We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Brown Jug Guest House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baleens(Hermanus)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (212)
Filter reviews
212 results
Traveller rating
165
43
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
165
43
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself cateringguest houseself contained apartmenthome from homeher husbandwalking distancehosts were lovelyelectric gatesfriendly dogsprivate patiofriendly stayquiet streetnight's restsea frontplace to staywhite sharkwell equipped kitchen
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
137 - 142 of 212 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Perfect location for a relaxing weekend away. Rooms are tastefully decorated and very well equipped. Location very central - convenient walking distance from shops and city center. A home away from home!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Sune M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brownjug, Owner at Brown Jug Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our guest house. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and trust that we will have the pleasure of your company in the not too distant future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Spacious self catering accommodation that is well equipped and very comfortable. An easy short walk to the Old Harbour for great whale watching and beautiful views. The rooms were cleaned daily and we really felt at home. Will definitely be back next time we're in hermanus!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brownjug, Owner at Brown Jug Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Thank you very much for your favourable review. It is much appreciated as we all strive to improve our standards in the hospitality industry, so customer feedback is of vital importance. I am pleased your Hermanus experience was memorable, the whales are particularly good this year and our wonderful picturesque village has so much to offer the tourist. We look forward to hosting you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed at the Brown Jug for 3 nights during our round trip through South Africa. The Brown Jug was booked as an alternative for our previously booked hotel, which appeared to be closed for maintenance during the winter. Since we were travelling with our 2 kids (7yrs and 9 months), it turned out we got lucky the hotel was closed! The Brown Jug offers a family appartement with 2 separate bedrooms; perfect for the children! Situated within walking distance of the city centre and whale watching sites, it's location is just as good as the accommodations near the seaside, only much more affordable. The hosts are more than willing to give good advise about the activities all around and breakfast is great! Last but nog least; the love and affection given to you by the friendly family dog makes your stay complete! Have a nice time!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Aline V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brownjug, Owner at Brown Jug Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Thank you very much for your informative review and I am pleased that we could contribute to the success of your Hermanus experience. The family unit is ideal for friends or families travelling together. The Brown Jug strives to create a home from home atmosphere, whilst striving to perfect the art of luxury without pretence. Our pets form an integral part of our home life and add to the atmosphere of our establishment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

My partner and went to Hermanus to celebrate my birthday there. The guest house was perfect. The kitchen was fully equipped and the price for the weekend's stay weren't that expensive at all. We really loved the stay and will definitely be going there again in the near future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brownjug, Owner at Brown Jug Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Thank for your review Ashley. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and I he that your next visit will be longer that just two days. Hermanus has so much to offer and the village many novelty shops where one can spend hours browsing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed at the Brown Jug for 3 nights and wish we could stay longer. A lovely place and verry friendly people. It feld like home for us. Thanks for the good tips and advise, in special how to make a Braai! The breakfast was also verry nice.

We hope we can come back sometime.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanneke L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brownjug, Owner at Brown Jug Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Dear Family Leijdekkers
It was a pleasure to meet you all and take the time to introduce you to our village and way of life. I am sure the "toeplakrooster" you invested in and took back to Holland will remind you of your stay in Hermanus and the braai's you enjoyed at the guesthouse. The whales have also been particularly good very early in the season and you had many good sightings. I am sure this will be the start of a good whale season. We hope to see you back in our country very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews