We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Zoete Inval Travellers Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
PE
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very helpful staff”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Great staff and very helpful. The rooms, kitchen and toilets were clean and I the atmosphere was brilliant. It's a perfect stay if you want a quite and relaxing time. If we ever come to Hermanus again, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardengirlafrica, Wife of owner at Zoete Inval Travellers Lodge, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post. We value your feedback. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    38
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
19
47
18
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maastricht
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Great place to start your whale watching! Very friendly staff, passionate owners and a good location. Free brekkie is provided. A 15-minute walk from the town centre with its nice restaurants, and only 2 minutes away from the start of a nice walking/hiking trails which gives you a magnificent view over the area. Note: It is a Baz Bus stop, even though not stated in Coast to Coast. If you're travelling with Baz Bus though, make sure you confirm your shuttle with the backpackers lodge too!

And, make sure you make use of the jacuzzi whilst enjoying some local wine available from the front desk!

Cheers, Katya & Simon

Room Tip: The double in the backpackers part is nice and cosy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaSi20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardengirlafrica, Wife of owner at Zoete Inval Travellers Lodge, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you for your kind and encouraging words. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

My family of 6 stayed there, the second time for 3 of us. It is very safe, with enclosed parking. The location is great, right on the main road into town. If you are looking for comfort, safety, cleanliness, and economy, then this is the place for you. We had 3 separate rooms with 2 baths and found them all very comfortable. We really liked the den's fireplace, as it was winter and central heating is not common in South Africa. If you get really cold, ask for a portable heater for your room. I am sure they would accommodate.

Room Tip: The only thing lacking was heat in one of our rooms. I did address that on checkout so, hopefully...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fiftystatesevenconts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardengirlafrica, Owner at Zoete Inval Travellers Lodge, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Thank you your suggestion. Yes, we recognize now that the suite you occupied is too large for the wall mounted heater to be adequate. We do have a portable heater in the office and are most willing to share it with our guests. We also have hot water bottles for guest use on request. We apologize that we may not have brought it to your attention during your stay. Thanks again for taking the time to give feedback to assist us. Blessings always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

I stayed here for two nights and the owner picked me up from the Bazbus to bring me to the lodge for 75 Rand. The rooms where clean and the hostel is on walking distance to the city centre. I really wanted to go shark cage diving and the owners did everything to help me book it, but unfortunately everything got cancelled anyway because of the bad weather at sea. There was also a possibility that the owner dropped you of at Grotto Beach and you could walk back at the very scenic route to Hermanus. It was wonderfull and a very good alternative...The people who work for Zoete Inval are very friendly and in the morning you can order a really good breakfast with specials for reasonable prices!
A great place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardengirlafrica, Owner at Zoete Inval Travellers Lodge, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Thank you for the encouragement. Our complimentary breakfast has changed a bit to include some healthy additions: homemade meusli, homemade kefir (probitic and similar to yogurt), our farm fresh jams, seasonal fruit with tea or fresh plunger coffee. We are so sorry the weather was not with you on the shark viewing trip. We hope you can come again to "take the plunge" to see the sharks. Blessings always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We liked this place. The lady at the reception was very nice. The hostel is very safe, with locked gates and secured parking behind a gate. Nice roof terrace to have you diner. Rooms are very cosy. We stayed at the top floor of the main building. There was a nice livingroom and a small kitchen to make a tea or coffee, which is available at no cost. Larger kitchen for cooking is avaible too. Bathrooms was clean. They can book you whale watching with a discount for you. Unlimited wifi is available at a small fee.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The-travelfraggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 November 2012

My friend and I really loved this place. We came by basbus and the owner Jan picked us up. He showed us the village and learned us things about Hermanus and the nature around it. The lady at the desk was also very friendly and helped us to book a Whale trip. She even brought us to the harbor. It's a very safe, short walk to the center of the town, perfect location.

We had a good night sleep. The bedroom itself was very clean, spacious and had a private bathroom next to it. If you are looking for a place to stay, go to de Zoete inval! We loved it.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

As I was traveling along the Garden Route, I stayed at Zoete Inval twice. Great location, great facilities, amazing staff! The ladies were more that happy to suggest activities and provide directions in town. When I signed up for a shark diving experience, they even suggested that i could tag along with two other hotel guests, saving me money in transportation costs! They even did the asking.

A wonderfully friendly place! And oh, some of the most affordable wifi I found in South Africa!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ckmetz002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
3.8 mi away
Baleens
Baleens
#6 of 11 in Hermanus
545 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.6 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.2 mi away
The Potting Shed Accommodation
0.4 mi away
Hermanus Guesthouse
Hermanus Guesthouse
#9 of 87 in Hermanus
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zoete Inval Travellers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zoete Inval Travellers Lodge

Property: Zoete Inval Travellers Lodge
Address: 23 Main Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Zoete Inval Travellers Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zoete Inval Traveller's Lodge provides a RE-experience for the budget conscious traveller. REjeuvenate, RElax and REcharge in the REfreshing atmosphere committed to environment conservation and community upliftment. REcreate takes on a new meaning through their application of full-on REcycle, REuse and REduce policies and support of the "REcycle Swop Shops". Come experience REstoration of your body, soul and spirit in our lush garden, enjoy the fresh garden greens or soak up the sun in the mountain view jacuzzi. For swingers, the wine barrel hammock beside the bubbling water feature and braai area is the place to be. Come experience hospitality from the heart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HostelWorld so you can book your Zoete Inval Travellers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing