We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only recommended for those serious about Rest and Relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hermanus Lodge on the Green
Ranked #18 of 87 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Only recommended for those serious about Rest and Relaxation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2011

It's hard to know where to start.
Being based in Cape Town, Hermanus is just over an hour's drive time. I know that and so do a lot of capetonians and in the summer months is a perfect destination for a weekend getaway, but I'm a peace and quiet kind of person and I'm always looking for accommodation away from the madding crowd, but close enough to it should it be needed.
So about let's get to the review. On arrival we were welcomed by Pat Morland the owner who offered us refreshment.
The guesthouse is more than a home away from home. Hospitality is excellent, staff are efficient and service was outstanding. Our room was stunning even though we opted for one without a panoramic view across the Golf course to the ocean. We open the double doors to the manicured lawn at the pool area.
Then there was the breakfast............................. 110% rating. Food was great and portions were perfect.
Other facilities that impressed was free internet access, I was able to catch up with my emails, while sipping on a glass of wine at the pool. Honesty bar in the lounge is always welcome and well stocked with wines of the region.
I can honestly say, that our weekend with Pat and her staff was one of the best ever and we look forward to enjoying their hospitality again soon.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil_Harvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    61
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
62
190
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2011

Pebble beach is conveniently situated overlooking the golf course, in a quiet location, just a few minutes from the cliffs and the town centre. The staff could not have been more welcoming or helpful and the breakfast was delicious.

We stayed in rooms 2 and 3, which were very comfortable but were a little dark and did not have much hanging or storage space. The best rooms have a view over the golf course but there is also a guest lounge with wonderful veiws over the 25th green and complimentary coffee, port and sherry as well as a well stocked honesty bar.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brianjohngreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2011

We had the pleasure of staying at Pebble Beach for 5 days over the Christmas period and while the weather was a little rainy and disappointing Pebble Beach brightened our spirits and ensured we had a fantastic Christmas in Hermanus! The breakfasts are absolutely to die for; the full house omelet is an absolute must try. The guesthouse is situated out of town and sits in between the golf course and a gorgeous mountain, which on one sunny morning had paragliders jumping off of it which was a treat to watch! Our room was just gorgeous, we stayed in room 7 which is a poolside room with a lovely big freestanding bathtub that ensured some much needed relaxation. The communal facilities were great, there's an honesty bar in the lounge that we had plenty of use out of, and we also enjoyed a few rainy afternoons in our room watching DVDs from the expansive DVD library that is offered free of charge! We couldn't have felt more at home lying in our room with a cup of tea and the shutters letting in the sound of the falling December rain outside! The pool and loungers in the garden are lovely and sheltered from the wind and we managed to top up our tans on one sunny day at the pool! The staff were lovely and attended to our every need happily and quickly. We will most certainly be back to this magical little spot!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salrutherford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2011

We had an excellent couple of days at Pebble Beach.
Although located a short distance from the town itself its quiet and was within a 2 minute stroll of the local craft market which was on at the weekend. (same types of goods were on sales in some shops at significnat markups to these) Nice views over the golf course.
The breakfasts were excellent and the staff helpful. Nice communal areas too.
Make sure you look in the information room downstairs where you can find plenty of stuff on local attractions
It proved an excellent base from which to do some whale watching and the advice provided about where to view was really useful and we got much better vantage points than from the town itself. Also handy for the local nature reserve (even if we did get chased by baboons whilst we were walking)

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Somerfordian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2010

This is a tricky review. First of all we had a great time in Hermanus and the Pebble Beach is a very nice place to stay, and does have one of the best breakfasts we've ever had in South Africa (which is saying something given the generally high standard), however our stay was by no means perfect.
Firstly upon arrival we were shown to our room, which was fine and then left to lug all our suitcases ourselves from the car up to the room. Once in the room the shelves to the right of the mirror/sitting area had clearly not been dusted for some time, so were unusable. The room itself was very pleasant, spacious although the views were not exactly picturesque. The bathroom was very small, however, although perfectly functional.
The communal areas are very comfortable and the view from the lounge over the golf course towards the ocean is lovely. The honesty bar is a nice touch, however there wasn't any white wine in the fridge which sort of defeated the object somewhat as we couldn't use it.
The garden is fairly small, pretty and nicely sheltered, which is very handy in Hermanus given how windy it can get and the pool was very pleasant, if somewhat chilly!
On leaving we once again received no help whatsoever with our baggage even as one of the team watched me go up and downstairs to bring the cases down, which was extremely disappointing.
Overall I guess it depends what your expectations are. Pebble Beach is a very pleasant Guest House, with nice rooms and garden, however it is situated some way out of town, so you'll need a taxi if you want to have a drink with your evening meal, although these were easy to arrange. The biggest bug bear we had was over the lack of service, which to be honest in a 4 star Guest House is not really acceptable - if this was addressed though we'd have no qualms about going back.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonFLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMorland, Owner at Hermanus Lodge on the Green, responded to this review, 13 December 2010
I very sorry to read that this guest has had an unpleasant experience at Pebble Beach. However, as we have always had excellent feedback both on TripAdvisor and reviews in our Guest Comment Book, I would like to take this opportunity to respond.

Firstly, thank you Simon, for your comment "A GREAT STAY" in our guest book.

Regarding the dust that made the shelf unusable, I find strange as I routinely check all rooms. Hermanus has been blowing gale force winds lately, as you well know, and possibly dust from the Nature Reserve "koppies", which is literally a stone's throw away, could have blown in through windows on the day? However, your comment has been noted and we will endeavor to be even more vigilant in future.

I have spoken to and reprimanded all the staff about the reported lack of assistance with the bags. My staff meet and greet all guests and normally ask to assist with luggage. Being mainly female staff, most male guests prefer to carry their own bags when offered assistance. No staff member should be standing around watching guests lug bags - so our apologies for this if staff have become complacent.

I am very puzzled about the honesty bar. To my knowledge, during your stay, there were 4 bottles of chilled white wine in the fridge. With the necks of the bottles facing outwards and the foil being maroon/red, could you have mistaken these for red wine? From your check-out bill I am happy to see you were able to enjoy the bottle of white chardonnay in the mini bar from your room.

For future guests reading this review, we are situated out of town, as advertised, on the 25th green of the golf course and offer a peaceful and relaxing setting. A drive to town takes no more than 5 minutes and yes, we do have taxis on standby to assist with guests not wanting to use their cars. I am glad to see the guest was able to use the taxi service booked by our member of staff.

We would hope that Simon, and his friends to whom he has not recommended Pebble Beach to, would afford us the opportunity of showing them that previous guests have not been wrong in their wonderful comments on both the accommodation and our great staff. This feedback makes us proud to be the owners of Pebble Beach Guest House.

This has been an unfortunate review for us, but we have acted proactively in the background and trust it will not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2010

We had a rather short stay over night at Pebble Beach, but were warmly welcomed, and felt well attended to but with having our own space to relax. Pebble beach was recommended to us by the Creation Wine vineyards, and it was definitely a good recommendation. We'll be back for a longer stay next time, and also allow more time to explore the other wine farms in the area.
Your breakfast was super nice!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil_Timm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2010

Excellent guest house in a quiet location, still close to the center of the village. Outstanding staff, stylish rooms and what a breakfast!!! You get treated like a king. And for the rainy days...... good selection of complementary movie DVDs.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trendyfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.7 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
1.1 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
1.0 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#7 of 12 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 12 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
2.0 mi away
House on Westcliff
House on Westcliff
#24 of 87 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hermanus Beach Villa
Hermanus Beach Villa
#17 of 87 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermanus Lodge on the Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermanus Lodge on the Green

Property: Hermanus Lodge on the Green
Address: 8 Fernkloof Drive | Hermanus Heights, Hermanus 7200, South Africa (Formerly Pebble Beach Guest House)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hermanus Lodge on the Green 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Purpose-built guest house situated on the 25th green of Hermanus Golf Course. Most rooms golf course facing, all en-suite. Kingsize or twin beds. Wonderfully secluded, north-facing pool area. Ideally located for easy access to town, cliff path, golf course and beaches. Tranquil surrounds, away from busy main road traffic. Excellent service, friendly staff, an ideal home from home stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hermanus Lodge on the Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing