We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“REALLY ENJOYABLE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Zoete Inval Travellers Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Booked at the phone on our way to Hermanus, the lady was so kind at the phone already!
When we got there, she was absolutely lovely; she showed us around and gave information about the area - we enjoyed a local market on the next morning that we found just 'cause she told us about it!
The place is clean and tidy, both the bathroom and the big and comfortable room we got.
We didn't use the kitchen, can't really comment on it.
Breakfast was included, and it was beautiful - heaps of food, smiley staff and great location (fantastic backyard).
Safe and private parking.
Travel desk -possibility of booking trips and activities there (including the shark cage diving).
Extra: you can find interesting objects to buy (bags, bins, bottleholder, coasters, etc. made of recycled materials) and the money goes to charity.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anninafe82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardengirlafrica, owner's wife at Zoete Inval Travellers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for your kind words. We are so thankful for our wonderful staff. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

Only found this place by accident late in the afternoon when we arrived in Hermanus by car and were very pleasantly surprised by the friendly people who run it. Admittedly it wasn't high season and so we had the Guest House to ourselves and were able to watch the TV and eat our dinner undisturbed which was much appreciated. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone and we aren't backpackers!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardengirlafrica, owner's wife at Zoete Inval Travellers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Yes, it is hard to find a category for us. We don't fit into any box... Thanks for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We had trouble returning a car rental while in Hermanus, and the staff at Zoete Invalid were incredibly helpful and friendly in helping us out. They also had great info on the town, including a farmers market that we really enjoyed. We've been living abroad & traveling for 2+years and this is one of our favorite, if not the favorite, place we've stayed. Beyond awesome staff, there is a jacuzzi and an awesome breakfast (homemade jam & real coffee!). Comfortable, clean room, and hot shower. There are lots of little things here and there that make the zoete inval feel very warm and welcoming.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank joe d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardengirlafrica, owner's wife at Zoete Inval Travellers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Yes, we remember you well. So glad the car saga worked out eventually! Thank you for your encouragement and kind words. We are so thankful for our great staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Found the hospitality homely with the staff very willing to make the stay a pleasant one! I would gladly recommend this to everyone. The facility is well equipped, clean, tidy and the manager was extremely helpful and well informed regarding the area - what to see and where to go. We have enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to anybody looking for a home away from home. Will not forget the absolutely fantastic jams we had for breakfast. Wonderful environment, well kept. An absolute pleasure. The owner is extremely friendly and made us feel welcome.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rasdien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardengirlafrica, owner's wife at Zoete Inval Travellers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Glad to see you are home again safely. Thank you for your encouragement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

An amazing place to stay in Hermanus! It's a family lodge which have dorms rooms and privet rooms. All very clean and comfortable. I stayed at a privet room and enjoyed very much. They have a kitchen for guests and the ambiance very relax. Close to everything. The price is very good and the best customer service!!
Very recommended!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karin_pri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardengirlafrica, owner's wife at Zoete Inval Travellers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thanks so much for your encouragement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

My wife and I spent a weekend in December 2013 at Zoete Inval Travellers Lodge and the experience was not “Zoet” at all. We stayed in Room 1 which is, unfortunately, right next to the Dining Room. It is also downstairs below a wooden floor, so sleep was a rare commodity with all the noises coming down through the ceiling. Sadly, to compound the discomfort (although no fault of Zoete Inval Travellers Lodge); there was a crowd of Hockey Players staying there at the same time, and they certainly seemed to enjoy their revelries into the early hours – much to everyone else’s discomfort.

The place itself could do with some general maintenance, for instance, the drains from the basin in the kitchen area upstairs and the shower next to Room 1 were blocked – which would have been OK if you wanted a foot-bath at the same time as your shower; but a little disconcerting otherwise. There are large cracks in the floor near the door and mould-gathering orange peels on the shield in front of the fireplace ?!?!?! These have obviously been there a while to have grown a good cover of mould. The shared fridges are useful to have; but obviously not very secure – as someone kindly demonstrated by “borrowing” (on the non-return basis) a block of our cheese from one.

The breakfast was very basic – some cereals, bread and toast and coffee. Unfortunately some of the patrons get up VERY early to have breakfast (at around 5 a.m.) and just to make sure that others get to share in their joy of rising early, they sing and whistle …….. loudly !!!! Again, this is not the fault of Zoete Inval Travellers Lodge; but it does leave one with a more negative impression of the establishment as a whole.

The staff are very friendly and always up for a chat and that is definitely a plus factor.

I don’t expect much luxury when staying at Backpackers-type accommodation; but for R450-00 per room per night, I would certainly expect more than what we got. We were looking for a peaceful room where we could wash and sleep in between hikes in the beautiful mountains around Hermanus – and Zoete Inval Travellers Lodge did NOT give us this at all. It is definitely a place I will avoid returning to.

Room Tip: Do not stay downstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stranger_and_pilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardengirlafrica, Wife of owner at Zoete Inval Travellers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Yes, we agree, a visit to Hermanus is seldom a peaceful experience in December/January. Your immediate alert to the drain emergency, enabled us to respond quickly to correct the situation. Thank you VERY much. Maintenance is certainly an ongoing process and we appreciate the fresh eye of a guest to draw attention to our shortcomings. ( Feedback forms are provided in each room to enable visitors to share their concerns, if one is uncomfortable speaking directly.) We would like to offer you a free night's accommodation during the off-season, so you might experience "peace on our premises", and relax by the fire. (P.S. The peels you saw are meant to be dried in the sun, not on the fireplace shield in summer! It may have been the act of a well meaning but misunderstood guest. The dry peels in the clay pot next to the fireplace and the oils they contain, make fantastic fragrant fire starters in winter or at one's own "braai plek"...) Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts and experiences. From them, we can all learn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Zoete Inval is a somewhat old-fashioned lodge near Hermanus, South Africa’s whale spotting place to be. There are private rooms and two dormitory’s, a jacuzzi, a community space and a courtyard. Maintenance is not the top priority of the management, nor is neatness. Everywhere you look, you’ll find yellow signs (don’t smoke, don’t forget your key, remember check-out time, etc. etc.). Even a conscientious policeman would feel uncomfortable. On the other hand, the Canadian lady of the house runs the place with a smile and embraces you with good intentions and a warm chat.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Arjan-14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardengirlafrica, Wife of owner at Zoete Inval Travellers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Yes, some would describe us as "old fashioned" as we strive to provide that "farmhouse style" ambiance with fresh veggies from the garden and homemade jams, muesli and kefir at the breakfast table. Thank you for sharing your views and the heads up on issues you raised. We appreciate your taking the time to write and each day is an opportunity to improve what we do. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
3.8 mi away
Baleens
Baleens
#6 of 11 in Hermanus
558 reviews
0.6 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Hermanus Backpackers
Hermanus Backpackers
#2 of 45 in Hermanus
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hermanus Guesthouse
Hermanus Guesthouse
#8 of 86 in Hermanus
668 reviews
2.1 mi away
AmaKhosi Guesthouse
AmaKhosi Guesthouse
#2 of 5 in Sandbaai
190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nautilus Cottage
Nautilus Cottage
#8 of 45 in Hermanus
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zoete Inval Travellers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zoete Inval Travellers Lodge

Address: 23 Main Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Hermanus
Price Range: £33 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Zoete Inval Travellers Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zoete Inval Traveller's Lodge provides a RE-experience for the budget conscious traveller. REjeuvenate, RElax and REcharge in the REfreshing atmosphere committed to environment conservation and community upliftment. REcreate takes on a new meaning through their application of full-on REcycle, REuse and REduce policies and support of the "REcycle Swop Shops". Come experience REstoration of your body, soul and spirit in our lush garden, enjoy the fresh garden greens or soak up the sun in the mountain view jacuzzi. For swingers, the wine barrel hammock beside the bubbling water feature and braai area is the place to be. Come experience hospitality from the heart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HostelWorld and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Zoete Inval Travellers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing