We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hermanus Lodge on the Green
Ranked #13 of 85 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We had a wonderful nights stay at Hermanus Lodge on the Green. Wendy and Nobby went out of their way to make us feel completely at home and made sure that we had everything that we needed for our 6 month old baby. Apart from the warm and friedly hosts and the delicious breakfast, what makes the lodge special is that is away from the hustle and bustle of the crowds and located against the mountains overlooking the golf course. So if its quiet and traquility you are looking for, then this is the perfect spot. The rooms are big and comfortable, if whale watching is your reason to visit Hermanus, the lodge is less than a 2 minute drive to the waters edge.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanineKrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy C, Owner at Hermanus Lodge on the Green, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2013

Thank you so much for such a lovely review, it was delightful to meet you both and of course your gorgeous little girl who stole everyone's heart. We hope to see you all again in the not too distant future. Kindest regards from both of us, Nobby and Wendy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (330)
There are newer reviews for Hermanus Lodge on the Green
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 330 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2013

Hermanus know a thing or to about tourism and Hermanus Lodge on the Green, run by Wendy and Nobby, have shown that they know plenty about hospitality, comfort and environmentally friendly tourism practices. Situated on the Hermanus Golf Club with views of the 25th green on one side and at the foot of the Hermanus mountains on the other, the location is ideal for scenery while not far from the Hermanus Market and town centre. Within the accommodation you will find a very comfortable lounge area with fire place, complimentary sherry and port, selection of DVD's, while the rooms are fully equipped with TV's and everything you would expect from a 4 star establishment. As environmentally conscious individuals, Wendy and Nobby have installed soap and shampoo dispensers in the showers, something i think every establishment should learn from - In their words "this has reduced the amount of single use soap and shampoo containers used meaning less of a throw away society and more of a responsible tourism mentality".
I will be back for sure! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theEXPEDITIONproject
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy C, Owner at Hermanus Lodge on the Green, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Wow, thank you so much for such great review. We enjoyed seeing you again and meeting new 'crew' members. As ever, we wish you good luck with the success of your project, which seems to be going from strength to strength, and we look forward to hosting you again in 2014. Kindest regards, Nobby and Wendy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Few golf mates and I stayed overnight at the Hermanus Lodge and we were very surprised by the level of quality in service, attention to detail and standard of accommodation we experienced. Wendy and Nobby were great and made us feel right at home in only the way a B&B does...hotels cannot provide that level of intimacy and comfort. Our rooms were very comfortable and we had access to braai the night and enjoy our wine we brought from home. The breakfast the next morning was also a great treat, especially the muesli (which Nobby makes) and vanilla infused yoghurt. The location of the guest house is literally on a a green of Hermanus Golf Course and very easy to get to. All in all it was a great stay and I will definitely visit Wendy & Nobby again when in Hermanus!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathanvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy C, Owner at Hermanus Lodge on the Green, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

Thank you so much for such a nice review, it was so great to be able to host a group of such nice gents and did you manage to get in that extra game of golf? We look forward to welcoming you back with your family in the not too distant future. Kindest regards from both of us, Wendy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We chose Hermanus Lodge because of their child friendly policy and we weren’t disappointed. We stayed in the family room which was very comfortable and the boys slept well on the double sleeper couch. The DVD library was a plus when we were trying to quieten down two boisterous young sons. Every effort is made at breakfast to ensure that there was a suitable selection of cereals and yogurts for younger children, right down to smaller cutlery for smaller people! Thank you Wendy and Nobby for making our stay in Hermanus so special – we most certainly will be back

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy C, Owner at Hermanus Lodge on the Green, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2013

Hi there, thank you for your kind review, it was a pleasure to be able to welcome you all to Hermanus Lodge, and we really enjoyed the enquiring minds of your two lovely boys with such lovely manners. We look forward to be able to host you all again one day when you return to South Africa. Kindest regards, Nobby and Wendy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We stayed at Hermanus Lodge for 2 nights in April with an intention to play golf at Hermanus Golf Club which is next to the Lodge. Wendy and Nobby were fantastic hosts and breakfasts were excellent. The property is in a quiet location on the edge of town but really convenient for the town and the excellent restaurants it has. We can certainly recommend the Burgundy with wonderful views. I am certain we will visit Hermanus again and whilst ever Nobby and Wendy are running this lodge we truly wouldn't consider anywhere else.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattalex1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy C, Owner at Hermanus Lodge on the Green, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2013

Thank you so much for such a lovely review. It was a pleasure to have been able to host such a nice family and I can assure you that they are still talking at the Golf Club about a certain young man winning the longest drive at the charity golf day! We would love to be able to welcome you all back to our lodge one day in the not too distant future. Kindest regards Nobby and Wendy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

We stayed at the Lodge for just one night and really wished we could have stayed longer. Our room, which was lovely, overlooked the golf course (never did find out what green was almost on our doorstep) and we were able to sit on our own little patio watching the golfers. Nobby and Wendy were lovely hosts and we left feeling as if we had been staying with friends. Would definitely like to return one day.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pharri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy C, Owner at Hermanus Lodge on the Green, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2013

Hi there, thank you so much for the really lovely review. Your room looked onto the 25th green of the Hermanus Golf Course, and we are very pleased to know that you were so comfortable in the room. We enjoyed hosting you and would love to have you visit us again on your next trip from Canada to see your family. Kindest regards, Nobby and Wendy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

On returning to Hermanus after many years, we chose to stay at Hermanus Lodge on the Green so that we could enjoy the peace and tranquillity of the setting without being too far from the town centre. We definitely made the right decision, our stay with Wendy and Nobby was all we hoped for and more. They are the most charming hosts, unobtrusive but so helpful when needed for advice on activities, where to shop and restaurants. Our room overlooked the golf course, the view is really beautiful and one can see the sea from the front rooms of the lodge. Thank you for a lovely stay and we will be back.

Room Tip: For us overlooking the gold course was magnificently tranquil
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hamlyn_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy C, Owner at Hermanus Lodge on the Green, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2013

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. I must say we really enjoyed being able to host you on your return to Hermanus and it was so good to chat with you about some of the history of this beautiful town that we live in, which was a literally a village when you left. We sincerely hope that you choose to visit us again in the not too distant future. Kindest regards, Nobby and Wendy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
1.1 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.7 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
1.0 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
693 reviews
1.2 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
1.2 mi away
Hermanus Guesthouse
Hermanus Guesthouse
#8 of 85 in Hermanus
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermanus Lodge on the Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermanus Lodge on the Green

Address: 8 Fernkloof Drive | Hermanus Heights, Hermanus 7200, South Africa (Formerly Pebble Beach Guest House)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range: £53 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hermanus Lodge on the Green 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Purpose-built guest house situated on the 25th green of Hermanus Golf Course. Most rooms golf course facing, all en-suite. Kingsize or twin beds. Wonderfully secluded, north-facing pool area. Ideally located for easy access to town, cliff path, golf course and beaches. Tranquil surrounds, away from busy main road traffic. Excellent service, friendly staff, an ideal home from home stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hermanus Lodge on the Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing