We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great self catering get away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brown Jug Guest House
Ranked #23 of 85 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2013

The owners accommodated us at the last minute and it was great to get away for a night from the city, clean and everything you need, however, cold and a fireplace or another heater would've given it 5 stars.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Liezel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brownjug, Owner at Brown Jug Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Dear Liezel

Thank you firstly for your visit to our guest house and secondly thank you for your tip. There is a heater in the lounge area, but you have convinced me to put one in the bedroom. I was contemplating this, but will now get around to implementing. Constructive advice is always welcome and taken to heart. I am pleased you enjoyed your trip to Hermanus and I hope we see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
There are newer reviews for Brown Jug Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2013

We had a wonderful 5 night stay at Brown Jug. We had booked to stay 4 nights but as our spacious unit was so well equiped and comfortable with an excellet free internet connection, we decided on staying an extra night . Brown Jug is not only in walking distance to the town but also close to outdoor activities and the beach and costal walks. We unfortunately did not meet Louise and Abel as they were on holiday. However Louise assured us before hand that their staff would be on duty to look after our needs. We found the staff very friendly and pleasantly efficient. They welcomed us and it was very clear to us that they are well trained and really enjoy their job. We will certainly stay at Brown Jug again on our next visit to Hermanus.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank egs783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brownjug, Owner at Brown Jug Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review. I am sorry we did not get to meet you but will definitely be here to personally welcome you on your return to Hermanus in September. The whales will be here which will give a slightly different slant to the many activities and abundance of nature we have to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

We have been visiting Hermanus annually since 1995 and have stayed exclusively at the Brown Jug since we found it in 2001 - so now it feels like visiting old friends Our delightful hosts, Louise and Abel, give all their guests a very warm welcome and do all they can to ensure a comfortable and restful stay. Over the years we have stayed in each of the units and they are all very clean, comfortable and homely. There is also a swimming pool and braai facilities - but we have not used either. The beautiful gardens give a very peaceful atmosphere and Musson Street is very quiet - although it is only walking distance from the town centre.. We would not think of staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank f-steward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brownjug, Owner at Brown Jug Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Dear John and Vicki
As two of our most loyal guests over the past ten years, you have both become more like family than guests. We truly look forward to seeing you each year and as do the furry pets. It was a bonus to have you twice this year, retirement has its advantages. Look forward to your visit in October.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

A very nice place to stay. The apartment has a lot of space inside and outside. Good internet possibillity. A quiet location but beach and centre closeby. Abel and Louise are very helpfull and friendly, We had a very good breakfast too. Hermanus is a beautiful city with a great coastline.
We were sorry we only stayed for one night. Whenever we come back to Hermanus we will definitely choose Brown Jug again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brownjug, Owner at Brown Jug Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Thank you so much. Once again Hermanus proves to be more than just a one night stop destination. With so much on offer at any time of the year, do yourself a favour and experience what we have to offer.......... naturally whilst staying at the Brown Jug............

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We found this little oasis though Trip Advisor (thank you!) and were not disappointed. Walking distance from the town centre, we found ourselves staying as part of the family, albeit in our own apartment. A lovely warm welcome greeted us and we were only disappointed to be staying the one night. We will be back though. Thank you Louise - keep running!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark Anthony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brownjug, Owner at Brown Jug Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

I am so pleased that Tripadvisor is working for us and that your choice proved to be a rewarding experience. I agree that one day in our beautiful town is really not enough. We are spoilt for choice, have unlimited natural beauty and so many fine restaurants to choose from. We would encourage any prospective traveller to extend the Hermanus experience and definately allocate more than just one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We had a very comfortable and enjoyable week-long stay at Brown Jug. The self catering Unit was spacious, clean and comfortable. There was a front and back patio and depending if we wanted shade or sun we could braai in the front or the back. The biggest advantage of this guest house is the central location to Hermanus village and the sea cliff path at a very reasonable rate. Our hosts Louise and Abel were friendly and helpful and we will defnitely consider staying there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarleneP986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brownjug, Owner at Brown Jug Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Thank you for your kind review and so pleased you enjoyed your week with us. We look forward to seeing you both again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

The self catering facilities were good (we like braais), we had our own area at back where we could read, plan next days outings, braai and relax after a hard days holidaying. We also made use of the pool to cool off and the laundry when we ran out of clean clothes.The Brown Jugs location is ideal, it is away from the centre in a quiet rd but within five minutes walk to major shops (for wife) and just a few minutes further to walk along the "cliff walk" (for both of us). We walked morning and evening and enjoyed the beautiful sea view, saw birds, Bryde whales, dolphins, seals feeding on the pilchards, for three days. Coffee shops and restuarants also only a few minutes walk away. We found the bed a little hollow but that could be because we are used to a very firm bed at home. Perhaps the matress could be turned more often. Security was excellent and we felt very safe at the Brown jug and walking to shops and along the sea front, a big change from Gauteng!. The owner was very helpful and friendly. It was a very relaxing holiday of one week which we spent at the Brown jug and will be our first booking next time we visit Hermanus

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Martina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brownjug, Owner at Brown Jug Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

Thank you very much for your much appreciated review and the valuable input. We continually strive to better our standards so your input will most certainly be very carefully evaluated. I hope on your next visit we can offer you 100% service in all spheres

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.6 mi away
Mulligans Guest Lodge
Mulligans Guest Lodge
#16 of 85 in Hermanus
199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hermanus Dorpshuys
Hermanus Dorpshuys
#1 of 85 in Hermanus
384 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hermanus Lodge on the Green
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Jakasa Guesthouse
Jakasa Guesthouse
#57 of 85 in Hermanus
11 reviews
1.5 mi away
House on Westcliff
House on Westcliff
#21 of 85 in Hermanus
216 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Potting Shed Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brown Jug Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown Jug Guest House

Address: 18 Musson Street | Eastcliff, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range: £44 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brown Jug Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s true - accommodation in Hermanus that offers a beach view is plentiful, but there are few that provide the welcoming hospitality and comfort that The Brown Jug Guest House has. Not only are you welcomed by the owners, Abel and Louise, when you first arrive, but their friendly staff as well as Labradors - Keesha and Tula, and kitties - Squeek and Mikey, are always excited to meet new guests. The Brown Jug is centrally situated in sought-after Eastcliff - a quiet leafy suburb, and is a mere two minute stroll away from the shops, restaurants and seafront where you can enjoy the town’s famous land-based whale watching from the cliff tops. With a pristine garden, comfortable private units, and a sparkling salt water swimming pool, The Brown Jug allows you and your family or group to relax on your private patio or on one of the pool loungers while enjoying the tranquillity of your beautiful surroundings. The Brown Jug’s guest units each sleep between two to four adults and sleeper couches can accommodate a child or two in Units One or Two, with Unit Three being a Studio Room. All the units are individually equipped and each one has a full bathroom, with shower and bath, lounge, dining area, kitchen and comfy plush furniture. Each unit also has a flat screen TV, DSTV and DVD player with free Wi-Fi access – but I doubt you will want to browse on your phone given the variety of activities and places to see that Hermanus has on offer. A short stroll from The Brown Jug will take you to the seafront, the quaint shops and the antique shops that Hermanus is renowned for, and to its fine restaurants for a long lazy lunch overlooking the sea, with the distinct possibility of a whale show. Then there’s the cliff paths, the Marine Tidal pool for a fully energized swim and the Fernkloof Nature Trail with the first of the available walks – The Elephant Walk – a mere 600 meters away. There’s also the Saturday Craft Market where friends (and their pets) meet, and the blue flag beaches that are just five minutes away by car. Mountain bike trails are in abundance and truly magnificent scenery awaits with routes up the valley with clearly marked routes catering to various degrees of expertise. Hike into Fernkloof Nature Reserve or explore the Hemel en Aarde Valley just 6 kilometres away and taste the wines of the region. If you are looking to experience Hermanus from a place catered for families or groups, then The Brown Jug Guest House should be high on your list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Brown Jug Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing