We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely hospitable hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hermanus Lodge on the Green
Ranked #17 of 87 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Extremely hospitable hosts”
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We stayed with Wendy & Nobby for three nights in October whist visiting Hermanus to watch the whales. The lodge is in a perfect location, not too far from town. Wendy booked restaurants, the tuk tuk & a boat trip for us, as well as helping my husband fix his broken glasses.

Breakfast was plentiful & eaten with a great view of the 25th hole of the golf club, which the lodge borders. Hermanus is a quaint old fishing village, with mod cons, great restaurants & of course the majestic whales. Hermanus Lodge on the Green is a perfect base to experience all this! Thank you Nobby & Wendy for a relaxed few days.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulubelle12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    63
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
66
199
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012 via mobile

We had a lovely weekend at Hermanus Lodge. The owners went out of their way to accommodate our children and to make our stay comfortable. The breakfast was really delicious (we ate far too much both mornings!), the rooms very well equipped and for us, the best location in Hermanus by the mountain, away from the busy centre. We can definitely recommend it and will be back there soon.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anja C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2012

I would like to mention the great hospitality of the couple that owns the lodge which welcomed us very nicely even if we were only staying one night.The house is very nice architecturally and decorated and has few rooms which makes you feel at home. It is located by a golf course in a quiet neighborhood and you can have a 10min beautiful walk to get to the beach and center of the town.
I would highly recommended it if you get to pass by Hermanus.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdrianMila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We had a very enjoyable stay at Hermanus Lodge in April2012. Everything about this Guest House was perfect.

There was excellent hospitality and helpfulness from the hosts Wendy and Nobby (Clark) who gave us a wealth of advice and recommendations including restaurants and sightseeing. They made reservations for us at The Burgundy and Harbour Rock which turned out to be outstanding restaurants. Resulting from Wendy’s information we took the cliff walk from Kwaaiwater beach to the New Harbour for lunch, stopping on the way at the Old Harbour for shopping and coffee. We enjoyed it so much we walked back making our total hike about 14km. Staying only 2 nights we only had a brief visit to the attractive nearby Fernkloof Nature Reserve but did’nt get to see the baboons, something we’ll do next time.

The Guest House is nicely situated, not too close nor too far to the resort centre. A novel touch to transportation, suggested by Wendy, was to take the Tuk-tuk taxi to and from the town and the price was very reasonable, reminded us of Bangkok.

We stayed in one of the rooms with a fabulous view that overlooked the 25th green and beyond to the sea in the distance. This was situated next to a very comfortable large lounge that had the same view. The reasonably priced well stocked honesty bar in the lounge was amongst the best we have experienced in our visits to South Africa. Our room was of good size and spotlessly clean, well equipped with large comfortable bed. Breakfasts in a pleasant dining room were delicious and plentiful, setting us up for the days.

Parking and security of the site is very good with electronically controlled gate and tall wall. It has quite a large swimming pool with plenty of room for sunbathing which unfortunately we didn’t have time to do.

Our only regret is staying for 2 nights. Hermanus Lodge will be our natural first choice when we return and stay for longer in this beautiful area.
Wendy and Nobby, If you get to read this, thank you again for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Derek069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed here during our recent SA trip. It's not always easy to find such lovely accommodation when you're traveling w a child (18 month old son) so we were very pleased. They were able to provide a cot in our room and highchair for the delicious breakfast. The guest house has a lovely lounge area we were able to make use of in the evening after the baby had gone to sleep.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank LozCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Nobby and Wendy were perfectly welcoming and very helpful with advising how to get to the coastal path to walk into town with a good recommendation on where to eat for dinner. The rooms are of a really good size and ours had a wonderful open-plan wetroom/shower area. Breakfast was delicious and catering to all tastes with various cooked and fresh fruit and muesli options and set-off by the incredible setting looking over the golf course in the morning sunshine. We only stayed one night as it was our first night in SA for a 2 week journey up the coast, but almost immediately wished we had longer.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avr79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2012

My family spent 2 wonderful nights @ Hermanus lodge in March this year.
What a fantastic Bed and Breakfast. The rooms are modern and generous,
the breakfasts are heavenly and the view over the Golf course is breathtaking
in the mornings. I could have easily spent another night or two. Wendy and Nobby
are excellant hosts and we felt very welcome.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
1.1 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.7 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
1.0 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
1.9 mi away
78on5th in Hermanus
78on5th in Hermanus
#11 of 87 in Hermanus
319 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hermanus Guesthouse
Hermanus Guesthouse
#8 of 87 in Hermanus
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermanus Lodge on the Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermanus Lodge on the Green

Property: Hermanus Lodge on the Green
Address: 8 Fernkloof Drive | Hermanus Heights, Hermanus 7200, South Africa (Formerly Pebble Beach Guest House)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hermanus Lodge on the Green 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Purpose-built guest house situated on the 25th green of Hermanus Golf Course. Most rooms golf course facing, all en-suite. Kingsize or twin beds. Wonderfully secluded, north-facing pool area. Ideally located for easy access to town, cliff path, golf course and beaches. Tranquil surrounds, away from busy main road traffic. Excellent service, friendly staff, an ideal home from home stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hermanus Lodge on the Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing