We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot in Hermanus”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brown Jug Guest House
Ranked #23 of 87 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We loved this place. It was a great value and we loved spending time with the owner and their dog. A great experience all around. Easy walk to the waterfront, where we saw a number of whales breaching.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Matthew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brownjug, Owner at Brown Jug Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Thank you very much for your kind response. It is a pity we could only host you for one night as there are so many lovely spots in and around Hermanus that could keep you occupied for many days. We look forward to meeting up with you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

Second time we have stayed here. Still great. Louise really takes care of you, and the rooms are also self catering if you need it. Breakfast is available if you want it and it really sets you up for the day. Well located for a short walk to the town centre and the cliffs.
All in all, don't pass this place by.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kellboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brownjug, Owner at Brown Jug Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Thanks so much David. It was really great to see you both again after so many years and we hope to see you more often now that you have more time to travel. We are really lucky with our location and being just a stones throw from so many facilities really adds to the attractiveness of our guest house.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Very comfortable rooms, convenient for everywhere in Hermanus but a quiet location. Made welcome by Louise and the resident dogs. We stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment with my mother and it was exactly what we were looking for!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brownjug, Owner at Brown Jug Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Dear Janet
Thank you for your kind response, and really pleased that you enjoyed your unit. The two bedroom unit is ideal for families traveling together as you are housed together but still can maintain your privacy. Eddie, the new rescue doggy we have adopted is progressing with his training. He still sometimes gets a bit ahead of himself as I don't think he yet believes his luck in landing such a cushy home. We believe though our pets add to the homely atmosphere we strive to create and many people comment on the home from home experience the Brown Jug offers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The Brown Jug was a pleasant surprise. Great location, close to the centre of Hermanus, Very well equipped and really nice hosts. Only the frogs in de garden made a lot of noise, but that was probably because it was spring. We recommend this place to everybody.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brownjug, Owner at Brown Jug Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your experience in Hermanus and our guest house. I am pleased we could help in making your trip a memorable experience. The frogs in Hermanus are indeed a bit vocal at certain times of the year but luckily they are only here for about a week then they seem to disappear. Their presence adds to the great natural diversity our lovely village has to offer, from the great Southern Right whales to the little frogs in our fish pond.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Me and my Fiancé spent 4 nights at the Brown jug over the Hermanus whale festival weekend. We had a fantastic weekend and would recommend a visit to Hermanus and the Brown jug to anyone. It was in a great location to walk everywhere and we had a really relaxing and enjoyable time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brownjug, Owner at Brown Jug Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Thank you very much Sean for your positive review of our guest house. I am pleased you had a good festival. I agree that our location is a huge bonus in the busy times and walking is really so easy to all of the villages attractions, and safe enough to do so at night as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Wonderful comforts and extremely well equipped. A delightful guest house perfectly situated within walking distance to a shopping centre and Hermanus cliff front. Had a wonderful few days and our hosts Louise and Abel were at hand for the smallest request and were fantastic. We will be back in a few weeks time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kadlington04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brownjug, Owner at Brown Jug Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Thank you for your review and it was lovely to see you again over the past weekend, with some additions to the delegation. We look forward to another return visit really soon, it was a pleasure hosting you and Ken and the really well behaved Conor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

My family and I stayed at the Brown Jug in July 2013. We are a family of five, 2 adults and 3 teenage boys, so finding a place that was big enough for us was a real bonus as normally properties are only willing to take 4 in a room. The set up was ideal with two bedrooms and a fold away sofa in the living area. In addition there was a little kitchen area with a fridge, oven and microwave.The property is situated in a quiety leafy street. Although it is not on the beachfront it was less than a 10 minute walk to the beach, so save yourself a lot of money by staying at this place instead of paying a premium just to be closer to the beach. There was a supermarket less thatn a 5 minute walk away, again making it possible to keep costs down enabling us to eat in when we wanted. The hosts were outstanding going out of their way to reconnect me with my mobile phone which I left at the property posting it back to the UK. Louise and Abel were very nice and full of practical advice for what to see and when to do so.

Room Tip: If you are a family this is ideal for you, particularly if you are more in number than the usual 4 a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bwlchyronnen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brownjug, Owner at Brown Jug Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Thank you very much for your very informative review of our guest house. It was a pleasure to meet you all and we value each and every guests response and view comments and suggestions as invaluable tools to better our service in all aspects.
With the recent expansion of the Hermanus CBD area The Brown Jug has been placed in a very unique but favourable position in that we are now literally 300m from the nearest shops and restaurants but have none of the CBD noise.
I am pleased the phone reached its destination without any mishap, and we look forward to seeing you all again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.7 mi away
Sixteen Guesthouse on Main
Sixteen Guesthouse on Main
#42 of 87 in Hermanus
49 reviews
2.9 mi away
AmaKhosi Guesthouse
AmaKhosi Guesthouse
#2 of 5 in Sandbaai
194 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fernkloof Lodge
Fernkloof Lodge
#41 of 87 in Hermanus
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Francolin Manor
Francolin Manor
#65 of 87 in Hermanus
8 reviews
0.1 mi away
6 Stemmet Lodge
6 Stemmet Lodge
#43 of 87 in Hermanus
91 reviews
1 mi away
Walker Bay Manor
Walker Bay Manor
#29 of 87 in Hermanus
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brown Jug Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown Jug Guest House

Address: 18 Musson Street | Eastcliff, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range: £42 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brown Jug Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s true - accommodation in Hermanus that offers a beach view is plentiful, but there are few that provide the welcoming hospitality and comfort that The Brown Jug Guest House has. Not only are you welcomed by the owners, Abel and Louise, when you first arrive, but their friendly staff as well as Labradors - Keesha and Tula, and kitties - Squeek and Mikey, are always excited to meet new guests. The Brown Jug is centrally situated in sought-after Eastcliff - a quiet leafy suburb, and is a mere two minute stroll away from the shops, restaurants and seafront where you can enjoy the town’s famous land-based whale watching from the cliff tops. With a pristine garden, comfortable private units, and a sparkling salt water swimming pool, The Brown Jug allows you and your family or group to relax on your private patio or on one of the pool loungers while enjoying the tranquillity of your beautiful surroundings. The Brown Jug’s guest units each sleep between two to four adults and sleeper couches can accommodate a child or two in Units One or Two, with Unit Three being a Studio Room. All the units are individually equipped and each one has a full bathroom, with shower and bath, lounge, dining area, kitchen and comfy plush furniture. Each unit also has a flat screen TV, DSTV and DVD player with free Wi-Fi access – but I doubt you will want to browse on your phone given the variety of activities and places to see that Hermanus has on offer. A short stroll from The Brown Jug will take you to the seafront, the quaint shops and the antique shops that Hermanus is renowned for, and to its fine restaurants for a long lazy lunch overlooking the sea, with the distinct possibility of a whale show. Then there’s the cliff paths, the Marine Tidal pool for a fully energized swim and the Fernkloof Nature Trail with the first of the available walks – The Elephant Walk – a mere 600 meters away. There’s also the Saturday Craft Market where friends (and their pets) meet, and the blue flag beaches that are just five minutes away by car. Mountain bike trails are in abundance and truly magnificent scenery awaits with routes up the valley with clearly marked routes catering to various degrees of expertise. Hike into Fernkloof Nature Reserve or explore the Hemel en Aarde Valley just 6 kilometres away and taste the wines of the region. If you are looking to experience Hermanus from a place catered for families or groups, then The Brown Jug Guest House should be high on your list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Brown Jug Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing