78on5th in Hermanus
#10 of 86 in Hermanus
337 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bamboo Guest House
Bamboo Guest House
#7 of 86 in Hermanus
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermanus Lodge on the Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermanus Lodge on the Green

Address: 8 Fernkloof Drive | Hermanus Heights, Hermanus 7200, South Africa (Formerly Pebble Beach Guest House)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range: £66 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hermanus Lodge on the Green 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Purpose-built guest house situated on the 25th green of Hermanus Golf Course. Most rooms golf course facing, all en-suite. Kingsize or twin beds. Wonderfully secluded, north-facing pool area. Ideally located for easy access to town, cliff path, golf course and beaches. Tranquil surrounds, away from busy main road traffic. Excellent service, friendly staff, an ideal home from home stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hermanus Lodge on the Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing